We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and magaical last Kenyan nights.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nairobi Tented Camp
Ranked #1 of 284 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We stayed here for a fantastic, final two nights of our honeymoon. It’s an idyllic rural retreat and almost impossible to believe you’re only twenty minutes outside of Nairobi.

Entering the safari park we waited while giraffes gracefully crossed the road before continuing our drive passing a herd of zebra and a few gazelle. On arrival at NTC we were greeted with an extremely warm welcome from the very friendly staff and a refreshing glass of lime juice.

Our bags had already arrived at our gorgeously eco-chic tent. Lights are solar powered, and torches are provided next to the bed (which was hugely comfortable). Also next to the bed were fluffy sheepskin rugs, a luxurious feeling. At nights the panels of the tent were zipped and the bed carefully turned down. Each tent is complete with shower cubicle, basin and flushing loo. When showers were required hot water was carried up to the tent and poured into the overhead shower unit.

Both nights we spent very enjoyably sitting round a campfire listening to the noises of the nightlife, watching sparks drift into the night sky, drinking good wine. Supper was served in the dining tent, long polished tables with director’s chairs decadently smothered in sheepskin, warm and comfortable. The food was utterly delicious, the chef created three course meals of an astonishingly high quality given only a coal-fired oven. A beautiful carrot and ginger soup with fluffy bread rolls to start. The main course consisted of creamy mashed potato, vegetables and perfectly pink lamb. For pudding a truly light and zingy mint and lime mousse.

We enjoyed a game drive in the morning with camp manager Will who is unbelievably knowledgeable about flora and fauna of the locality. During our stay at NTC we spotted a wide variety of wildlife…too many to mention. We also had time to visit the nearby Sheldon elephant nursery and a giraffe sanctuary, both were fantastic experiences and if there’s time well worth a visit.

If you’re looking for a quick safari experience or prefer the great outdoors to a soulless hotel room then this is the place to stay and we couldn’t recommend it highly enough. It finished our trip to Kenya in the best way possible.

N.B. We booked our trip to Kenya though Westminster Safaris. The itinerary was tailored to suit us, which it did, and we would definitely use them again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebe_Mc_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2010

My organisation held their annual management meeting at Nairobi Tented Camp, and it turned out to be the perfect venue for us.

The fantastic staff helped to make the two days run very smoothly, working very hard to accomodate our many demands!

The foodsurpassed all of our expectations. There is a great variety of fresh homemade dishes and baked delights. We were all in agreement that the chef desereved a round of applause at the end of our stay.

The tents are exceedingly comfortable. It was endearing to find a little hot water bottle in my bed as I got in. I can honestly say that I had the best nights sleep there. I wasn't even woken by the lions roaing in the early hours.

All in all Nairobi Tented Camp is a great venue for a conference. It provides peace and tranquility to really get down to some business, with the occasional distraction of a family of warthogs walking by. I would thoroughly recommend Nairobi Tented Camp, for business and pleasure!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PippaFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

A wonderful concept and superlatively executed. A true "safari" camp within minutes of "down town Nairobi". Comfortable safari living literally on the doorstep of Nairobi. A great way to start or finish a safari.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flawrence, Manager at Nairobi Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2011

Thank you for your kind review, it was great to have you to stay in the camp and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to Nairobi Tented Camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We Live in Nairobi and needed a convenient get away from the city for a night. NTC proved to be the perfect combination. Close to the city, but very cleverly located in a tranquil forest in the Nairobi game park that we could have been 200miles from the city. The camp is beautifully done and the luxury tents are exactly that. It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience, from food, to the staff to the accommodation. I would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of going there!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiranJethwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We live in Nairobi and my husbands company booked the new Nairobi Tented Camp for an early Christmas dinner with the option to spend the night. With two young kids we decided to spend the night rather than brave the roads at night. We were not disappointed. After a fantastic sundowner on a hill overlooking the national park, we retreated back to camp where there was an amazing fire and our luxurious tents waiting for us. The tents have been decorated in modern style, with solar lights and comfy cosy double beds with ensuite bathrooms. After finally settling the kids as they were on "safari excitement mode" we settled down to a delicious three course dinner.

The next morning after being in the bush for the night and hearing hyena calling and I am convinced a lion or two, we headed back into town through the park to take the kids to school. This twenty minute drive to school was the best school run ever. We may permanently move in!!!...

Thank you Willy and Guy for your hospitality, We have already discussed when we will be back and have recommended it highly to our "city" friends for a night out doing something wild in Nairobi!!..

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabelpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We had a wonderful day trip to Nairobi tented camp complete with a luxurious lunch and absolutely excellent service. On the grounds right around the camp we saw unique vegetation and it was amazing to feel in the middle of complete wilderness whlie being so close to the city, This is the perfect accomodation for anyone looking for excellent service with chique, eco-friendly accomodations. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielaraik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

I can't speak highly enough of the new Nairobi Tented Camp in Nairobi National Park. I had just come in from an incredible 2 week safari around Kenya and was sad to be returning to city life. To delay the inevitable as long as possible I decided to avoid staying at a hotel and spend my final night in the bush instead. The camp was fantastic, great showers, incredibly comfortable beds and delicious food - but the highlight was sitting around the campfire with good company listening to Robin's wonderful music and singing. It is definitely the perfect way to start or finish your trip, the camp is conveniently close to the airport but somehow manages to feel worlds away.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank Alice0027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,297 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
521 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#18 of 169 in Nairobi
1,347 reviews
6.0 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#16 of 169 in Nairobi
1,047 reviews
6.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 284 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Hotel Class:3 star — Nairobi Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing