We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ole Sereni
Nearby Hotels
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$586
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,440)
Filter reviews
1,440 results
Traveller rating
501
564
213
82
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
501
564
213
82
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkgame parkclose to the airportgame reserveeagles restaurantpark viewwild animalsinternational airportmombasa roadan airport hotelbetween flightsnairobi trafficwilson airportgift shopshort stayrooms are nicebusiness trip
Filter
Updating list...
1,002 - 1,007 of 1,440 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Having left the Boma Hotel to try something new, I was disappointed to come to Ole Sereni. More expensive than Boma, with a room half the size, little amenities, cramped this hotel is definitely NOT worth the $300 (please don't fork this over for a park view, not worth it, go on a safari).

Adding to the experience is that I have a Kenyan girlfriend and we of course checked in together earlier this day. Went out at night only to be questioned by security upon returning.

As Lacie8, commented below, I had the same experience. Overall unless you're 'Mzungo' you will not be able to walk around freely without the suspicious eyes. Disgusting stay, wouldn't recommend this to anyone, even at half the price. Especially watch out for the security 'Augustine' who under the false pretense of 'I just want to see if you're double booked so tell me your room number (HAHA)' wants to nose around your business even if it's your wife or girlfriend of a different color, I guess at $300/night we deserve to be interrogated. It shouldn't even matter who goes to your room if you pay for two people especially at the ridiculous cost.

On the bright side, the workout facilities are quite nice, but you can get that in many other hotels, cheaper and for a better value. The pool is okay, but comparing to somewhere like the Boma (10-15 min walk away) really not worth it. Agnes at the front desk was as helpful as can be and a shining star.

Front desk is in the middle of the hotel so after you go up the first stairs and about 20 M down the hall or so. We brought our bags in ourselves and was not offered any help at any point even after check in, maybe they were too busy to bother with a local.

The room itself had bits of food under the fridge, the AC remote was under the bed and took time before we found it or realised there was even a control, rooms are quite small and cramped, no slippers were in the room as advertised (booking.com). It features a french balcony, which means the window opens but there is no room to go outside.

Just so you know where I'm coming from. I rated a 2 star guesthouse here in Nairobi 5 stars because of the level of service they offered for the rate of $30/night. For 10 x the price at Ole Sereni had me wishing I was back at the guesthouse.

I would never, ever stay there again. I am guessing most of the reviews are from others that have not stayed in other places in Nairobi or though that this was the best the city offers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AntarcticNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We have been communication vai mails on this complaint. It is extremly unfortunate that you feel this and I can assure you that Ole-Sereni is a global organization which ensures same service levels and respect is given to all its patrons.

We take this very seriously and do not allow any of our team members to deviate.

We sincerely hope you will reconsider our services in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night and enjoyed it. Our room overlooked the national park and we saw crowned cranes from our room. The room was very quiet and spacious. Beds in Kenya are harder than we are used to but it was still comfortable. The staff were quite nice. Will stay here again while traveling thru Nairobi.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youngtravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

We hope you will choose our services during your future travels to Kenya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel is nice and close to the airport but also on the edge of the National Park so it feels very peaceful.
The staff were very helpful, although the check out process was quite slow.
The restaurant was great and had really good indian food!
I was lucky enough to have a room that overlooked the park, I didn't see any animals but it was still a nice scenic view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to share your experience.

I am thoroughly pleased to know that your stay was pleasant.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights while on a business trip. We requested a hotel car to pick us (5 of us) up from the airport. Due to the fire in the arrivals hall of the airport we cleared customs in a parking garage. The driver was there holding a sign for us with all of our names on it.

We found the staff at the hotel to be friendly and welcoming. The rooms are clean. The bed is a bit on the hard side. My other colleagues found this to be the case as well. I had no issues with service. The food in the restaurants was quite good. The only issue we had was that they were testing out a new internet system so that non staying guests at the hotel would have to pay for internet. It's complimentary for hotel guests. The system barely worked the first day. I believe they gave up the test and went back to the original system for a while.

The travel desk did want to charge $140 USD for a car to make a 1 hour tour to the post office and grocery store. We re-negotiated this to bring it down to $30.

Room Tip: Half of the rooms on the city facing side of the hotel have balconies. Ask for a balcony room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rexah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am very glad to learn that your stay was pleasant.

On your remark on the mattresses, we are in the process of changing them in the next month. I am sure you will find superior level of amenities during your future travels to Nairobi.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Thank you to the entire staff - from security - to bell staff - to check in - to the breakfast staff - everything was fabulous. Our room was clean and comfortable and a welcome after long flights. Look forward to returning in 10 days and then for our final day. Thank you for making us feel safe and at home.

Room Tip: we faced the reserve on the 2nd floor and the room was absolutely fine!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patteski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

I thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am very pleased that your stay was pleasant.

We look forward to welcoming you back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews