We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel”
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #9 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I only stayed in Sankara for a night but was blown away, this is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in Africa. First, the room had a real nice smell when I first walked in, the bathroom was very clean with both bath and shower.

The bed was very comfortable and air con worked perfectly. I ordered the Veg burger from room service, with an iced tea. It was awesome, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funinthesun2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
There are newer reviews for Sankara Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is lovely. Rooms are modern and clean. The bed is perfection!!! Incredible pillows and pillow menu.
Staff is attentive and very helpful.

Roof top pool and lounge are a lovely surprise in Nairobi.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmmmlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on business on the Exec floor, and cannot fault the place.

Well appointed, luxury rooms, quiet a/c, lovely showers...

Superb rooftop heated pool and a great (if small) gym on site (although the a/c was an issue in there as it was being fixed at the time), with a personal trainer on hand.

We had breakfast in the Exec lounge, and these guys really did a great job of giving personal service. My colleague and I used the meeting space ... 10 / 10, and the whole experience was epitomised by a knock on the door one evening about 22:00 asking if I would be wanting a fresh mint tea this evening whilst working ...

The downstairs restaurants were brilliant, and after the Hiltons disastrous buffet a welcome relief.

The location also feels safer than the centre of Nairobi.

Highly recommended, would stay for business again, or if using Nairobi as a stop off on holiday

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Hotel is on smaller space, thus giving a clumsy feel inside. Rooms are small and less attractive.
Food is some what ok. The last place for people who only stay in 5 star and are not getting rooms else where.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HRaghava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I have made six business trips in the last three years to Nairobi. They don't get any easier. But they are made marginally more bearable when you are able to lay down your bags, dust off your shoes, literally, and relax in the comfort of a quality hotel. The Sankara is just that.

Located very conveniently in Westlands, the Sankara is an oasis of luxury in a desert of deprivation. However, it is only worth staying here if you have business nearby. The traffic is so bad in Nairobi that even the BBC World Service ran a report on it recently. I was lucky enough to stay here just after it opened, and what a blissful change it was from the clunky, dirty old Serena. It must be said, however, that the Sankara has fallen off the standard a little - high standards it set itself when it opened. It is still very good, but not as good as it was when they spent all their time and energy charming the would-be Serena guests. Reception is pleasant and such a hit on the senses after being stuck in traffic. Check-in can be slow, as can check-out. Make friends with someone higher up if you intend on coming back here, as they can often check you in "express" at the little side table.

Security is great - lovely guys - as is the bag storage. The rooms are very comfortable and well designed, and the dining / bar facilities are top notch. Sadly, a lot of the usual flaws and cracks in service are starting to show. The bar can take a while to order in, and bills often feel like they are being handwritten in another country. The food is not the greatest, but the settings are nice for both dinner and breakfast. It is edging into overpriced territory these days.

The bath gowns and scales are brilliant. If there is one thing I would insist other guests do, it is steer clear of the breakfast buffet. It is a crime to pay that price rather than take the short and perfectly safe walk to Java in the Sarit Centre nearby, where you can enjoy any type of coffee, and virtually any type of excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts and preferable on a corner somewhere. Check the bathroom sink doe...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zimbo_in_Limbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at the Sankara for one night each way on the way out to Tanzania and on the return from Safari. We were fortunate to be upgraded to the junior suite. This meant a special rooftop clublounge check-in, complimentary soft drinks and snacks all day. In the evening during happy hour all drinks were included with canapes. It is an excellent rendezvous for business meetings. The rooftop pool is an experience - I also met an airline crew member who said that this was the best hotel in NBO and he never knew it existed until recently. My wife enjoyed thought the massage was the best she had and felt thoroughly revived, Staff are very friendly, the decor is modern (you are discouraged from taking photos internally).
The first floor has a number of restaurants that are very popular amongst the locals as well. Adjoining is the shopping mall which has a food court, too.
The suite is delightful and the photos on this web-site are exactly as the experience.
I will stay here again and again.

Room Tip: The junior suites are on each floor with a room number ending in ****9
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArjS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Right from the delux chauffered limo pick n drop, to the attentive and efficient staff at the reception, Sankara promises a memorable experience to the discerning traveller.With lovely decor in all the suites, to the roof top poolside terrace,you are spoilt for choice. menu is well priced and the Spa's an expereince. Try it, when in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southside have a beautiful view of a Nairobi sunrise
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloSends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Solosends

Thank you for your review dated March 19th, 2012 and taking the time to write this positive review and lovely comments.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet and exceed your expectations.

Thank you for your kind compliments about our decor, Sarabi Pool & Supper Club and Angsana Spa.

The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#16 of 167 in Nairobi
407 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 167 in Nairobi
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#6 of 167 in Nairobi
927 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,162 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: £149 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing