We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ole Sereni
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dafam Hotel(Nairobi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Greton(Nairobi)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Rio(Nairobi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,431)
Filter reviews
1,431 results
Traveller rating
497
559
213
82
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
559
213
82
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkgame parkclose to the airportgame reserveeagles restaurantpark viewwild animalsinternational airportmombasa roadan airport hotelbetween flightsnairobi trafficwilson airportgift shopshort stayrooms are nicebusiness trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
932 - 937 of 1,431 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

First let me qualify this by saying that we did not intend to stay here as we were booked at a lodge in Nairobi Park. The Kenyan Wildlife Service decided that very day to ban night driving to deter poaching and we were re-booked at the Ole Sereni, The hotel is quite large and borders the park. It is very convenient to the airport which is a great plus in Nairobi where you can sit for literally hours in traffic. I believe it is also a meeting and conference hotel.

The rooms was quite nice and you would have everything that you might expect and need.
We left very early and the restaurant was not open at that hour so I cannot comment on the breakfast. We did have dinner in the Big Five restaurant the night we arrived and that was good. We ate on the patio.

Which brings me to the only caveat - we did have a room that was over the bar. This is not the best idea as people are in the bar out on the patio at all hours as it seems to be a popular place. (even at 1 a.m.) I would request a room as far away from the bar as possible.

Otherwise - a fine place to stay especially if you are hitting the airport early.

Room Tip: Try Not to get over any outside dining or drinking patio - although those are on the park view side.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

I am pleased that your stay was a pleasant one apart from the noise from the patio area and for that we do sincerely apologise.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Spent 3 nights in Feb 14 (my 3 stay in 6 months) and remain undecided about where on the mix of good and not so good Ole Sereni represents. Generally the staff are excellent, cheerful and very helpful. The hotel is clean and the fabric well maintained.
The not so good, the bedrooms are small; I mean Japanese small; the bedroom air con makes a lot of noise but doesn't really affect the temperature. The same can be said for the mini bar.
Prices are not cheap at US$250/night. What shocked me even more was the breakfast at KES3,000 which came to over US$35. It used to be hearty buffet, but now all meats are portion controlled by staff; you can't have it both ways and expect guests to put up with it. Time to try a new hotel in Nairobi.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

We have taken note of your concern on the Room & Breakfast pricing. We believe we offer value for money and our aim is to continuously enhance the product. On the room size front, we are in the process of revamping the interiors.

We hope you will consider our services in your future travels.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

How disappointing a hotel this was. Lovely setting although the new highway running alongside it will not enhance the views of the national park. Could not reserve a room online or by telephone with the reservations department. Ended up using booking.com. Not enough staff on duty at reception, porter etc. complete shambles.
Restaurant. Was great - good food and lovely setting.
Massage superb.
Deluxe room overlooking the park quite small and in spite of advertising "small" balcony it was only bars outside the windows. View was lovely though.
Wanted to charge 3000/- for a 20 minute taxi ride to the airport. We called one locally at half the price.
All in all an extremely disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms overlook the park. Standard rooms overlook the highway being constructed extremely close to the hotel
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

My sincere apologies on the service lapses you faced while booking the room. I have taken this up with my Team and we assure they are rectified now.

May we request you reconsider our services during your future visits to Nairobi as we assure you a superior experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I travel to Nairobi for 2 weeks almost every month. Although we have tried other hotels a few times we always come back to stay at the Ole Sereni. One of the main reasons is the superb dining. Thanks to the expertise of Executive Chef Kevin Barron and his staff we have had marvelous dining experiences. The Ole Sereni offers various levels of dining from savory bites and sandwiches at the Watering Hole, to scrumptious meals at the Big Five and now at their new restaurant, The Eagle, guests can experience fine dining at its best. Executive Chef Kevin Barron is a wonderful asset to the success of the Ole Sereni!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

I thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I will surely pass your sentiments to Kevin. He takes a lot of pride in what we offer and it is our constant endeavour to refine our culinary offerings.

We look forwar to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We landed at Nairobi Airport in the pouring rain on the evening of Friday 7th Feb and were taken by our tour guide to the Ole-Sereni for our first night in Kenya, before we set off on a long safari the following day. The Ole-Sereni was absolutely lovely - the staff very gracious, the room not huge but very beautiful and comfortable. The next morning the sun was shining and we had breakfast on the terrace, which is bordered by a reflecting pool and looks out over Nairobi National Park. What a perfect start to our Kenyan holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anamericaninlondon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

We are very pleased to know that your starting point in Kenya was a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews