We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sankara Nairobi
Nearby Hotels
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,013)
Filter reviews
1,013 results
Traveller rating
599
293
60
34
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
599
293
60
34
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barartisan restauranttop floorthe club loungebusiness hotelwestlands areagreat businesssarit centrefirst floorbusiness travelmodern hotelfive star hotelbreakfast buffet ismain restaurantshopping mallrooms are spaciousshankar
Filter
Updating list...
905 - 910 of 1,013 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2011

A very good and clean hotel to stay in Nairobi. I recommend

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcbe1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The Sankara is a great hotel in the Westlands section of Nairobi. It's not as opulent as a 5 star hotel, but still is an excellent property. The grounds aren't much to speak of (no gardens, small rooftop pool and deck) but the guest rooms are very modern (bordering on futuristic) and quite large, especially the bathrooms. The gym is pretty small, it has two bikes, two treadmills, and two elliptical machines for cardio, some dumbbells, and then a few universal machines. Fortunately, it was never very crowded while I was there. My room was one of the few that had a balcony but it had poor drainage and was full of rainwater. The staff is attentive and will make up your room within moments of you requesting it. The restaurant is good (not amazing) and is quite overpriced for the buffet. Order off the menu and you'll save about 50%. Also be sure to get the inclusive bed and breakfast room rate because there is no breakfast a la carte menu. Try the fresh passion fruit and then have them every day for the duration of your stay; they're delicious.

Most importantly, beware the WiFi network. I signed in and my computer contracted a virus or a trojan that rendered it completely useless. I had to format my hard drive once I got home. I was relegated to using my phone for internet the remainder of the week which was frustrating. Be sure to have your virus scan up and running at all times and update your definitions before heading there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windowseater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2011

Dear Windowseater,

Thank you for your review dated December 15th, 2011. We highly appreciate you taking the time to write this review.

First and foremost I would like to thank you for your wonderful compliments you have mentioned about our Team and the hotel.

We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations with the Drainage and extend our apologies for the occurrence. The matter is being addressed with our Engineering team and will also ensure that appropriate drainage systems are put into place prevent a similar occurrence.

We would like to assure you that Sankara Nairobi's hotel internet network is behind an industry-strength corporate CheckPoint© firewall configured to prevent & protect information and computer equipment from any malicious and targeted attacks. This applies to both our wired and wireless networks.

However, we regret to note that the computer suffered a virus and/or Trojan infection that rendered the machine inoperable, it is very possible that this infection could have occurred outside our network, and we would interested in getting more details of the incident if possible for further investigation. Rest assured that we are always ready to assist wherever possible.

Sankara Nairobi's ICT Department always encourages guests to always have the latest antivirus protection enabled on their equipment at all times to prevent these attacks.

Sankara management and Team wishes you Festive Felicitations and all the best in the new year.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Always a pleasure to stay at Sankara Nairobi. Very good staff, great rooms, perfect location!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catsailor61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2011

Dear Bougainvillas,

Thank you for your review dated December 12th, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed at the Sankara for stopovers on our way to the Masaai Mara and beach. We were looking for a safe, boutique hotel with great service. Sankara delivered on this!

After arriving from our international flight, we were easily checked in and shown to our room. We stayed in a deluxe room which was modern, spacious, very comfortable beds and included any amenity we needed. We found the staff to be very professional and arranged all our airport transfers, taxis and visit to the elephant orphanage.

The rooftop bar is a nice introduction to Nairobi to take in the city and have a glass of wine. It was a great start to our holiday in Kenya!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2011

Dear Archana,

Thank you for your review dated December 10th, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The wow factor here was the rooms, very large always clean fitted with all essentials from showera to bath tabs desk area e.t.c our room was facing the sarit centre mall so we would just sit by the window at night with all the lights outside and have a romantic glass of wine.
The staff is always smiling and very helpful.

The food was great but a bit pricey so most nights we opted to eat out our favourite spot being havanna restaurant 5 minutes walk where they have amazing pork ribs i have ever eaten in the whole world they were soft and sinfully sweet we ate there everyday....i coul go on and on about my baby pork ribs
Sankara is amazing and the fact that it is in westlands makes it more interesting as night runners like us we had plenty of bars with good music a few minutes from restaurant.

I would reccomend this hotel to everyone

Room Tip: stayed in room 5307 very quiet and sunny
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridgitndinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2011

Dear Ndinda,

Thank you for your review dated December 9th, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews