We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good view, but something is going wrong in malu!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Malu
Ranked #12 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Good view, but something is going wrong in malu!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Our stay in Malu was helped by the friendly staff and excellent views, but from the onset, the services at malu did not meet the value for our money. First the "Italian restaurant" had no red wine, the food was no better than average and the quality kept going down as we stayed on, and even though we had thought of staying over the weekend, we cancelled those plans. Malu cottage 2 was leaking when it rained, and so was the club house! The floor in the cottage was slippery and floor rags are quite dirty . Forget about a scented bath and be ready for a " a tiny bar of imperial leather soap" for your bath and an ugly -smelling apple shampoo. It is obvious that Malu was once a little heaven but now it seems on its way to a hell where you are really disappointed for what you have already paid for and cant get back! Our kids loved the sweet dog tanga and its a shame we cant take them back there to enjoy her company!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueSin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, 2 January 2012
Dear Sue, Thank you for your review and I'm sorry for your disappointment at Malu. I can only apologise - you will be pleased to hear that the source of the leak was found and repaired and that we now have some delicious 'smellies' in the bathrooms as standard, your point well taken from a lovely local company. I wasn't quite able to get to the bottom of who drank all the red wine - inexcusable, that certainly won't happen again! I hope you will give us another chance sometime and look forward to welcoming you back and exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    30
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
43
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Had an amazing weekend away from Nairobi at Malu Farm.
Though is poured it down, this added to the charm of being in the bundu, squelching in the mud, and cleared the sky up for amazing views down to Mt. Longonot.
Service was slow though for such a small place. We had wanted to have a glass of wine from the mini-bar in our room before dinner, but could not find a bottle opener anywhere. Even after calling the reception 3 times, they had not managed to locate the room steward and we ended up not having our drink till dinner.
Had a broken nights' sleep as we were in the main house which is near the ducks, geese and cows ..... so if your sleep is all important, opt for other rooms.
However, all in all, we would definitely recommend Malu Farm and will be back again (carrying our own corkscrew!!)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deeputitchyitchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
I know what you mean about the geese and the ducks - since making the 'Manager's House' - or 'Tanga's House' as it is now known (after Tanga the little dog that lives there and that is so loved by all that visit Malu) - available to guests, some love the farm noises, others hope their children sleep a little longer - we have plans to build new duck and geese enclosures slightly further away from the house. No excuses for the cork screw - though I am very pleased that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we shall be sure to be more attentive next time, though I suspect, by way of a 'cork screw apology' your first bottle of wine will have to be on us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

Less than 2 hrs from Nairobi and we had a fantastic stay at Malu. Kids were thoroughly entertained with what was on offer at this 'ranch' - from milking cows, feeding chickens, donkey cart rides, bathing in the hot spring, horse riding, walking... it goes on. Kids LOVED it - which meant we were very happy. Food was just excellent. They catered for the kids earlier than normal. We got a babysitter in while we went for our meal later on - which really was lovely. Lots of fresh air and good food - just perfect for a weekend away. Make sure you enquire about the Managers House if you are a party of 6-8 people.
FAB.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic0laann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back again very soon. You will be pleased to know that in Jan 2012 we have just bought a whole selection of brand new bicycles, with suspension, for both adults and children to explore Malu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

Away from the Main Road, nestled in the escarpment above Lake Naivasha is Malu Lodge, home away from home in every way. Great home cooked food of delicate nature and portions. Rustic concept but solid and very cosy with always a fire on hand in either the cottage or in the restaurant to fend off the cold but refreshing evening.
The Walks and views are spectacular, set your own pace and enjoy. The naturally heated plunge pool in the forest is a must. The earlier you get up the better.
To eat and drink plenty, play scabble, walk a good distance up the esarpment and observe the view, visit the plunge pool and just relax was all we did and loved it, you will too!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pimf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

We came here for the first new nights of our honeymoon and absolutely fell in love. The individual cottages with huge fireplaces and canopy beds were to die for. The food was incredible, as was the staff. Tons to do - walks, horseback riding, swimming, hiking - it was the perfect beginning to our trip. An absolute must for those traveling around East Africa.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinemiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

The good bits of staying at Malu are very good - cottage was lovely, the room attendant exceptional as were the guys who took us on a ride on the donkey cart and let us milk the cow, but we did feel that the food was not as good as we had been led to think it would be, and the service in the dining room did leave a little to be desired. In fact the cooking was pretty ordinary and certainly no better than what I can produce at home. We were there on a weekend and asked on day one for beef sausages for day two as several of our party don't eat pork - no sausages were sourced, ditto with honey, and persuading the kitchen to make pancakes was like extracting teeth. They also ran out of sparkling water - on a Friday!! when it was fully booked for the weekend. No sign of any initiative of going to Naivasha (or even the Delamere petrol station) for provisions.The problems with the kitchen are relatively minor but you pay a premium price to stay at Malu and we did feel that the meals let it down.
Also there wasn't much sign of anyone being in charge of the kitchen to raise issues with. On the plus sign the wine was very fairly priced. my non-recommendation is purely down to (on present standards) Malu not providing very good value for money, if you don't expect good cooking you will have a lovely time

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BrummyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
I'm very sorry and saddened to read your review. We shall certainly have to "pull our socks up" and try harder - you clearly got us on a very bad day, thankfully those seem to be very rare. I hope that you will come back and visit us soon so that we can offer you the sevice that you had expected of Malu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

characterful, charming lodge in hills above Naivasha, Kenya. Staff friendly and informative. Our four children disappeared during the days, milking cows, riding horses, chasing chickens, walking in woods and being jollied along by the great staff. They played with Tanga, the lodge dog, and were taken on donkey cart rides. It was almost a second honeymoon. We had a babysitter who stayed in our room to watch the children in the evenings. It is not expensive so don't expect the Hilton, but it is a taste of rustic African paradise...hotwater bottles in the beds and hot water from wood burning stoves behind the cottages. Fireplaces were lovely. The lodge is self sufficient for spring water and has a small plunge pool in the woods at the end of a short walk. There are beautiful views from the hills in the lodge's land. It is a small working farm with lovely fresh veggies grown down by the river. The food is simple, but remarkably tasty. It is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oakrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, 2 August 2010
Thank you 'Oakrainbow' for your kind review. We are so happy that your children enjoyed their visit to Malu and we look forward to welcoming your family back to Malu again soon I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairobi
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#10 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Wileli House
#9 of 40 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#4 of 40 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malu

Property: Malu
Address: Naivasha, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malu!Nestled in an ancient forest with sweeping views over the Great Rift Valley, Malu is a stunning getaway and the perfect base for exploring the Rift Valley and many national parks ...a magical encounter with Africa - just 90 minutes from Nairobi.Malu is a small country hotel offering luxury accommodation, superb service & acclaimed cuisine. On Malu's 1800 acre private forest reserve you have the freedom to walk and ride through one of East Africa's original highland forests, where leopard, buffalo and zebra roam. Our horses & mountain bikes provide a unique close encounter with this untouched wilderness.Malu is a stunning getaway destination as well as a perfect base for excursions to Lake Nakura National Park, Lake Naivasha and Crescent Island, Hell's Gate National Park and Kigio Game Reserve.Malu is a stunning getaway destination as well as a perfect base for excursions to Lake Nakura National Park, Lake Naivasha and Crescent Island, Hell's Gate National Park and Kigio Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Malu Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing