We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Delightful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Open House Restaurant

Open House Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 538 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: At Open House Restaurants, we believe that Fine Indian Cuisine comes from a delicate balance of succulent food, authentic ambiance and personalised service. So when you walk into our doors, be ready to experience a connucopia of indian flavours, whilst being transported into our traditionally set surroundings. Feel free to enquire about your taste preference or take suggestion from our experienced staff. Enjoy!
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A Delightful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had our dinner at their Westlands branch on Nov 11. After having to a large number of Indian restaurants, from the world’s famous Bukhara in New Delhi, India, to Michelin starred Amaya in London, I am glad to say that as far as food - particularly gravies /curries - is concerned, Open House in Nairobi must be one of the best Indian restaurants in the world. Amazing.

Remember, I am not the one who gets impressed that easily, it takes a lot before I use superlatives.

If you like Indian food, and if you are in Nairobi, don’t miss this place. It‘s a treat, it’s an experience – a delightful experience. The owner and manager Mr. Anil is around to guide you. Ask him if you are not sure what to order.

On top of it, very good and attentive service. Value for money, in all regards.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeanTourist201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boodha85, Guest Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi EuropeanTourist201,
Its an amazing feeling to know that we have brought such satisfaction to a patron. I will make sure to show your review to Mr. Anil and the staff so that they can all also experience the elation I felt reading it.
Kindest Regards,
v
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    179
    29
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Amazing Indian food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Don't be fooled by the obscure alley - this place is absolutely brilliant and you will smell it as soon as you open their door. Good service, spacious tables, but most importantly: lovely, lovely food. The appetizer of prawns with deep-fried (?) spiced ginger is simply amazing. Yum.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the best Indian Restaurants in Kenya!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Went to Open house for a family meal. Service was quick and efficient, food was even better (chilli paneer is a must have!), ambience is very good although can be a bit dark and the entrance needs a bit of work. Value for money is good too, not too expensive considering the quality of food and decor. Definately a must visit for anyone looking for good indian food in Nairobi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

very very good food - the chilly paneer and the reshmi paneer are a must have

service is very personalized and efficient

portions are big and price very reasonable

you need to book to get a table esp in evenings

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank St123454321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newdelhi india
Level Contributor
809 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 766 helpful votes
“BEST INDIAN RESTAURANT FOR MONEY IN EAST AFRICA!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Open House is located at the Nakummatti crossing road opposite the Westlands mall.The entrance is not impressive from the front but through a side alley.It was the Indian independence day & expecting a big crowd,i had booked my table for 2 in advance.I was met & greeted by Mr. Matthew who is the jt. owner of this restaurant along with Anil.

After entering i turned left & hit the Bar.Met some fine people & swapped travel stories with fellow travelers.Their `In house ` wine is good & recommend especially the white one.I liked the informal atmosphere & con.exchanges as compared to the more formal`Haandi Restaurant just across the road in westlands mall which does not have an independent bar room.

The reserved tables are on the first floor & was guided to my table by a waiter.All the tables on the ground & first floor were filled up mostly with local & Indians from all over the world with a sprinkling of other western foreigners.The atmosphere was relaxed & chatty.For starters we ordered ginger fried prawns.The order came fast & well prepared.Next was Tandoori fish Tikka & Goan Fish curry both very good.Last we had their much acclaimed Boneless mutton Biryani which was excellent in taste & aroma.For Dessert we had some good Kulfi. For the excellent food & friendly informal ambience the bill was really value for money.The only drawback was the small toilet which was only on the first floor which appeared as a temporary wooden partition in the small corner used by all customers in the bar,first & 2nd floor.

We will return & highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MARGDARSHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Open House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Open House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing