We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay away”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jupiter Guest Resort
Ranked #108 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“stay away”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

stayed at this guest house for one day and could not sleep at all due to the pounding music,do not pay for the place in advance but as per the days you decide to stay. I would never recommend it to anyone the only thing we enjoyed was the spinach the rest of the food was bland and not tasty at all. The toilet leaked on flushing,the rooms were tiny and service was lousy.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms its next to a club and noisy through out
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halima82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
4
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Pleasant place with friendly staff. Clean and tidy located close to Westlands for good and easy access to the shops etc. requires a short walk tho of 10-15 minutes or a 5 min taxi. At this price it is great value although rooms are on the small side for the standard rooms, but at this price in this location cannot complain. Price comes with breakfast, which is basic but perfectly fine. They have a kitchen and I heard the food is good. There is also a good bar opposite and so not isolated if you don’t wish to go to Westlands or move far. One draw back was that staff were noisy early in the morning and the sound carries. So if looking for a lie in may need to advise the management.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I was very comfortable here. There are comfortable beds with canopy mosquito nets. I got to take an actual hot shower and the bathroom was very clean. There are quite a bit of mosquitoes which I am guessing is due to the hotel's proximity to a dam. However, the hotel will provide you with bug spray. The food is okay...don't get a milkshake. The pork chops smelled amazing and unfortunately, I never got to try them. There is free WiFi here and you can use the business center for a cheap 100 Kenyan shillings per day (about $1 USD). I recommend visiting Carinvore which is right down the street. Don't walk there though! Get a driver. Also, there is a large Walmart-like store across the street. In the parking lot you can buy some awesome souvenirs at a very good price. My friends bought some beautiful purses here and I bought hand-carved animal heads to hang on the wall.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

I stayed at the Jupiter after I found out the Parklands sports club was full. The location is close to both Westlands and Town. However that is about the only redeeming quality. Almost every night there is loud pounding music coming from a near by club (not just Friday and Saturday), I had bugs in my room, cats would wander in the rooms and the power was constantly cutting in and out. There was no back-up generator to keep the security light running at night and thus the guard would stand out with the gates open to let in some lights. Given the area and the city this is not a recommended practice!!! I ended up leaving the hotel in the middle of the night for another place as I just could not take it any longer. The hotel would not give me a refund and any of the night I had paid for and were not helpful int he least. If you want to say a couple of dollars stay here, if you want a comfortable stay that includes safety and sleep I suggest looking at one fo the apartment hotels (were you can save money by cooking some food) or at a guest house like the Miti Mingi. NEVER EVER AGAIN

Room Tip: Don't eat the food outside of breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plcumming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

torquay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2009

I stayed there for five nights recently. Having checked all the other budget hotels in Nairobi recommended by Trip Advisor (and finding most were charging far more than I'd been led to expect) I was directed to the Jupiter Guest House by my friends at Parklands Sports Club.

The location is very convenient for both the city centre and Westlands. The staff were excellent; friendly annd helpful. The en-suite room was clean and the bedsheets were changed every day. I didn't eat there, so can't comment on the restaurant, but in every other respect I can highly recommend the Jupiter to travellers looking for low cost, safe, clean accommodation near the city centre and Westlands shops.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kokoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Ruby Hotel
Red Ruby Hotel
#93 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parklands Shade Hotel
Parklands Shade Hotel
#112 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Fourth Parklands Guest House
#70 of 164 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nanchang Hotel
Nanchang Hotel
#58 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seldom Hotel
Seldom Hotel
#103 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Emerald
The Hotel Emerald
#62 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jupiter Guest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Guest Resort

Property: Jupiter Guest Resort
Address: Chiromo Lane off Ojijo Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Jupiter Guest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiter Guest Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing