We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My weekend in the wild”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nairobi Tented Camp
Ranked #1 of 288 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Honestly if someone told me that spending a night at the Nairobi National Park would be amazing, i would probably have brushed them off. But having have experienced the simplicity yet exotic scenery this place has to offer, i would recommend anyone to come and camp here. it was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scarlet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We only had two days to squeeze in a safari and the Nairobi Tented Camp was everything we could have asked for and more!
The people were AMAZING! Everyone (Clemens, Silas, Daniel, Issa, Dixon, Peter) took such good care of us! We wanted for nothing. All we had to do was ask.
Food was delicious. We were astounded that such a variety of delicious dishes could come from a safari camp.
Issa was an amazing guide and found us lions everywhere.
Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen1141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

After a day time flight, it was great to be met at JKA and transported direct to the camp, where I could settle in and have a good night's rest in peaceful, comfortable surroundings so I was refreshed before starting the rest of my adventures. The staff, led by Chloe, were very welcoming and helpful, the food excellent, the camp very restful, plenty of animals to be seen on a game drive.
There is a good range of things to do outside the National Park, too, if you have time. I visited the Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage - they do a fantastic job and it was a joy to see the little ellies so well cared for and happy.
Two nights at this camp proved to be an excellent way to start a safari holiday. I felt rested, pampered, and with my appetite whetted to continue on to different areas, including other Porini camps which offered the best accommodation and experiences I have encountered in my three trips to Kenya.
Highly reccommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safarimaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of Nairobi.....and only minutes to get to! Once inside the National Park and at NTB you are taken to a different world of peace and tranquility. Staff at NTB were excellent and food superb. Highly recommend NTB, only camp inside the park, a park that offers an extensive range of animals to view.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 44Geg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

After a two journey around Africa we had the pleasure to stay with Clemence and her wonderful staff in this jewel in Nairobi. The solitude of the camp was made even more special by the accommodation and meals served with such a smile. To sit an watch animals grazing as you sit around a camp fire finished our trip in style. The guide on our drives, Andrew, was one of the best we had shared time with in 5 other countries and we would return to Kenya and safari with him again at Game Watchers Safaris. we wished we could have stayed longer and my 4 adult children all have vowed to bring partners back to the tented camp. Don't miss the opportunity to share this gem in Nairobi

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

You could easily imagine that you've been transported a few hundred kilometres from Nairobi, so quiet is the camp and so dense the forest around it. All the sounds of the city are replaced by jungle sounds at night. And yet you've travelled only a few kilometres from the city.

The Nairobi Tented Camp inside the Nairobi National Park is a great alternative to driving three hours or more visit the otherwise nearest conservancy from Nairobi, and a great base from which to explore this gem of a park. I would also imagine that a visitor to the city with a weekend on his or her hands would appreciate the opportunity of spending it in this comfortable resort rather than in a city hotel.

The food and service are excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NirmalyaKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

After landing at JKIA we have been greeted by our driver and been driven to the gates of NBO National Park. There we met with our guide who drove us to the camp. On the way we already saw rhinos (!), impalas and many other animals. The camp itself is very beautiful and the service was excellent. The warm shower was the perfect start into the afternoon game drive. Our guide Anthony and driver Gregory were really excellent and we had never expected to see so many animals, including a big pride of lions, many giraffes, black and white rhinos and many many other animals. We enjoyed a sundowner by the fireplace in the camp and afterwards a very good dinner. If you don't want to spend your time in any NBO hotel but rather enjoy the wilderness and great hospitality this is the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOE10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,312 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
986 reviews
The Heron Portico
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
543 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#9 of 169 in Nairobi
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 288 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Hotel Class:3 star — Nairobi Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing