We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appreciated the hotel pickup at the airport”
Review of Karen Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karen Camp
Ranked #15 of 211 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Appreciated the hotel pickup at the airport”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Karen Camp was the start of my African trip with Tucan, and I booked an extra day there. It was great when I got through customs and there was Smiley holding my name on a sign to take me to Karen Camp. In other words, take advantage of the hotel taxi deal, which you can book through the internet. That was an easy and fast email. The staff was helpful and hooked me up with a "dongle" so I could get internet and use my laptop to email home. They also gave us ideas of what to do with an extra day, so 3 of us went to the elephant orphan place and the giraffe center, as well as a zoo. I had a single room with a shared bathroom and it was comfortable and reasonable. The next night, I was with the group in tents, and big dogs (docile during the day) disturbed my sleep with barking. There are areas where you can have food or drinks and get to know other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lila068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    22
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
4
19
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Karen Camp is a great stop if you're doing a long trip and want some down time. It's not so far from central Nairobi that you can't get there fairly easily by bus or taxi, but far enough that you can choose to have a break if you want to. The facilities are fairly basic, but the showers are usually hot, and there are plenty of them. There's plenty of space in the large, pretty garden to pitch your own tents, or you can get a dorm, room or one of their permanent tents, all of which are comfortable, if not luxurious. The bar, food and communal areas are all really nice and the staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. The area of Karen itself is also nice for a wander around and has a good range of shops, bars and so on.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

As a backpacker Karen Camp is good. Although the rooms are basic, they still have mosquito nets. It is slightly further of central Nairobi, in a calmer more Ex-pat area. A fair walk, or a quick taxi ride into Karen with all the amenities. There was internet, a pool table, and a tv we could use. They allowed us to call delivery and organised it for us. As a camper aswell there are separate showers and toilets for us to use. Everyone was pretty helpful around, and the dogs didn't bother us at all!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emcrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I stayed at Karen camp about six years ago, and nothing has changed.
There is still no wifi, the rooms are very basic, and there are big dogs hanging about.
That said, given the lack of choice of decent budget accommodation in this part of Nairobi, the location and helpfulness of the staff made the stay.
They arranged airport picks for us and we could also organise cars once there which was great.
The Only real down side was that we could not access the Internet so were not able to arrange our onwards travel.
This is a fine choice if you want a budget room in the Karen area, however as with most of Nairobi it's not particularly cheap.
Could do with a good clean and upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this review, 23 September 2016
Dear Guest,
The place is under new ownership as of February 1st 2016 and we pride ourselves in having ended all of the misgivings the place has suffered from in the past. Do please try us again if ever heading our way ever again.
Thanks,
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

If you plan an overstop in Nirobi is ok for one or couple nights .. but is far from anything and our driver had hard time finding the camp we got lucky to see a overland truck and told him to follow, and surprise we arrived to plce we need. Well is full of overland trucks which i guess has good deals for them but if you're on your own is a bit pricey for what you get, ad about cleanliness, well depends what you're heading from if you just arrived from overland trip it will look great :) otherwise it need some cleaning. But place is friendly, always full with people, food was ok and their garden looked nice. But if you need to be in the city better to find somthing with better location.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afinanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this review, 23 September 2016
Dear Guest,
The place is under new ownership as of February 1st 2016 and we pride ourselves in having ended all of the misgivings the place has suffered from in the past. Do please try us again if ever heading our way ever again.
Thanks,
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at Camp Karen as part of a safari tour. We paid $100 a night for a family room and for what we got I think this was a bit poor. The first 2 nights my partner and I had a room with an en suite and the two children a separate room with a shared bathroom. Although this does not sound too bad, the rooms and en suite were very basic. When we returned from our safari for 3 nights we were all put into 2 separate rooms with shared bathrooms and a bed that sagged very badly in the middle. All this was despite the fact that we saw the "luxury" rooms advertised for $80 per night everywhere throughout the camp. We did go in to look at these luxury rooms and they were very nice. On the plus side, the breakfasts and food - although mainly in the eggs, sausage and chips line - was very good value. And the laundry service was cheap and good.
Karen is probably not the best place for kids as it is very noisy and lots of drinking going on at the time we stayed there. But the staff were great with our kids (and us) and the kids loved the dart board and the dogs. Although the walks to nearby sites in Karen such as the jewelry factory, town itself and museum are fairly long, they are do-able and we felt very safe walking around.For places further afield taxi rides arranged from Karen Camp were a bit steep. Overall we met some nice people there, including the staff, and had some fun times, but the accommodation needs to be updated and they should have some sort of curfew on the drinking and noise. Also I agree free internet access would have been the least we could have had - especially for what we paid.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this review, 23 September 2016
Dear Guest,
The place is under new ownership as of February 1st 2016 and we pride ourselves in having ended all of the misgivings the place has suffered from in the past. Do please try us again if ever heading our way ever again.
Thanks,
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

I appreciate you get what you pay for however even so there is no excuse for the lack of cleanliness. I'd spent 10 days in Kenya without being bitten and was covered when I left Karen Camp and I'm not entirely convinced it was the mosquitos.

Lack of wifi was disappointing too.

On the plus side the food was good and staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marlonbunyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this review, 23 September 2016
Dear Guest,
The place is under new ownership as of February 1st 2016 and we pride ourselves in having ended all of the misgivings the place has suffered from in the past. Do please try us again if ever heading our way ever again.
Thanks,
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 166 in Nairobi
494 reviews
8.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.7 mi away
Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Troy Nairobi
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#9 of 271 in Nairobi
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Purdy Arms
Purdy Arms
#14 of 271 in Nairobi
77 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 271 in Nairobi
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karen Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Camp

Property: Karen Camp
Address: Acacia Drive | Off Marula Ln, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 211 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen Camp and Hostel provides budget accommodation out of the hustle and bustle of Nairobi in the leafy suburb of Karen. The management and quite a few of the staff have been in the hospitality industry for over twenty years. We especially cater for the independent traveler as well as intrepid, expedition orientated safari folk. We have a small bar and restaurant and provide a variety of budget priced accommodation. Please consider us when planning your safari here in East Africa. We look forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Karen Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karen Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing