We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The home of the Crocs!”

Nairobi Mamba Village
Ranked #15 of 121 things to do in Nairobi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: East Africa’s largest crocodile farm.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The home of the Crocs!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

The home of the crocodiles, Mamba village has got over 30 of these scaly, scary reptiles! You enter the village where Maasais greet you with their extremely high jumps. Although you burn a hole in your pocket at the ticket counter, the tour is worth it! The guides are enthusiastic and have their own fearless way with the crococdiles. They brief you about each of them. The best part is when they hand you a baby crocodile! That was the thrill of my life! Extremely soft at the bottom and hard as a rock at the top. Later, we approach the turtle cage where there were turtles upto 40 kgs! For kids there is a huge play area where all sorts of rides were there. Further around you see an ostrich pen where 3 ostriches live. Mamba village is the place where you can see three major African animals and get all excited about it! Mamba village is truly a must if you happen to visit Kenya!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Divya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    99
    87
    32
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing day out!! ”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We loved it here, staff are lovely, the grounds are beautiful too. We got the opportunity to hold a crocodile which is a once in a lifetime activity. Please remember to tip your guide well as they do rely on tips. The gentleman we had was very knowledgable, interacted well with us all and tailored the walk to our needs.

Fantastic!

Helpful?
Thank Jemima89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“hold a baby croc ....”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

one gets to be very close with the crocs. Contrary to earlier reviews we found the crocs to be well kept and the place well maintained. The treat was when we were given a baby croc to touch, feel, hold and carry. There are also turtles in the area. We were well informed by the warden/ keeper (forgot his name) and he was indeed helpful - see pix. We learnt a lot abt crocs from him.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bhupinder2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“.......and a fun Sunday afternoon”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

After leaving the Giraffe Centre, travel just a short distance to Mamba Village. There is a huge indoor restaurant area, plus a huge garden area with plenty of seating. Sunday is best because there is a buffet on offer, and although we did not partake of the buffet, I had a look. The food looked fresh and inviting with so much to choose from - meat, fish, pasta, vegetables, rice the list is endless. We managed to find an empty table - no need to book, and chose our lunch from the ordinary menu. The fish was superb. There is no hurry to leave, even though more and more customers arrive wanting to sit outside. They are patient and wait for an empty table. By the time we left to wander around the attractions, I could not see an empty table outside and inside was beginning to fill up. This might have had something to do with the fact that it was Easter Sunday, but the buffet is on offer every Sunday. The attractions are mainly for children - horse rides, face painting, boat rides, a carousel, ice cream, candy floss, ostriches.........and then go see the crocodiles being fed. This takes place at 4:30pm every Sunday. The keepers are fearless! A small crocodile can be held, quite interesting, the skin is softer than imagined. There is a small fee to watch this event but the rest is free!! We enjoyed every minute of our day and we are in our sixties!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerhaven, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Snakes and more”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you like this kind of animals, you must go there. You will see alot of them, also Crocodiles. Take your time there and enjoy your stay.
Its nice, but not a must

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank afrika16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Nairobi Mamba Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing