We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Mvuli House is the place to stay!”
Review of Mvuli House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mvuli House
Ranked #103 of 255 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Nairobi
1 review
“The Mvuli House is the place to stay!”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Their service is quick and efficient and their facilities are modern and unique. It’s quite a good place for business travelers with close proximity to the city centre as well as the international airport. I recommend them anytime!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter and cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    34
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
4
11
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Mvuli is a cozy, homely yet very executive hotel where you feel right at home and the ambience makes you forget you are in the busy CBD.
I love the food, service and staff...
Great place to be in...

Room Tip: all suites are commendable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racheal n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMvuliHouse, General Manager at Mvuli House, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you Racheal. We look forward to hosting you again and again!

Regards,

Kellen Murungi
General Manager
Mvuli House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Though very small in size it is a good deal since it is 8 minutes walk to nyayo stadium and has reliable focus cabs right outside. It costs Kshs1000 to the airport and it takes 30 minutes to get there but can be done in 15 if it is a late night flight. There is reliable internet for Ksh 100 an hour and you can pay in foreign currency. A good meal will cost at least kshs 700.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runningsafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMvuliHouse, General Manager at Mvuli House, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thanks for staying with us @RunningSafaris and for the recommendation. I appreciate it. I have an update for you, while before we charged for internet access, it's now absolutely FREE for inhouse guests. We want you to easily stay in touch with friends and family when at Mvuli House.

We look forward to hosting you again, and thank you so much.

Regards,

Kellen Murungi
General Manager
Mvuli House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Visited the hotel on december 4th, checked out on 5th. We saw cleaning ladies(2 next to our door at 8am). I personally asked her not to clean or go to our room, since we were checking out that morning at 11am, and had things on the bed we DIDNOT want touched. We( my friend and I) took 1 hour having a lovely breakfast. Coming up, Vwala!!! the bed is made..someone must be deaf, dumb or stupid to not understand in plain english AND swahili when told "please DONOT clean the room RIGHT now UNTIL we check out." Luckily, the change I had of Ksh 5,000 that was supposed to be taxi money was the only money that was on the outside zipper of my bag (handbag-pocket book zipper)...it was gone, was in ksh100 and ksh 500 bills...how do i know, because I just placed it there as we were leaving the room...
Beware of cleaners....the reception desk told me rudely, that I should have locked the money away with them...is that a penalty for not locking my money with you? whats the gurantee that you willnot claim that my receipt is fake? Besides the tiny room and TV not having good reception and its way on the ceiling, the best part of my stay was internet and breakfast..I loved the breakfast crew...

Room Tip: carry money bag and sleep with it...a friend of mine also lost money when he went for breakfats. whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMvuliHouse, General Manager at Mvuli House, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Kimvy, we regret to hear about your experience at Mvuli House. I have sent you a message directly to attempt to get to the root of the issue, because we have never had a theft incident by the staff at the Hotel.

Kindly respond and give me more details to enable me deal with the issue conclusively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I have stayed in Mvuli house twice. Both the times, the stay has been extremely good. The staff is polite, the rooms are clean and bathrooms very clean. The hotel is value for money. The staff is extremely courteous, and polite, you can virtually walk into the kitchen and ask the chef to cook whatever you want. I am a venetarian and they took care to make me eat good veggie food. Good transport facility in front of the hotel. Located a little outside the city in Nairobi west, closer to the airport and the away from the hustle bustle of the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atulprasad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMvuliHouse, General Manager at Mvuli House, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you for staying with us @atulprasad123 and your kind review. We look forward to hosting you the next time you're in Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2011

This guest house is delightful. Yes, the rooms are quite small and the dinner menu is a little limited, but the beds are comfy, the shower is hot and the staff are all so polite, friendly and welcoming. I feel I should point out that this is not a "western 5*" hotel... If that's what you want, go elsewhere, but it is clean, and ideal for a business/transit customer who only intends to sleep there.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickyclarke85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMvuliHouse, General Manager at Mvuli House, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thanks for staying with us Vicky. I'm glad to note you were delighted. Indeed, Mvuli House is a budget hotel, but we strive to give the best value for your money, and great service.

We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Since most flights into Nairobi's Jomo Kenyatta Airport from Europe arrive in the evening, most vacationing travelers need to find a convenient, one night place to lay their weary heads before continuing on to Indian Ocean or game park resort destinations.

Mvuli House, which bills itself as a "limited service economy hotel" has the feel of a B and B, relatively small with 49 rooms, utilitarian bathroom fittings but a large, friendly serving of hospitality and dedication to service. The buffet breakfast (included) is ample and there are two computers as well as Wi-Fi for the techie traveler. The hotel is about 15 minutes from Kenyatta Airport and five from the Wilson (domestic) Airport. The hotel has drivers or will arrange transfers and taxis. All the basics are there: telephone, tv, mosquito nets and a very positive attitude. No need to venture into the city center with its legendary traffic problems when all you want to do is recover from the long in-bound flight and get on with your vacation.

Room Tip: My first floor room (101) faced a small garden but early morning traffic noises might not be everyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kallmancon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMvuliHouse, General Manager at Mvuli House, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you for staying with us and the positive review.

We have noted your concern about Room 101. We're currently carrying out a phased renovation of the Hotel, and in the next couple of months, all our rooms will have double glazed windows to reduce the noise.

Thank you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#40 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Summerdale Inn
#125 of 164 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#48 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#11 of 255 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Magharibi Suites
#51 of 255 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Capital Heights Hotel
#56 of 255 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mvuli House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mvuli House

Property: Mvuli House
Address: Lang'ata Road | PO Box 12181, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mvuli House 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mvuli House a place that embraces you in its serenity. Centrally located 5 minutes away from the Wilson Airport, it is a perfect stopover for guests transiting to Lamu, Malindi, Maasai Mara and other parts of Eastern Africa. Approximately 15 minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, we are uniquely suited to meet the needs of business or leisure travelers on transit or layovers. Guests will find that Mvuli House is a relaxing getaway and an oasis of calm and ease. Mvuli has 46 lovely and well-appointed standard and twin bed rooms designed with your comfort in mind. Each room has a hot water shower, satellite TV connection, free wireless internet access (WI-FI), reading desk and a direct dial telephone. For your convenience and comfort, we offer room service, laundry service and a safety deposit box for valuables.The Mvuli House Restaurant is a tantalizingly perfect blend of both African and Western cuisines. The classic Mvuli Continental breakfast* consists of a tempting array of fresh seasonal fruits from around the country, refreshing natural juices, delectable pastries and scrumptious hot dishes, just what you need before a long work day. For lunch and dinner, our guests have the option of a 6-course buffet with an assortment of meats and mouthwatering desserts or ordering a meal off our appetizing a la carte menu. Our award-winning chef delights in creating a delicious cuisine for our guests. If you do fall in love with a Kenyan dish, maybe a word with the chef might result in you getting the recipe to take home * Breakfast is served between 6.00am and 11.00 am but on special request, we can prepare an early breakfast for guests with early flights or meetings.Need to work on the go? Mvuli House provides free Wi-Fi (wireless connectivity) 24 hours a day for our hotel guests. We make it easy for you to meet your deadlines and stay in touch with the world whether you are in Nairobi for business or pleasure.Our dedicated staff will assist if you are in need of photocopying, phone, printing or other business centre services. We are happy to help however way we can. In addition to the traditional hotel services, Mvuli House is a cozy location for conferences and events. We cater for meetings of up to 40 delegates in our conference room and events of up to 100 attendees in our garden. Our dedicated team of conference coordinators will give you personalized service throughout your event. Get in touch with us on if you would like to have a meeting or hold an event at Mvuli House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mvuli House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mvuli House Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing