We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #11 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Business Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I have been to Africa and Nairobi in particular several times and have stayed at most of the "Famous" hotels so decided to try this one based upon its spa and my companion's thoughts. As other people have commented be prepared for nasty traffic - nothing in the US compares to center Nairobi traffic at rush hour. Not the hotel's fault - just be aware. The atmosphere is a bit sterile but the staff was very friendly and catered to all our requests. Check-in was smooth and the rooms were adequate but a bit small. Overall a good place to stay but for a traditional African experience try the Norfolk.

Room Tip: Upper floors seem best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Charles R,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are still a young hotel by comparison to the longer established hotels in Nairobi; and the experience we try to create is more in keeping with the new vibrant Africa. We are sorry we did not live up to your expectations and hope that you will come back to the Sankara soon!

With Kind Regards,


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    252
    54
    29
    25
See reviews for
62
117
56
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
92 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Good hotel, west lands location so if peak hours of traffic, ie 7am to 10 am and 4pm to 8pm, expect horrendous traffic to get to hotel from airport.

Nice hotel, nice food, and good location when no traffic.

Not the hotels fault re traffic... just something to take into consideration in case staying a night in nbo due to masai mara, like we did in November this year.

Alternative hotel near hotel and very nice is ole sereni which is recommended to stay or kill some hours like we did from wilson (to masai mara) to international airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear RG1978,

Thank you for your kind comments.

With the development of the road infrastructure underway, we do hope that the traffic problems will be resolved very soon; so that you can enjoy a traffic free stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

With Kind Regards



Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gevelsberg, Deutschland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

great hotel in nairobi. clean, very good service. room well equipped, W-Lan available all around the hotel. restaurants and breakfast outstanding. no charge for any extras.
airport transportation is working well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlpe-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kannnapolis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the roof top dining. The food was great and the staff was extremely accommodating. The vast wine selection from South Africa, France, and Spain added to the dining experience immensely!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aanthony2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Nice staff and service, large room with all you need.
Spa is very good for massages despite European prices it is good after a long trip.
Swimming pool on the rooftop is nice but you are exposed to all the roof terrace cafe guests which is not the nicest if you want to just relax.
Only remark from a very demanding guest, the rooms are not spotless spotless with stains on the carpet, lamp in bad shape. Otherwise I do recommend!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Palmiterro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear chachatralala,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 6th November 2013.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our service, staff and the facilities.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed our spa experience with international spa brand Angsana at Sankara Nairobi.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback and we do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind Regards



The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

From the minute of my Late arrival I was treated like a special guest. The room had a fantastic view of Nairobi City that I never expected and was spotless and cleaned at least twice a day. The food was absolutely gorgeous, from Sundays brunch time buffets to evening dinners. The staff were very attentive and knew my name within the first few Days of being there. Parking was available for me Regardless the time of the day or night and nothing seemed any trouble to make my stay a good one. The bars were Fantastic and a good retreat for a drink in the evening as well as taking advantage of the big TV Screeners at the bars to watch my favorite soccer games while enjoying my drinks. I stayed at Sankara Hotel for two complete months and I proudly can say it is the best, based on my previous experience at the hotels I stayed in Nairobi. All in all, cannot fault ther place and would happily return, hopefully with some friends and family next year.

Room Tip: I stayed at the fifty floor the internet was fast and free. The view was fantastic. All rooms were w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jclayb7526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

In the heart of Westlands is a GEM that is magnificent. Great Food, Excellent Rooftop lounge for those evening sun downers. If you're in the mood for just a glass of wine you have a wide selection of wines from South Africa, France and Spain.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#10 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Property: Sankara Nairobi
Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing