We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would stay there again and again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #17 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
111851ta
1 review
“I would stay there again and again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel, the staff are friendly, the rooms are nice, location is great, and the buffets are excellent.
Vacation or business this would be highly recommended,
Pool view rooms are rather dull, main street view ones are much better

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Dear Bobztraveller,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to have read your feedback regarding your recent visit and have shared your kind comments with the rest of the hotel Team.

I am pleased to note that you found our staff to be friendly, nice rooms, great location and that our buffets were excellent.

Thank you too for recommending our hotel to fellow TripAdvisor readers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    232
    67
    18
    12
See reviews for
41
73
36
350
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our safari (was meant to be 1 but Gulf Air cancelled our flight without notice.)
It's an expensive hotel but in a bit of a scary city like Nairobi, it's worth the expense.
It's away from the main centre of town but we were fine with that - I don't think I'd want to wander around the city anyway and there's not a lot to see. The bonus for night flights too is that it's a shorter drive out to the airport.
The front reception staff were very helpful as were the porters. The wait staff at the restaurant were slow though and it was a bit frustrating trying to get their attention.
Breakfast was very good as was the Indian dinner (the western food at lunch at dinner isn't that great though)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clea700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Dear Clea700,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We are happy that you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel and that you found our Front Dest and porters very helpful and that you thouroughly enjoyed our Breakfast and the Indian theme dinner in our Baraza Restaurant.

We are sorry to hear about the slow and unattentive service and will share it with management and staff to avoid this from happening in the future.

Again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

I stayed here for a week during July 2012 and found the hotel to be average in comparison to other Crowne Plaza Hotels. The service, food and location were ok but not when the room price of $250 is taken into account. Breakfast was not included in my package and was very expensive so I did not take it after the first morning, there was the option of tea/coffee with a light snack in the Lobby (piano) bar area. The bar adjacent to the lifts provides the best option for a casual meal in the evening. Service was friendly and efficeint and my hotel taxi was nearly always on time to pick me up at the end of the day, newcomers beware that traffic can be very congested during the evening rush hour and especially on Friday evenings. In summary I would say that this hotel is average but rather an expensive option.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce_Angelika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Bruce_Angelika,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi and taking the time to write a review of your stay here on TripAdvisor.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the service friendly and efficient.

Your feedback has been noted and will be shared with management and staff.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager,Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

I stayed here (15th,July,2012) just want to be with someone who is important to me , the room NO. 310 .
I got a comfortable and big bed , The room is clean. the keycard is always not to use,we change it so many times,but it is ok. the breakfast was excellent but it was awfully expensive , the pizza of dinner is very good. particularly the security staff at the entrance who are very friendly staff .they like my bag because my bag is like a big shoe . The pool is more of a children's pool.but it is still a good bussiness hotel .
i will come back.
It has not a good restaurant nearby, i need to by taxi to find .

Room Tip: The new hotel is being built beside Crowne hotel , some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angela_youssef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear angela_youssef,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We are so glad that you enjoyed the comfortable and big bed and that our staff managed to make your stay a good one.

Thank you too for recommending our hotel to fellow TripAdvisor travelllers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights on a business trip. My overall experience was good to very good.

Taking into consideration security the hotel was very good. Incoming cars are checked quite thoroughly I would say, so do people entering the hotel premises as well as their belongings. Hotel entrance was also equipped with a metal-detector. The overall process gave me the feeling of being safe.

The hotel staff was very friendly and eager to service and assist you in any way. Breakfast had limited options, fresh juice was served though as well as sealed bottled still water. A chef was there to prepare custom ordered omelette.

The double-bedded room was quite spacious for me and quite clean. The bath-tub was rusted so I did not use it(obviously poor quality). Shower was adequately spaced, but the shower hose was not long enough to properly shower myself. The room TV was not working, the handyman mentioned that the specific room had problems previously with TV reception, since the channels were limited I decided to stay in the room regardless of being offered another room. Internet was included in price and offered by wire only(bring your own Ethernet cable otherwise you will have to pay 5 euro deposit for an Ethernet cable). Room mini-bar sealed no chance to get your water cold at night. Sealed water bottle replenished daily.

Room service is quite expensive, I ordered twice a juicy rib-eye steak, the chef really new how to prepare it and serve it. The best ready made steak I personally tasted. It was the only thing on the menu that was value for money.

The hotel is located far from the city centre, but the location seems to be friendly at least during the day and generally a peaceful area. It has also a pool indoors the building near the dining area which is quite small for the size of the hotel. If it was hot and sunny I would have tried it.

The only day I could not sleep was before their national day the Madaraka. The locals were celebrating the night before till late in the morning. Generally speaking the hotel area is very quiet. Opposite the hotel there is a restaurant, that you could try.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Angelos C ,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi. We are glad to hear that your overall experience was very good and you found our staff friendly and eager to serve and assist in any way.We are also pleased about your positive comments about safety and security at the hotel.

The standard Breakfast offering in the club lounge is a continental breakfast and have opted to offer a wider variety of dishes which include hot dishes similar to a Full English Breakfast.However, we have noted your comments and will share with my team as to offer a wider variety on a daily basis.

We have noted your comments about the bath tub , shower hose and the TV reception. and thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our TV bouquet of channels comprises 24 choices and we are in the process of introducing a further 5 popular international TV channels.Also, our entire hotel,rooms and public areas offer free unlimited wireless internet connection and am sorry you were not made aware of this upon check in.

Thank you for any constructive feedback as this enables us to address any flaws as we strive to continually enhance the service and experience we deliver.

We sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Spend one night at the Crown Plaza Nairobi
Quick airport pickup - very helpfull driver
Nice check in at the Club floor
The club room is good but some ameneties like toothbrush are missing
poor breakfast at the club lounge

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shlbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Shibre,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Crowne plaza Nairobi.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, specifically the service recieved from our shuttle driver and the Club Lounge guest attendant on check in.

We are sorry to hear that about your feedback regarding the breakfast in the Club Lounge and will be sharing it with Management and staff to address any shortcomings to avoid this from happening in the future. Toothbrush & toothpaste kits are availbale on request and are not a standard item available in the room.

Again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

I've stayed here on multiple business trips this year and have had a great experience everytime. While it is nothing fancy and there are nicer places in Nairobi, the service is very good and the staff are all great.

A few other highlights--the restaurant food is very good, the hotel gym is very nice (pretty good size and variety of equipment--all brand new TechnoGym stuff). There is also a good bar area to get an evening drink and a cafe area to get a morning coffee.

The location is a bit quiet, and there isn't even an restaurant that is close enough to walk to, but it's a very safe area and quite convenient to many parts of the city (and relatively good for traffic).

The hotel also has a large number of hotel cars that allow you to organize pickups and drop offs around the city at competitive rates (other hotels are usually much more expensive than cabs) and you can charge everything to your room.

A few very small negatives:
- the pool is surrounded by the casual restaurant, which serves three meals a day. So it's not really a very good location to lay out and get some sun or even go swimming
- the breakfast buffet is so-so. It's nothing bad but staying here a lot one wishes for something a bit better

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear patrickdward,

We are glad to hear that you choose our hotel when in Nairobi and have had a Great experience everytime we host you and we would like to thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to read the detailed comments and the positive aspects of your stay such as the very good service and food in the restaurants and Great staff which we will share with our team.

We are proud to showcase our state of the art gym and our restaurants and are happy to advise that we will be embarking on an expansion plan soon which entails more luxury bedrooms,conference facilities and relocation of the existing pool area.In the process we are reviewing our breakfast menus to suit a broader variety of offerings to our vast guest profile.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes,

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nairobi Upper Hill
2.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#21 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipment make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 206 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra-modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing