We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kahama lives up to its motto "economy with style"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #11 of 255 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kahama lives up to its motto "economy with style"”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Kahama is a great little hotel in the heart of Nairobi. We spent two nights there and were impressed by the quality of the room and the friendly service. The breakfasts (included in the room price) were tasty and generous. We had dinner at the hotel on both nights and enjoyed good food on both occasions. We were warned to request a room on the side of the hotel away from the busy highway which we did, and found this to be very quiet. The hotel decor is very welcoming, too. I would highly recommend this little oasis in the chaotic city of Nairobi.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back on the other side of the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    61
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
13
47
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Great hotel, cheap prices, slightly noisy but not too much. The rooms are clean, confortable, with TV and clean bathrooms. The food is good. There is a restaurant and a bar downstair. Friendly staff. Only critic : I was on the second floor and the internet network was not good in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shougie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A very pleasant stay for a lovely price in this very kindly hotel. Very quiet situated in the chaotic city Nairobi. We have had a few lovely days in this hotel. There is a very busy road on the frontside but this is not a problem. Make therefor a reservation at the backside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back side of the hotel because there is a very busy road in front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Kahama is pretty decent hotel. I stayed there for 3 nights and they make sure everything is clean and tidy and also they provide u with mosquito net which is pretty helpful. The staff is very polite and kind, I pretty much recommend this place to anyone who is planning to stay in nairobi.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hafeez143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Kahama is truly a special place. My husband and I stayed there in August and we could not have been happier with our experience at the guesthouse. The staff were very friendly, attentive and flexible. The rooms were clean and pleasant and the food was reasonably priced and tasty - even the complimentary breakfast was good, which is a real rarity in travellers' guesthouses. At first, we were put off by the fact the guesthouse is right next to a busy main road, but you really don't notice it when you're on the inside. An oasis of peace in downtown Nairobi, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham_and_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at Kahama while we were in Nairobi. The low cost of the hotel does not reflect the quality. Their staff was very attentive and worked to meet our every need. The room was a good size, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was a great room to relax/sleep-in and watch some TV. The price included breakfast, which was more than ample, and there was free wi-fi in the lobby. There was also a bar/restaurant which served reasonably priced ice cold Tuskers (amongst other beers). We did have dinner there one night and it was good and fairly priced. The driver (Josephat) that they sent to pick us up at the airport was very helpful and his prices were reasonable (especially after we heard the prices some of the chain hotels were charging). The only downside is that they are not right in the city center, but it is about a half of a mile walk and the National History Museum is also a half miles walk away. My husband and I walked to both the museum and the city center and, other than some hairy traffic crossings, we had no problems.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aholla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Hidden behind an uninspiring facade, this hotel and it's staff were a real find, great value for money. Clean and inexpensive rooms, free Wi-Fi, a decent breakfast included, and all with a smile. We stayed here on two separate occasions and I'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salbie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Progressive Park Hotel
#31 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#62 of 164 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#88 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahama Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Property: Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Address: Murang'a Road | P.O. Box 33003, Nairobi 00600, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahama Hotel Nairobi 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's best kept secret can now be revealed. Kahama Hotel Nairobi next to the Globe roundabout is Nairobi's answer to a 2-star hotel with the comforts of a 3-star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Kahama Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing