We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Maghreb

Cafe Maghreb
Ranked #198 of 538 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth it!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

I had Christmas Eve dinner with my husband last night and I was very disappointed. The wine list to start was wrong as it had Calatteri wine stated as origin S.A while it actually is from Chile. The bread was stale. I asked for fresh bread and I was presented with the same bread basket. My starter of prawn was bland. My main course of grilled Angus beef - had two pieces one piece was edible the next was horrid and tasted off. I complained and all I got from Jonathan M was an apology and an admission that they tasted the piece of meat and while they claim it was not gone off the marination was not right.

It was not the experience we were expecting for ksh12,000. I'm not rushing back and I'd not recommend it either.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wangui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Luberon, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very agreeable set up, average food, service to be improved”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I will certainly in not share many of the enthusiastic opinions hereunder.

First the set up next to the Serena hotel swimming pool is very agreeable but absolutely, strictly nothing to do with the picture shown by trip advisor (even the name of the restaurant on the picture is different!)

At all meals you have both buffets and à la carte possibilities. The choice at the buffets are large but I would say that the food is no better than average, the best of the 3 meals certainly being breakfasts. It's a bit better à la carte but nothing to talk home about.

There is certainly enough staff but on the contrary of the hotel or the luxury restaurant upstairs, the staff is very little attentive to the clients which is a shame specially considering that the place is not cheap.

Wines on the wine list are badly chosen, badly presented with even a certain number of mistakes all of which are not acceptable in the best hotel in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luberon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, OKlahoma, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Nairobi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We ate every meal at the Cafe Maghreb while we were in Nairobi, and were never disappointed, either by the quality and taste of the food offered, or by the service --- both of which were absolutely outstanding. We were so impressed by the food on the buffet, for example, that we spoke to Lawrence, the Restaurant's Manager, and told him how much we were enjoying eating there. He brought the Executive Chef, Roy Kinyua, to our table, so that we could tell him this in person! We have eaten in many fine restaurants around the world, but none has made such a deep and lasting impression on us as the Cafe Maghreb, with its stellar service, magnificent buffet presentation, and truly outstanding menu. Don't miss it next time you're in Nairobi! It's in the Nairobi Serena Hotel, right in the heart of town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mjo22000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qatar
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice food but what's wrong with this picture?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Cafe Maghreb that I know is in Serena Hotel, Nairobi and doesn't look at all like the picture here (which is of Nairobi Java House). Dear Trip Advisor Admin, please remove this image of Java house to avoid ambiguity. Coming back to my review, its a very nice place but very expensive by all means and standards, hence 3 stars only.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shahzad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

We had excellent breakfast everyday and had dinner on several nights. the seafood special"Mombasa night' was great. The swahili night or the grilled meat extravaganza one night was superb.
Enjoyed the very friendly staff and service.
I preferred this place than the formal Mandhari upstairs.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank diaden2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Maghreb also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Cafe Maghreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing