We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian food I've had for a long time”

Open House Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 544 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: At Open House Restaurants, we believe that Fine Indian Cuisine comes from a delicate balance of succulent food, authentic ambiance and personalised service. So when you walk into our doors, be ready to experience a connucopia of indian flavours, whilst being transported into our traditionally set surroundings. Feel free to enquire about your taste preference or take suggestion from our experienced staff. Enjoy!
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Indian food I've had for a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Very normal decor, nothing to suggest that what you are going to eat is going to be so brilliant. Attentive staff, good value and a fantastic place to eat.

Hidden in the Karen Crosroads shopping centre, on the first floor. Can't wait to return. The Chilli Beef and Chilli Paneer were our favourite dishes.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa1428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    183
    30
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good quality Indian, hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

When you find Open House (hidden at the back of Centro House in what appears to be a mere door in the wall, in an alley, under a sign) you won't be disappointed. Chilli paneer, garlic prawns and aubergine curry are all winners. We were taken here for dinner by Nairobites who have been coming here for years.

In a city with lots of Indian to offer, this restaurant is among the best.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZimKait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Beer and Kebabs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Closes at 10.30...u gottaaa be kidding me
the kebab were ok and there is a good selection of indian food

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank rohit_pitre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I think we've eaten at Open House at least 50 times. The food is really good, the atmosphere is local down-home cooking, the clientele is varied, but always includes many Asians, and its good value for money.

Our favorites include Chili Paneer, the chef's special Ginger Fried Prawns, Tawa chicken, Goan Prawn Curry, and Reshmi Paneer, with garlic Naan. A really good meal, really cold beer, good service, and what is that stuff in the little bowl by the door that everyone chews to give a fresh taste to their mouth on the way out? It's great!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank onowhereman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great authentic Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Thing Is we have driven by this restaurant many times in the past and never thought much about it. A friend suggested we meet him there, the ambience was pretty basic, the service was abit slow , possibly because it was a busy night but once the food came all else was forgotten. The food was amazing, not as creamy or as greasy as other Indian restaurants in the area. In particular the mutton methi, the Nan and biryani dishes. All in all the tastiest Indian food I have had in a long time. Tip best make a reservation.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PAULINE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Open House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Open House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing