We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, true Kenyan spirit”
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #22 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The restaurants are really lovely for family dining. They pay special attention to children's prefs as well. Booking is easy with staff politely following up on you to ensure you get your reservation.

The location and ambience are outstanding with great customer service with Kenya love.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Jackie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

898 - 904 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed in Ole-Sereni two times last year, I booked online and got a very good deal.
The hotel is close the airport and opposite the National park but dont expect to see too many animals. If you want to see game, organize a safari to the National Park with an early pick up from the hotel. If you are en route somewhere / having a stopover in Nairobi, this is a very good option. The staff is very polite, friendly and helpful. I would like to praise Ann at the Business Centre. She was outstanding, assisting me with various tasks. The food is good, the breakfast was wonderful and the gym and pool very nice. The rooms are comfortable with a kettle, coffee and tea available.
I look forward to my next visit.
Asante sana na kuona kwenu hivi karibuni

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

I sincerely thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

It is our constant endeavour to provide the finest of services and I am glad to learn that we achieved it with your stay.

I will surely pass your sentiments to Ms. Ann.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Karibu Sana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We spent one night and one day (day room) here on our safari to Kenya and Tanzania. The night we arrived we were there from about midnight to 6:30 AM. The room is small but comfortable with AC (yea!!). The day we spent there was nice also – they have pretty good wifi so you can catch up on the world.

The food was surprisingly good – the breakfast and lunch buffets were excellent and the dinner we had was fabulous – a huge menu and everything basically prepared as you order it.

The location near the airport is super – this is a great business/travelers hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panamaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your positive review.

We look forward to having you with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Excellent property , right next to the Nairobi national park!! The staff is efficient and helpful and food is very good.
Safari organized by them is the best part! Excellent guide Ben who was not patient but extremely knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shwetamogha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am very pleased to learn that your stay was memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

First let me qualify this by saying that we did not intend to stay here as we were booked at a lodge in Nairobi Park. The Kenyan Wildlife Service decided that very day to ban night driving to deter poaching and we were re-booked at the Ole Sereni, The hotel is quite large and borders the park. It is very convenient to the airport which is a great plus in Nairobi where you can sit for literally hours in traffic. I believe it is also a meeting and conference hotel.

The rooms was quite nice and you would have everything that you might expect and need.
We left very early and the restaurant was not open at that hour so I cannot comment on the breakfast. We did have dinner in the Big Five restaurant the night we arrived and that was good. We ate on the patio.

Which brings me to the only caveat - we did have a room that was over the bar. This is not the best idea as people are in the bar out on the patio at all hours as it seems to be a popular place. (even at 1 a.m.) I would request a room as far away from the bar as possible.

Otherwise - a fine place to stay especially if you are hitting the airport early.

Room Tip: Try Not to get over any outside dining or drinking patio - although those are on the park view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

I am pleased that your stay was a pleasant one apart from the noise from the patio area and for that we do sincerely apologise.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Spent 3 nights in Feb 14 (my 3 stay in 6 months) and remain undecided about where on the mix of good and not so good Ole Sereni represents. Generally the staff are excellent, cheerful and very helpful. The hotel is clean and the fabric well maintained.
The not so good, the bedrooms are small; I mean Japanese small; the bedroom air con makes a lot of noise but doesn't really affect the temperature. The same can be said for the mini bar.
Prices are not cheap at US$250/night. What shocked me even more was the breakfast at KES3,000 which came to over US$35. It used to be hearty buffet, but now all meats are portion controlled by staff; you can't have it both ways and expect guests to put up with it. Time to try a new hotel in Nairobi.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

We have taken note of your concern on the Room & Breakfast pricing. We believe we offer value for money and our aim is to continuously enhance the product. On the room size front, we are in the process of revamping the interiors.

We hope you will consider our services in your future travels.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

How disappointing a hotel this was. Lovely setting although the new highway running alongside it will not enhance the views of the national park. Could not reserve a room online or by telephone with the reservations department. Ended up using booking.com. Not enough staff on duty at reception, porter etc. complete shambles.
Restaurant. Was great - good food and lovely setting.
Massage superb.
Deluxe room overlooking the park quite small and in spite of advertising "small" balcony it was only bars outside the windows. View was lovely though.
Wanted to charge 3000/- for a 20 minute taxi ride to the airport. We called one locally at half the price.
All in all an extremely disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms overlook the park. Standard rooms overlook the highway being constructed extremely clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

My sincere apologies on the service lapses you faced while booking the room. I have taken this up with my Team and we assure they are rectified now.

May we request you reconsider our services during your future visits to Nairobi as we assure you a superior experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.2 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#14 of 169 in Nairobi
922 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#9 of 169 in Nairobi
702 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 169 in Nairobi
1,098 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#55 of 169 in Nairobi
352 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: £134 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing