We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient hotel close to airport”
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #21 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a convenient hotel that many business people use as it is close to the airport and industrial areas. Better hotels can be found in Nairobi city centre but when you have to travel to work each day, the one hour plus to get in and out effectively rules them out and this is a safe viable option with views across the national park (avoid the side overlooking construction of a new highway)

Staff are friendly but generally not very efficient and you may have to ask twice; be it asking for your food bill, an ironing board or someone to fix the noise on the fridge.

The food is however very good and gym facilities are also of a good standard. I have stayed here 3 times between August and October and to be fair i have noticed improvements both in the service and the views from the dining terrace. My first two visits i saw no animals but on the final visit i saw many giraffe a few hundred feet away while eating breakfast. The introduction of a watering hole close by is no doubt starting to pay dividends in this respect.

I believe this hotel is sometimes referred to as 5 star but it is no more than a competent 4 star most suited to business people.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Briwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am pleased to know that you have noticed improvements from your past visits and we will continue to put more efforts in improving the hardware and service delivery.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

Great hotel to use if you have a long wait between flights. Depending on the traffic the taxi to the hotel can take as little as 20 mins. $25/2000ks. The hotel offer a shuttle bus back but we had already agreed return transport with the taxi driver. We spent a very pleasant few hours on the terrace of the Waterhole Bar watching giraffes in the park being looked after by the charming Moses and ate from the bar menu. The choice was varied and the price reasonable considering the location. The doorman Lordick? is a real character. Efficient slick and a credit to the hotel. He arranged for our luggage to be stored and then ensured it quickly appeared when our taxi arrived.

I would be more than happy to stay at this hotel and highly recommend using it rather than sitting at Nairobi if your flights don't connect quickly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crampmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

I thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am very pleased to learn that your experince was memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed there 3 separate nights a couple weeks ago. Rooms are reasonable - hard bed, but found that true all over Kenya. Clean, with reasonable amenities. The second room we had, however, the shower floor was leveled in such a way that the water poured OUT of the shower to the toilet area and then the standing water smelled bad all day. Had to us lots of towels on the floor.

Friendly, helpful staff in the patio bar at night. Staff at breakfast very, very slow bringing coffee, etc. Hard when you are trying to get to meeting and can't get coffee. Nice vista view at breakfast on patio.

Trying to do airline check-in in business center after checking out in the morning was a big mistake as they then decided we needed to be charged because "we were no longer guests!" Not a good customer relation gesture. We had paid for several nights.

There is construction noise on the road side, but the hotel had a note of apology and has no control over that. You can hear every step in the halls, though.

They have "security" when you enter the hotel, but they never actually opened a bag or checked anyone that beeped, so not sure what the point is.

Overall, not a bad stay.

Room Tip: Try and not stay on road side and our first room farther down the hall had a window bump out sitting...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Cuda85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I have taken stock of your concerns and we will address it right away.

I sincerely hope you will reconsider our services in future as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We arrived fairly late at night and the first thing we noticed was the extra long trek from the front door to the reception desk. The second thing was that one of our two rooms wasn't ready for us (it was around 10.30pm) so we checked into one room and went to the bar for a drink. The bar was just about ready to close but we managed (after a little persuasion) to at least get our order!

The rooms were good, clean and sizeable, we had a twin and double adjoining which was perfect for our family.

Sadly we had to leave very early the next morning but we did manage to have a quick breakfast before we left - the buffet selection was what you would expect.

All in all, a reasonably good transfer hotel, we didn't have time to use the facilities or even see it in daylight but it was convenient for the airport and we slept well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tringtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to us your stay feedback.

We do apologise for the wauit you had to incure.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We requested a king size bed, but were placed in a room without the bed and room layout we had purchased on the hotel website. With the help of James, the manager, and Cathy & Connie at the front desk, they were able to scramble quickly and give us a two class upgrade. They were eager to do ask they could to meet our expectations and they did it with a smile.

Thank you James, Cathy, and Connie. You have won our recommendation.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

I thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am very pleased to learn that we managed your expectations.

I will surely share your sentiments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Ole Sereni is beautiful on the inside. However, you don't want to eat there. You cannot get whatever you want past certain times. Orders take over an hour to arrive on the table. You don't get exactly what you ordered. There's clear lack of management in the restaurant, waiters/waitresses argue with the chef within earshot of customers.

Bogus experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MM2013MSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to give us your review.

We do apologise for the delays you faced on the orders and the level of service.

Ole-Sereni surely stands for superior service delivery.

Please allow me to touch base with you to learn further about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

OK, so the location is good for Airport access (International and Wilson) and that is where the good ends.
The breakfast buffet was reasonable, although other food was very average and like everything at Ole Sereni it was expensive/over priced.
The rooms are ok only. They had hard beds, the bathroom arrangement is a bit strange and does not allow for much privacy from the rest of the room.
We stayed twice - the first time the staff didn't have our booking and showed little interest in resolving the issue and after what seemed like 30 minutes they eventually found it. The second time they 'upgraded' us to room overlooking the construction site which is a serious mess. We refused the 'upgrade' and took the room overlooking the reserve (which is underwhelming from a game viewing perspective but infinitely better than the construction site).
We ordered some room service (bad) and the price on the bill was different to the menu. We were told that they just hadn't got to updating the menu....
Anyway, all up it was a convenient location, but very expensive/overpriced with uninterested staff.

Room Tip: Don't go on the construction site side. Ask for a room with view over the reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTF111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for takign time to give us your feedback.

My sincere apologies on the lapses you faced on service delivery.

I have taken your concerns up with the concerned department and we wille nsure they are rectified right away.

May i please request you to reconsider our services in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#14 of 169 in Nairobi
901 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boma Nairobi
#9 of 169 in Nairobi
694 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
987 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: £132 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing