We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Smart Village

The Smart Village
Ranked #241 of 544 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Smart village is by far not as atmospheric as Sabrina's but the food, service and authenticity are just so much better. Moreover, their injeera is not from plain rice flour as is in Sabrina's, but half half teff-rice, making it much more tasty. The surrounding is a little parking-like, but the coffee and food more than make up for it. Hidden gem, worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Jana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Ethiopian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We went to Smart Village for lunch It was my third visit and I liked it as usual
Ordered a plate with a variety of Wat (stew) and extra injeras. My favorite is Shiro which I have to order aside from the platter. It is great with the injeras! The price is reasonable and the service is okay... Their food always meets a good standard and does not disappoint you.
There are also outside tables so you can order fresh juices (recommend the avocado juice!) and chat for a while...
All in all, it is always pleasant experience in the Smart Village

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Good Ethiopian restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We went to Smart Village for lunch.... It was my third visit and I liked it as usual... Ordered a plate with a variety of Wat (stew) and extra injeras. My favorite is Shiro which I have to order aside from the platter. It is great with the injeras! The price is reasonable and the service is okay... Thier food always meets a good standard and does not disappoint you.
There are also outside tables so you can order fresh juices (recommend the avocado juice!) and chat for a while...
All in all, it is always pleasant experience in the Smart Village.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food but they I don't think they use credit cards in Eritrea”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Great food but they don't have a credit card machine, so had to spend an unnecessary 400 shillings to get a taxi and run to to an ATM and get cash to pay them. I hope the restaurant can move into the 21st century and have card machines oir stop lying that their machine is "not working".

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Ethopian cuisine and African dishes too!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This has been my favorite Ethiopian restaurant since 2009. The first time I visited the place I became addicted. They make their Ethiopian dishes very well as compared to other restaurants that offer the same type of food. Unlike other Ethiopian restaurants, Smart Village does not focus on Ethiopian food only. They have a variety of food, from goat meat to chicken: roast, fry: name it they do have choices. I once held my birthday party in 2009 and the variety of food offered was amazing. They also have three main venues, the main restaurant, the outside restaurant and the building that has private rooms (mostly for private parties) , all in one place. So you have the option of where to sit depending on the occasion or the people you are with. All in all Smart Village is a lovely place to go with friends to enjoy that lovely meal, be it Ethiopian or any other dish.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudithMbogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smart Village also viewed

 

Been to The Smart Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing