We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Nairobi”
Review of Karen Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Karen Camp
Ranked #11 of 236 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Karen Camp is THE place to stay in Nairobi especially for overlanders, campers and backpackers.

Nice surroundings, plenty of space to park your car, VERY VERY quiet, reasonably priced and well stocked bar, decent kitchen and hot showers (two ultra spacious bathrooms at first floor).

As safety comes first in Nairobi, this place is in the suburbs of the city and so remains safer than other places. Off course they have an armed guard and two dogs.

Its also a great place to meet other overlanders (we met 6 couples during our visit last January), exchange information and plans, meet locals and get updates of Isiolo-Moyale route if you drive to Ethiopia!

Be aware that its way too far from the city centre, so if you plan daily visits to the embassies for visa applications either get your car or call for a taxi (10-12 euros alle retour).

Highly recommended accommodation option in "scary" Nairobi!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nikos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed at this place at the end of an overland trip from Johannesburg and stayed in a twin room which was just fine. The bathrooms were spacious and water hot. There was a power cut when I stayed on my last night so had to shower and pack by torchlight but this is AFRiCA! Wifi worked fine but it's only available for 2 hours a day which is fine so long as you know when this is going to be and you are in camp. Place was guarded and very secure. I would not have felt safe wandering outside of the camp. Smiley is the very reliable taxi driver they seem to use at the camp and he picked me up very promptly to take me to the airport.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank Jo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We camped in the back of the lodge with our overland group. The amenities were basic but just fine for camping. The security was excellent and we felt very secure and safe at night. You get what you pay for.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Taya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Dear Guest,
The place is under new ownership as of February 1st 2016 and we pride ourselves in having ended all of the misgivings the place has suffered from in the past. Do please try us again if ever heading our way ever again.
Thanks,
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed in a double ensuite room for a couple of nights upon arrival in Nairobi. We thought that USD$50 was too much for the room and that the location was not great for us, hence we did not stay longer as originally planned.

The room we had was not spacious but adequate. It was quite rundown for the price range but the room was reasonably clean. There were no cupboards or a safe in which we could lock our valuables. The wifi worked fairly well in the bar area and there was nice outdoor seating.

Although it is located in a nice neighbourhood, we felt quite isolated out there. This is the main reason we didn't stay for longer. We didn't have our own vehicle and were told by staff that it wasn't a good idea to walk around. However it's location was rubbish for picking up taxis or public transport on the fly. Hence we were initially reliant on taxis that were called by the camp to go anywhere. Interestingly enough, the taxis we caught back were often cheaper than the ones the camp had called for us.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SandF P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Dear Guest,
The place is under new ownership as of February 1st 2016 and we pride ourselves in having ended all of the misgivings the place has suffered from in the past. Do please try us again if ever heading our way ever again.
Thanks,
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

As budget travellers we've stayed at Karen Camp many times and it's now the only place we'll stay on a visit to Nairobi. It has a nice relaxed atmosphere, is cheap and clean. We often bring all our own camping and self-catering equipment but have also stayed in their rooms which are perfectly comfortable and adequate and the food is basic but great and always quick to arrive.
The camp is a little run down but the staff have been there for years and the friendly atmosphere makes it easy to look beyond that.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MME28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The camp is in one of the nicest areas of Nairobi and has good security - full time guards at the entrance and a fence. We had the double room with onsite which was very big, but has long since seem better days. The room was also filthy, superficially it looked clean, but after putting my bag under the bed it will never be the same again! The boss never said a word to us, but spent the day barking orders rudely and loudly at the other staff which made the atmosphere a little uncomfortable. The bar was very close to our rooms which made it noisy when the owner used it for a private party. Food was filling but average at best. Some of the staff were nice but none of them go out of their way to help.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Dear Guest,
The place is under new ownership as of February 1st 2016 and we pride ourselves in having ended all of the misgivings the place has suffered from in the past. Do please try us again if ever heading our way ever again.
Thanks,
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights - one night in a double inside room, and the second night camping in the grounds with the overlanding tour we joined.
The camp helpfully arranged a taxi to collect us from the airport, for a resonable price and everything went smoothly. We also made arrangements with the same taxi driver to visit the local Elephant orphanage and giraffe centre.
We arrived a lot earlier than check in time, but after a short wait the friendly staff allowed us to check in anyway, which was brilliant cause we were tired from travelling, and wanted to change our clothes etc.
The room was basic ( a double bed, lamp, open shelves and an ensuite), but very clean and everything you need for a room for the night.
The public areas down stairs, and the bar was also clean and tidy - bar staff friendly and informative, and we ate a few times and found it to be good value for hostel food.
On the second night, a local (extremly drunk) started talking to me at the bar, and then made some very rude comments. Obviosuly, this was not a reflection of my views of Camp Karen as they can not be accountable for the things their customers said - but I was very pleased to note that a bar staff member noticed that the man was being rude and made a point of 'rescuing me', and then finding me in the bar a short while later to apologise for the mans comments and ensure I was ok - I thought that was lovely, and beyond his role as staff member.
Should we return to Nairobi, I would stay here again without hesitation :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Acacia Tree Lodge
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
56 reviews
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 296 in Nairobi
493 reviews
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#14 of 296 in Nairobi
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake View Studios
#14 of 236 in Nairobi
17 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Purdy Arms
#1 of 4 in Karen
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karen Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Camp

Address: Acacia Drive | Off Marula Ln, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 236 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range: £11 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen Camp and Hostel provides budget accommodation out of the hustle and bustle of Nairobi in the leafy suburb of Karen. The management and quite a few of the staff have been in the hospitality industry for over twenty years. We especially cater for the independent traveler as well as intrepid, expedition orientated safari folk. We have a small bar and restaurant and provide a variety of budget priced accommodation. Please consider us when planning your safari here in East Africa. We look forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Karen Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karen Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing