We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very noisy”
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #17 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Purrmerend
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“very noisy”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

If you have a room on the park side, it;s not too bad, but if you are sleeping, more like trying to sleep on the other side, it's terrible. They are building new highway right next to your room. The windows don't close properly, do I need to say more. I would give this hotel a pass and move on.

Room Tip: try to get room on the park side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zimof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your review.

My profound apologies on the noise pollution from the roads. To kill this issue, we are in the process of installing 'Sound Proof' windows across all guest rooms.

I can assure you that your future stays will experience a noise free envorinment.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    506
    199
    73
    65
See reviews for
154
275
75
555
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel, and found it very convenient for the international airport, though Wilson whilst close can take quite a while on a busy traffic morning! We liked the rooms on both the park side and the city side, and surpisingly with the massive road construction on the city side we were not bothered by noise.

The food was good and the general standard of service excellent, the only exception being the archaic and incredibly long winded check in and check out, also the dreadfully slow service in the bar at lunch times. This can you can almost forgive as it is all accompanied with a huge smile

Room Tip: Park side very nice but dearer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am very pleased to know that your stay was memorable.

We have noted your concerns on slow check-in and service in the bar. These will be addressed right away.

We look forward to welcoming you back,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel has great ambiance, tastefully decorated and the staff are excellent and very friendly. I felt welcomed and was treated very well.

The food is amazing, lots of variety and very tasty. Good job.

The restaurant overlooks the Nairobi National Park and this gives the hotel a feel of being in the wild yet it is right in the city. It was good to see some Giraffe in the distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
I thank you for taking time to give us your positive reviews.

I am very pleased to learn that you felt the warmth of our hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed at Ole Sereni for 1 night in transit from safari to UK. Hotel arranged transfers ($35 each way) and this was all very smooth with the driver waiting when we arrived even though our flight was delayed. Ole Sereni is about 10 - 15 mins from JKI airport and avoids the nightmare traffic entailed by staying in Central Nairobi. Best to request Park View room as opposed to view of building site. The room was large and well equipped and there is no additional charge for room service. Rooms have good WiFi (free). Recommend earplugs as, being an airport hotel, there is coming and going at all hours. We requested a late checkout but this was unavailable due to being fully booked. Hotel organised a trip to Elephant orphanage which was excellent and good value at $80 for the driver to take us there, wait with us for over an hour whilst watching the presentation and baby elephants, and return us through nightmare traffic in a nice airconditioned car. We ate in the Waterhole bar twice - food very good - large portions and not expensive. It was nice to sit outside and look out over the Nairobi Game Reserve but we did not see very much. Security good throughout and would recommend to anyone transiting Nairobi.

Room Tip: Park view is quieter as other side has construction and road - Higher is better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BADGEREssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am pleased you enjoyed our product and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

There is a constant cacophony of noise from a road being constructed outside and the cleaners who are quite happy to Hoover outside your room early in the morning even though the "do-not-disturb sign is up".
Asking for drinks in the bar in the evenings depends which waiter you get as to whether they have your beverage of choice or not. Drinks orders can take 40 minutes to materialise, even when there are only two other customers there.
General attitude of the hotel is to be lazy and unhelpful.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Fairy-Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feeback.

My profound apologies on the inconveniences you faced on the slow service and the noise on the floors.

I have taken this concers with my team and we will ensure they are not repeated going forward.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife and i stayed at Ole Sereni on two occasions, both were fantastic. Great food, great service by all staff and they were very accommodating when we needed the room till late in the day. This place is a must if you are in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Chose a room that faces the Nairobi National Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy53Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am very pleased that your stay was pleasant.

We look forward to welcoming you both back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne, england
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed the hotel, the main attraction being its location, its right next to the game park. Consequently we breakfasted watching zebra, herds of buffalo and an amazing variety of bird life and with binoculars the giraffe were visible, wonderful!
The service was generally good, the staff were lovely, the bed was a bit hard for my other half, but fine for me, the food was good particularly breakfast, great choice and wonderful fruit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

We are pleased that your stay was a pleasant one.

We are in the process of changing the bed mattress.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.2 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#14 of 164 in Nairobi
767 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
4.7 mi away
The Lazizi Premiere
The Lazizi Premiere
#13 of 164 in Nairobi
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
633 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,269 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing