We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff attitude left a sour taste”
Review of Wildebeeste

Wildebeeste
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wildebeeste
Ranked #43 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Cork. Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff attitude left a sour taste”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Lovely setting, the tents were great, beds comfortable, breakfast fine but I have two complaints:
1) On the first night there was a power cut. Not completely unheard of in Nairobi!!. But there was no back up generator. This meant not only that there was no light but that there was no water (pump driven). Also the restaurant was closed so we had to get a taxi to a shopping centre and get ourselves a pizza.
2) When we checked in I showed the printout of our booking from the internet: one double luxury tent and one triple luxury tent. We were shown to two identical tents beside each other and settled in. When we went to pay two days later they asked for much more than I was expecting. I again produced my internet printout showing the price due. But they said that was for a double and a triple, we had had the use of two triples. We said we just went to the tents we were given. They eventually accepted our price but said it would have been "more honest" of us if we had pointed out the mistake on day one. We pointed out that we were not experts on tents and in many hotels rooms booked as doubles would consist of a double and a single bed. This idea that the mix up was due to our dishonesty left a very bitter and unnecessary bad taste. Pity!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Arrived from London on flight that got us into Wildebeeste Camp at about 11 PM. Lorita, one of the owners was still up waiting for us . Booking in was simple and the beers and snacks came out as soon as we had unpacked.
We had an early flight to the game reserve the following morning so didnt have breakfast, but on our return again booked into Wildebeeste
The evening buffet meal was excellent and service quiet and unobtrusive.
I cannot understand the previous post about the cost of the beers. He should have been in the Maasai Mara and had to pay for a beer!!
The little shop had good quality ,interesting locally sourced handcraft at competitive prices

Room Tip: expect a camp site, and find a gem in city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

As the last reviewer has said, we found this place to have a great location and very good value. The staff were very nice and the camp was very clean. There was a problem all over Nairobi with electricity, but the was not the fault of the camp, and they had a generator for light etc when the electricity was off.
I would highly recommend this place for good value.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rorybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Good food . excellent coffee! drinks always available
good location, near supermarket, main road, buses and city-but peaceful location! garden was beautiful, well kept with giant tortoises. Nice places to quiet or play. Great outside room and TV.
Such good, kind Aussies running it, and visitors were fromUSA, Oz, Europe and Africa.
would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.1 mi away
Ngong Hills Hotel
Ngong Hills Hotel
#46 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amber Hotel
Amber Hotel
#19 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hope Guest Hotel
Hope Guest Hotel
#52 of 198 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Manyatta Backpackers
Manyatta Backpackers
#68 of 198 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
10.2 mi away
Nairobi Transit Lounge
Nairobi Transit Lounge
#14 of 198 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mimosa Court
Mimosa Court
#42 of 198 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebeeste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeeste

Property: Wildebeeste
Address: Ngong Road | Off Kibera Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing