We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNRELIABLE AND DISAPPOINTING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nairobi Airport Stop Over House
Ranked #98 of 284 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Knowing that my aircraft was arriving at 02.25 in the morning in Nairobi and I would need a bed for a few hours. I wanted somewhere near the airport and found the Nairobi Stopover House in a search of the web. It was cheap, I could get a single room en-suite and it’s website stated that is it is a ten minute drive from the airport.

I made the booking and was told that it would cost 35 USD and 18 USD for a taxi. I only needed a taxi one way since I had arranged my own pick-up to visit an orphanage on the outskirts of the city.

On arrival I picked up my luggage and was met by my taxi driver and taken on a journey that would take much longer than ten minutes during normal travel times but at three in the morning the road was clear. We turned left off the Mombasa Road into a maze of small streets in a rather rundown area and eventually I arrived at my destination at 03.15, tired and weary having travelled from around 06.30 the previous morning from my home in Ireland.

The reception area was unimpressive and did nothing to inspire confidence. But worse was to come when the receptionist announced that they did not have a room for me but I could get a room in a guest house around the corner. I was told to leave my two main bags at the Stopover House and come back there next morning for breakfast.

I was accompanied to the Mariakani villa, a few minutes’ walk away and I arrived in an equally unimpressive reception area. I was shown to a basic room on the third floor and no mosquito net. When I lay down on top of the bed and turned the light out I realised from the buzzing sounds that I was not alone! I had to contact reception and ask for an insect spray before contemplating sleep. Following a restless few hours’ sleep I got up and walked around to the Stopover House and met my prearranged driver that I have got to know well on my previous three visits to Nairobi.

We had breakfast together and he could not help wondering how I ended up in this place. The breakfast was basic with little choice but the coffee was good. I paid my bill and we left and because of its location we spent ages before we could get out to the main thoroughfare because of traffic jams that is a feature of Nairobi life. A journey to the airport would have taken one hour plus at any time from 7 to 10 in the morning which belies the ten minute drive.

Following my stay I sent an email to Zipporah, the reservations manager and here is her reply, as received, ‘Hello Irvine, yes i remember we had no room since there was a guest who decided to stay longer and occupied your room. All in all, i trust all was well though you cancelled your taxi back to the aiport the next morning the last morning which was a little inconvenience to us.’ Since I had only asked for a taxi from the airport I am not sure how I had inconvenienced them by not taking a taxi back to the airport.

The Stopover House seems to lack any organisation and has proved to me that it is unreliable. More importantly the area has little to recommend it.

Next time in Nairobi I will let my reliable taxi driver recommend a place to stay and take me there as he has done a few times before. Geoffrey is available on 00254703114172.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irvine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Before deciding to stay in this stopover house, we (group of 6 adults and 3 kids) were contemplating to either sleeping in Nairobi Jomo Kenyatta airport or to choose this house. It is because we will arrive at Nairobi airport around 2 am and will start our safari trip at 8 am the same day.
However, after discussing further among ourselves, we decided to stay at this house, and IT WAS A GOOD DECISION as there are no proper place to sleep at the Nairobi airport.
Ms. Zipporah, the reservation manager, was very helpful and always respond to my numerous e-mail. If not instantly, her reply will not be later than 24 hours from the time e-mail was sent to her.
Upon arriving, we were greeted by one Ms. Grace who was very helpful and tried her best to accommodate our need. She even gave us a wake-up call at 6 am, even though I would assume she had her sleep after 3 am (after we have settled in).
In my earlier e-mail I have also requested Ms. Zipporah if she could provide us with halal food since our entourage are all Muslim. She surprised us by preparing us with halal sausages (which I've checked are available in Nairobi, but one have to search and ask around) which we've finished as as soon as we can to know about this. (Initially we thought that it was non-halal, but Ms.Zipporah assured us that she have requested the shop to provide her with halal sausages).
Even though our stop was a short one, we were truly grateful of their good service and their effort in catering with our needs.
The only setback that we have is the low water pressure (Ms. Zipporah said that the water pump was malfunction, hence the water cannot fill the roof tank. She said she will get the thing fixed). The surrounding is quite noisy in the morning due to its location near the main road, but not to the extent that it would wake you up from your precious sleep.
Other than that, it is a good option for transit and stopover purpose.
Just make sure you give your taxi driver the full address of the house, if you did not arrange beforehand for an airport transfer with the house.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isbawandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

On our way to Safari trip in Kenya we transit at this place as we arrived early in the morning so thought of take a nap and refresh ourselves before continue our long hours journey. with 6 adults and 3 kids we decided to take up the dormitory by paying approx USD26/pax including breakfast.
They suggested the family with kids to take separate rooms to avoid congested. the room are quite ok it just that the water pressure for that day was not ok due to water pump problem.
they served simple breakfast i.e: toast bread, jam, butter, omelette, and halal sausage as per our request, coffee, tea and juices.
Overall it's a nice place for the price you pay and if you plan for a transit in Nairobi. the only setback is the location as it located in the middle hometown area, guarded and gated so you have to ensure the driver knows the area and road name because no signboard from outside guard house.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EasTLiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at Nairobi Airport Stop Over House for two nights in Nov. 2013. The pick-up and drop-off worked well and the hosts were very kind. The rooms we had were tidy and clean. It fullfilled all our good expectations and we look forward in coming back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We were booked for 3 stays at this "HOSTEL" and after giving it a second chance, cancelled the 3rd. stay. Rooms are bad...bathrooms are worse!!! Only consolation was some of the staff were helpful. It is situated in a pretty rough part of Nairobi, hense the gated area and compound. Also not as close to the airport as we were lead to believe..
Avoid if you can!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We found them on internet, and initial contact was made by e-mail pretty fast. It was good and we managed to arange several safaris and they planed us hole trip for 3 weeks, even booked us a bus to Tanzania. Friendly and really helpful staff. Postition is pretty near the airport, and if you want to go to down town Nairobi it will take you 30 min of walking or few min by bus(if it's not jammed, and always is). There is great mall 300m from house so it's really easy to buy anything you need. If you are not accustomed trafic could be small problem for sleeping because you are 20 m from the main road to town but it's not that big issue.
After everything we've seen I think this is typical African over night(or few) accommodation with really friendly staff and great terrace on 1st floor(excelente for few beers). If you need anything arranged just ask the staff and they'll organize it for you. Do not expect european standards in anything in Africa(from accomodation to internet, eletricity, showers, etc.), if you are OK with that than this is really good place for couple of nights.

Room Tip: Ask for room with toilet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Granamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Located in a gated neighborhood and a gated compound, saftey is not a concern. I was greeted by a lady who was very nice. My room was large, 2 double beds, with a private bath that was actually an enclosed porch but the room and bath were clean. I arrived about 6 PM and it was like an oven in the room and there was no fan nor did the staff have a portable fan. I had a 3 am flight out of Nairobi and had to be up at 12:30 am so I needed to get some sleep but that was almost impossible with the noisy street out the window and the highway noise just a block away. My stay was part of a package so I don't know what it cost but I would try to find a more quiet place with at least a fan the next time I need a temporary place in Nairobi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
7.9 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#42 of 169 in Nairobi
232 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Lazizi Premiere
The Lazizi Premiere
#30 of 169 in Nairobi
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saab Royale Hotel
Saab Royale Hotel
#32 of 169 in Nairobi
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
JKIA Airport Hotel
JKIA Airport Hotel
#126 of 169 in Nairobi
6 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
666 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#13 of 169 in Nairobi
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Airport Stop Over House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Airport Stop Over House

Address: Oluvimu Road | P.O Box 16173, Nairobi, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 284 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range: £9 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a mid range Bed and breakfast guest house located very near the Nairobi Jomo Kenyatta airport and Wilson airport. We are less than 10minutes from any of the airport. Our guest house guarantees personal attention for it is small with a capacity of 20 guests per night. Our 5 bedrooms are either in single, double, triple and we have a family room with 1 big bed and 2 small beds. Some rooms are with private bathrooms and others in shared bathrooms. Cleanliness, security, serenity and affordability have made our guests come back again and again. With the ideal location, visitors arriving or departing late in the night or early morning have always found our place very ideal. It is also a great location for guests on transit to Tanzania since the shuttle buses to Tanzania pick guests from our house on the way without having to go to the city center to board. We have business connections with shuttle buses like Davanu shuttle, Marangu shuttles Jamii shuttle, Riverside shuttle, Impala shuttle, Destination and rainbow among others. For those on long hours of waiting to connect a flight, we offer great deals on day room either as a package with pick up and drop off the airport and lunch or just on accommodation only. We are a great place to meet other young travelers and the "young at heart", backpackers and mid range travelers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing