We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Stunning”
Review of Malu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Malu
Ranked #11 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Stunning”
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We came here for the first new nights of our honeymoon and absolutely fell in love. The individual cottages with huge fireplaces and canopy beds were to die for. The food was incredible, as was the staff. Tons to do - walks, horseback riding, swimming, hiking - it was the perfect beginning to our trip. An absolute must for those traveling around East Africa.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinemiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    31
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
44
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

The good bits of staying at Malu are very good - cottage was lovely, the room attendant exceptional as were the guys who took us on a ride on the donkey cart and let us milk the cow, but we did feel that the food was not as good as we had been led to think it would be, and the service in the dining room did leave a little to be desired. In fact the cooking was pretty ordinary and certainly no better than what I can produce at home. We were there on a weekend and asked on day one for beef sausages for day two as several of our party don't eat pork - no sausages were sourced, ditto with honey, and persuading the kitchen to make pancakes was like extracting teeth. They also ran out of sparkling water - on a Friday!! when it was fully booked for the weekend. No sign of any initiative of going to Naivasha (or even the Delamere petrol station) for provisions.The problems with the kitchen are relatively minor but you pay a premium price to stay at Malu and we did feel that the meals let it down.
Also there wasn't much sign of anyone being in charge of the kitchen to raise issues with. On the plus sign the wine was very fairly priced. my non-recommendation is purely down to (on present standards) Malu not providing very good value for money, if you don't expect good cooking you will have a lovely time

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BrummyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
I'm very sorry and saddened to read your review. We shall certainly have to "pull our socks up" and try harder - you clearly got us on a very bad day, thankfully those seem to be very rare. I hope that you will come back and visit us soon so that we can offer you the sevice that you had expected of Malu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

characterful, charming lodge in hills above Naivasha, Kenya. Staff friendly and informative. Our four children disappeared during the days, milking cows, riding horses, chasing chickens, walking in woods and being jollied along by the great staff. They played with Tanga, the lodge dog, and were taken on donkey cart rides. It was almost a second honeymoon. We had a babysitter who stayed in our room to watch the children in the evenings. It is not expensive so don't expect the Hilton, but it is a taste of rustic African paradise...hotwater bottles in the beds and hot water from wood burning stoves behind the cottages. Fireplaces were lovely. The lodge is self sufficient for spring water and has a small plunge pool in the woods at the end of a short walk. There are beautiful views from the hills in the lodge's land. It is a small working farm with lovely fresh veggies grown down by the river. The food is simple, but remarkably tasty. It is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oakrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, 2 August 2010
Thank you 'Oakrainbow' for your kind review. We are so happy that your children enjoyed their visit to Malu and we look forward to welcoming your family back to Malu again soon I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We visited with our family. While making reservations, they described the property.

What they did not describe were the AWFUL condition of the 30 min- 1hour road to their property. We understand the roads can be bad in Kenya, but they almost seem to keep the road in bad shape on purpose.

Overall the road could have been filled in with the red clay/gravel mixtures on many roads in Kenya. (My brother who lives there and was traveling with us stated, it is inexpensive to fix these roads.)

By the end of the road up, we had damaged the drive shaft on our Toyota Land Cruser. You can use their vehicle for transport, but the price is expensive.

We stayed in the Treetops, it was nice. Even a worse road ...

Overall, a nice place to get away into a forest lodge. The food was OK, not too special. The chef makes his meal and you eat what is served. For example, we would have liked baked potatoes or fries, but he had mashed potatoes as the only option.

Be read for a bumpy ride to get up to the top. You may want to spend the extra $$$ and have them transport you up/down/around the resort.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingRADMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, 18 July 2010
Thank you RADMD for your positive response. Sadly the 11km of approach road doesn't belong to Malu, and the tractors that use the road during the rainy periods (just before you visited us) do churn it up - I trust that the roads on our property were more acceptable, we have a team on 'road repair' each day. The good news is that there is rumour that the road will be paved in the future, we live in hope, until then it is for our visitors to 'enjoy' the use of theirs, or our 4x4 vehicles - though some of our adventurous guests do visit using saloon cars. All of our food is freshly prepared and we aim to cater for any requests, but with a little notice . . . we will have fries for you next time . . . I promise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

An hour from Nairobi by road on the brilliant new Nakuru Highway to the turn-off, then another 20-30 minutes of challenging driving to Malu - 4X4 strongly recommended. My wife once did it in her BMW - in the dry, with no real problems. Whatever, it's well worth the effort. Great cottages with fire places and all the little bits 'n pieces you'd asscoaite with a much more expensive offering. The view over Lake Naivasha is breath-taking. The clubhouse, the social fulcrum, exudes charm and is warm and cosy. The food is simple fare Italian style - an ever changing fixed meal offering (of I think five or six courses) always good, hot and delcious. Great staff, lovely walks especially to the the hot spring cuddle puddle. We didn't ride, but other folk did - well behaved nags, lovely trails with great vista's. Wifi in most cottages and in the club house for those that can't live without their daily e-mail fix. Evidently Malu is full every weekend, so if you plan to go at these times, book well in advance. Mid-week if you can sneak away from work , would be brilliant - the less people at Malu the better. Reasonably priced both mid-week and on the weekends - great value.....go see you will not be disappointed. TCB

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Real_TCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, 18 July 2010
Thank you very much for you rpositive review TCB, we look forward to welcoming you back to Malu in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Malu Lodge is one of the best lodges I have stayed in. The cottages are cleverly and brilliantly furnished, they are spacious as well. The staff are simply brilliant and the food is just awesome. But what tops it all is the spring pool at the top of the mountain.

Would highly recommend this place and will definately come back. Malu is truely worth it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ObieroX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, 18 July 2010
Thank you ObieroX for your lovely review, we are so happy that you so enjoyed your visit to Malu Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2009

It was low season when we went and so we pretty much had the place to ourselves. Lovely, happy, dedicated staff. Great accommodation, (a small cottage to ourselves) and huge amounts of brilliantly cooked fresh italian food. Not to mention, the horse riding, hot spring fed plunge pool and treks into the bush. We had two very small children with us (4 yrs & 18 months) and they had the time of their lives, feeding the animals, donkey riding and swimming.
The track to Malu is VERY long and bumpy and takes about 30 mins from the main road so don't try it unless you have a 4x4. I think this adds to the place though as not many people can get there. However if you can make it, do - you really won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennallvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, 18 July 2010
Thank you for your kind review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Malu and we hope you will come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairobi
8.8 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
11.7 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
53.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 40 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
61.0 mi away
Ololo Safari Lodge
Ololo Safari Lodge
#2 of 198 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
15.0 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#10 of 40 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malu

Property: Malu
Address: Naivasha, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malu!Nestled in an ancient forest with sweeping views over the Great Rift Valley, Malu is a stunning getaway and the perfect base for exploring the Rift Valley and many national parks ...a magical encounter with Africa - just 90 minutes from Nairobi.Malu is a small country hotel offering luxury accommodation, superb service & acclaimed cuisine. On Malu's 1800 acre private forest reserve you have the freedom to walk and ride through one of East Africa's original highland forests, where leopard, buffalo and zebra roam. Our horses & mountain bikes provide a unique close encounter with this untouched wilderness.Malu is a stunning getaway destination as well as a perfect base for excursions to Lake Nakura National Park, Lake Naivasha and Crescent Island, Hell's Gate National Park and Kigio Game Reserve.Malu is a stunning getaway destination as well as a perfect base for excursions to Lake Nakura National Park, Lake Naivasha and Crescent Island, Hell's Gate National Park and Kigio Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Malu Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing