We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room With A View & Then Some”
Review of Malu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Malu
Ranked #10 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Room With A View & Then Some”
Reviewed 26 April 2010

An hour from Nairobi by road on the brilliant new Nakuru Highway to the turn-off, then another 20-30 minutes of challenging driving to Malu - 4X4 strongly recommended. My wife once did it in her BMW - in the dry, with no real problems. Whatever, it's well worth the effort. Great cottages with fire places and all the little bits 'n pieces you'd asscoaite with a much more expensive offering. The view over Lake Naivasha is breath-taking. The clubhouse, the social fulcrum, exudes charm and is warm and cosy. The food is simple fare Italian style - an ever changing fixed meal offering (of I think five or six courses) always good, hot and delcious. Great staff, lovely walks especially to the the hot spring cuddle puddle. We didn't ride, but other folk did - well behaved nags, lovely trails with great vista's. Wifi in most cottages and in the club house for those that can't live without their daily e-mail fix. Evidently Malu is full every weekend, so if you plan to go at these times, book well in advance. Mid-week if you can sneak away from work , would be brilliant - the less people at Malu the better. Reasonably priced both mid-week and on the weekends - great value.....go see you will not be disappointed. TCB

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Real_TCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, 18 July 2010
Thank you very much for you rpositive review TCB, we look forward to welcoming you back to Malu in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    33
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
45
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Malu Lodge is one of the best lodges I have stayed in. The cottages are cleverly and brilliantly furnished, they are spacious as well. The staff are simply brilliant and the food is just awesome. But what tops it all is the spring pool at the top of the mountain.

Would highly recommend this place and will definately come back. Malu is truely worth it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ObieroX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, 18 July 2010
Thank you ObieroX for your lovely review, we are so happy that you so enjoyed your visit to Malu Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2009

It was low season when we went and so we pretty much had the place to ourselves. Lovely, happy, dedicated staff. Great accommodation, (a small cottage to ourselves) and huge amounts of brilliantly cooked fresh italian food. Not to mention, the horse riding, hot spring fed plunge pool and treks into the bush. We had two very small children with us (4 yrs & 18 months) and they had the time of their lives, feeding the animals, donkey riding and swimming.
The track to Malu is VERY long and bumpy and takes about 30 mins from the main road so don't try it unless you have a 4x4. I think this adds to the place though as not many people can get there. However if you can make it, do - you really won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennallvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, 18 July 2010
Thank you for your kind review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Malu and we hope you will come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairobi
8.8 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
11.7 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
18.8 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#4 of 41 in Naivasha
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#8 of 41 in Naivasha
61 reviews
63.7 mi away
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
#3 of 202 in Nairobi
177 reviews
11.5 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malu

Property: Malu
Address: Naivasha, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malu!Nestled in an ancient forest with sweeping views over the Great Rift Valley, Malu is a stunning getaway and the perfect base for exploring the Rift Valley and many national parks ...a magical encounter with Africa - just 90 minutes from Nairobi.Malu is a small country hotel offering luxury accommodation, superb service & acclaimed cuisine. On Malu's 1800 acre private forest reserve you have the freedom to walk and ride through one of East Africa's original highland forests, where leopard, buffalo and zebra roam. Our horses & mountain bikes provide a unique close encounter with this untouched wilderness.Malu is a stunning getaway destination as well as a perfect base for excursions to Lake Nakura National Park, Lake Naivasha and Crescent Island, Hell's Gate National Park and Kigio Game Reserve.Malu is a stunning getaway destination as well as a perfect base for excursions to Lake Nakura National Park, Lake Naivasha and Crescent Island, Hell's Gate National Park and Kigio Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Malu Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing