We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top top value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Open House Restaurant

Open House Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 538 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: At Open House Restaurants, we believe that Fine Indian Cuisine comes from a delicate balance of succulent food, authentic ambiance and personalised service. So when you walk into our doors, be ready to experience a connucopia of indian flavours, whilst being transported into our traditionally set surroundings. Feel free to enquire about your taste preference or take suggestion from our experienced staff. Enjoy!
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Top top value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Unbelievable value for what looks like a very basic restaurant, we has a take out and enjoyed at home rather than in the basic setting of the restaurant

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boodha85, Public Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Hi David and thank you for the compliments.

Did you know that we have several delivery service contacts that you could use to bring your order home for you? Give us a call.

rgds,
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    179
    29
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Solid Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stopped here on a Monday night for dinner, and the place was half full, which we took as a good sign. Between the 4 of us, we ordered the eggplant, the mutton (I forgot which one, the most popular apparently), spinach, and chicken tikka curry, with a basket of garlic naan. All in all, a solid meal. The mutton was unmemorable and even a little too chewy. The chicken tikka and spinach were crowd pleasers. The real winner of the night, however, was the eggplant. Deliciously cooked and incredibly flavorful, that was the only dish that we wiped clean with our naan and spoons. Service was pretty quick and friendly. Would definitely come again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boodha85, Public Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Hi Christine,

Thank you for a wonderful review. We will make a note of the mutton - it usually melts in your mouth. Try our chicken makhanwalla on your next visit.

Kind regards,
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
217 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Open house has never seized to disappoint as the food is of good quality and if one wants a wholesome Indian curry, this is the place to dine. The service is friendly and the atmosphere is okay.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank smatlock10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boodha85, Guest Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We appreciate your review and hope that you'll be back soon.
rgds,
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
266 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing Curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The curry was really, really good. Five of us shared various curries, breads and rice dishes and everything was fantastic. Not too fatty and the medium heat we went for was pretty tame. Not too expensive either. The service was good as well. The area just outside the restaurant looks a bit shaky - dark and some street kids hanging around which was a bit concerning when we pulled up.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T-Africa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boodha85, Guest Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi,
You could perhaps order a turbo nan to spice things up in case you find you've ordered a spice level too low. We usually have security out front and we ensure that they are more vigilant.
have a great day,
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best of breed Indian but inconsistent and decidedly average service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Venue
While I have been going to this restaurant's two venues for years, the Westlands venue is 5 minutes from home so I tend to frequent it more. It is decidedly drab with typical curry house decor. The exterior looks like a jailhouse entrance so clearly no effort is made on decor. The Karen venue is much more attractive.
Food
Typical of most Indian restaurants, the starters are much better than the main courses. Open House is the same but has a fantastic selection of starters, particularly their signature fried ginger dishes. The malai chicken is consistently tender and succulent. The ginger chicken wings are always crispy, spicy and gingery. The masala papadums are lovely but inconsistent with often soggy pappadums or inconsistent mix of tomatoes, onions & the chaat masala that make it special. The vegetarian selections are great but also somewhat inconsistent across and within the restaurants. The fish tikka masala and the lamb was particularly good today. The naans here are always top notch but the secret is to order one at a time so they come hot & fresh while eating.
Service
Typically average service with inattentiveness that characterises most Nairobi restaurants.
Overall
Given the drop in standard of other legendary Indian restaurants in Nairobi, Open House still ranks as my top Indian choice in Nairobi.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MADHUR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boodha85, Guest Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Madhur,
Its not often we get such great insight into our quality, service and customer expectations. Thank you and we hope that you may notice a difference over time.
Kind regards,
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Open House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Open House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing