We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian food.”

Open House Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 657 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At Open House Restaurants, we believe that Fine Indian Cuisine comes from a delicate balance of succulent food, authentic ambiance and personalised service. So when you walk into our doors, be ready to experience a connucopia of indian flavours, whilst being transported into our traditionally set surroundings. Feel free to enquire about your taste preference or take suggestion from our experienced staff. Enjoy!
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Even do the installations, decor and atmosphere of the restaurant are average, the service and excellent quality and diversity of the dishes make up for that. I dined here with friends and tried from all plates and no complaints, everything was just delicious.

Thank Froilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal P, Guest Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi Froilo,
We are happy you enjoyed the quality of food across the wide range of choices we had for you that day. Try our Karen branch for a more authentic decor.
rgds,
VP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 397 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great Food , Excellent Service.

Tried their Chicken Lollipop, Chilly Paneer & Kheema Mutter as good as ever

Managed by legendary Fredrick the best Restaurant Manager i have ever come across .

Keep it up.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Omprakash R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal P, Guest Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi Omprakash,
I'm sure you've tried the lolipop special right? ...and yes...Fred is great and I'll pass on your message.
rgds,
VP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Another great place in Karen... Situation is great and service always the bests they do a take away which often the best way to do things at lunch when the traffic gets the better of us all!! Staff always friendly. The food always good....

Thank skvarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal P, Guest Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

It alway good to hear praise for Open House...and to realise we're making someones life easier is a bonus. Thank you,
VP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I make a point of going to this restaurant at least once on every trip to Nairobi. The curries are always very good and you can be assured it will taste the same as the last time you ate there. Prices are reasonable and service attentive.

Thank GabrielaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal P, Guest Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi Gabriella,
Thank you for the wonderful review...travel well and see you back soon.
rgds,
VP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Been coming here often for years in the past but it had been at least a year since my last visit. Visited for Sunday lunch and the place was very busy but the service was still very good.

Starters - Very good: papads, masala papads, murg malai tikka, fish tikka, chilli paneer. All very good.

Mains - the nonveg : chicken dahiwala, mutton rogan were good but the vegetarian corn palak (special order) and dhal maharani were not. The chef somehow managed to put triple the amount of garlic and it was very difficult to palate.......

The accompaniments buttered naan, cheese naan and roomali roti were all very well prepared and served piping hot.

We asked for a side of plain yoghurt for the kids and were surprised to see a significant extra charge for this - not normal for Indian restaurants.

Note: Prices do NOT include VAT so menu prices are not what you pay, there is an extra approx 17% charge to pay on top of the menu prices.

All in all it was GOOD but not excellent. It has been excellent in the past.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zippy_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal P, Guest Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hi Zippy,

Thank you for your review. It is unusual that you were charged for the yogurt on the side for the children - it was not a specific order of raita and so I request you mention this the next time you visit so that we have the opportunity to treat you for our error. As for the prices, it is common practice to indicate VAT and other taxes, which we do on every page of our menu, I'm sure you would agree that Open House is still better value for money that our competitors.
Kind regards,
VP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Open House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Open House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing