We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel between the airport and downtown”
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #17 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is in between downtown and the airport - off from the busy Mombasa Road. However the hotel is at the fenses of the Nairobi NP and you feel like outside of the city. This was my 2nd stay in this hotel and I will come back again. Unfortunately a huge road construction project is ongoing and they start working at latest 8:00am and the windows have just thin glas without any sound isolation.

However the decoration of the hotel is exellent with nice African arts and drawings. The breakfast is very good with a wide selection of everything. You can eat at the balcony with a very nice few to the national park. It's a very relaxing start of the day.

The same is valid for dinner or lunch. Just the prices are a little bit on the high end. The bar and the restaurant at the top floor is very good and offers even a better few to the NP.

The gym is well equipped and you have staff always around you for support. I general the staff are friendly but sometimes a little bit slow. Check in/out takes some time.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are equal (towards NP or towards Mombasa Road). Take the upper floor as you wi...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrnkS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

I sincerely thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am very glad to learn that your stay was memorable.

We will tighten up the speed related to service levels.

We look forward to welcoming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
There are newer reviews for Ole Sereni
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 814 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I travel on my own for business and the staff at this hotel have looked after me extremely well being friendly but without intruding.

On a day of free time i arranged a trip to the national park which i would recommend - ask for Benson. The hotel mini van has a roof that lifts up to give 360 clear viewing.

On the one occasion during my six night stay that I made a comment about my dinner, I was given a discount and received a hotel branded scarf personally brought to my room with thanks for my business from management.

Hotel has good internet and constant power. Menu is good but would benefit from some local dishes.

But its the staff that really make this place a great base for business or holiday.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank BVIJoolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

I thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

Your positive comments will go a long way in motivating the Team and to ensure that we consistently deliver the same level of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent about 15 hours in this hotel. We checked in at about 9pm and left before lunch the next day. All went well until the check out which took ages. Then we tried to get a taxi, first from the check out guy who quoted silly money, then from the concierge who took forever, and when I threw my toys out of the cot, took less money from me than the reception guy quoted and then drove me to the airport in what I assume to be his own private car... Very shonkey and the owners need to know what is going on. This totally took the shine off what had otherwise been a pleasant stop-over.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I do apologize for the inconvenience you faced. In regards to the revised rate from the Travel Desk, the driver offered a discounted fare which we do apply on rare occasions.

We do hope this incident will not hinder your decision of choosing us during your future travels.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located 20 driving minutes from the airport. It's also close to a national wildlife park, where you can have a game drive. Most rooms offer a great view at this park. The gym offers some state of the art equipment. Free wifi is available around the hotel premises and rooms. Several restaurants offer local and international cuisine. Staff is always around and happy to serve you the "African Way"! Recommended for a short (business)stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback.

I am pleased to learn that your stay was comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hi I stay 5 months there had a great time with the staff, great hotel great view the only problem was the BA crew members they drink all night they are noisy they do not let you sleep other then that great place to visit

Thank you

Puente.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

I thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I do apologise on the noise pollution from BA crew which we are addressing right away.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was a great location for a business trip. It is located near the airport and you don't have to suffer the Nairobi traffic to get in and out of the property. Unfortunately, there is a large cloverleaf intersection being built right outside the property and traffic in and out is sure to be impeded. Once construction is done, I'm sure they have made provisions for entry and exit.

Room Tip: Away from the construction and facing the game reserve.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

I sincerely thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am sure your future visits will see a more definied system of how traffic flows on our roads.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We needed to stay one night in Nairobi close to the airport. We chose the Ole Sereni because of its proximity, security, and luxury. We were not disappointed. Although we didn't eat at the hotel it was very busy and everyone was very friendly. Although a little pricy I would recommend this hotel to anyone who's concerned about safety and wants a good nights rest a short distance from the airport.

Room Tip: They have a park side and a city side. We stayed in the city side because we knew it would be too la...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank semper_peragro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

We are pleased to learn that your stay was memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.2 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#12 of 167 in Nairobi
827 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Lazizi Premiere
The Lazizi Premiere
#30 of 167 in Nairobi
119 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 167 in Nairobi
654 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,285 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#7 of 167 in Nairobi
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: £137 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing