We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Ranked #10 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Business stay”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The Mayfair is close to business centres and other restaurants. The rooms are basic and comfortable . Pillows on the beds are great. Toiletries are provided. Internet in the rooms is very good. The service in the restaurant is really bad. Staff etc are very friendly

Room Tip: If you want. Quiet night ask for a room not overlooking the pool. Although not a malaria area there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    371
    96
    34
    6
See reviews for
115
175
55
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a charming place – I understand to be converted from an old college. The buildings are very attractive and there are some beautiful trees, water features and gardens.
The service is generally excellent and when we did have a complaint the management dealt with it very effectively and demonstrated that they really care about customer satisfaction.
The rooms are comfortable and have not been over- modernised, retaining their charm.
The food is excellent. The buffet by the pool is delicious. Breakfast has much variety.
The reception team are very efficient.
You are paying for high standards and this place delivers.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room with door onto patio but avoid corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A beautiful hotel with great service. Rooms are nice with some great views of the greenery.Breakfast is good, could be better. Dining options are also good specially the Steakhouse. Liked my stay and will come again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank AffanBajwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We chose this hotel to spend a day before going on a safari. We felt welcomed, the hotel's staff and atmosphere were amazing so that we really enjoyed our stay there. Especially notable: we could have the room at 8 a.m. already!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank KAweilWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at this excellent hotel . .We very much appreciated the very beautiful gardens and layout of the hotel ---- somewhat colonial in style . The restaurant was excellent and the breakfasts were the best we experienced throughout our 3 week holiday in Africa .The best feature , however , was the amazing friendliness of the entire staff and the exceptional service. We intend to return in the future to Nairobi and would certainly chose the Mayfair again .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Vivian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed very briefly in 2005 and was impressed. Was interested to see how the new ownership had changed things. Lovely colonial setting in Parklands, very peaceful (except for birds in the gardens). Rooms could do with updating but my bathroom appeared to be new. Great service - they were kind enough to pack me up a breakfast because I was leaving exceptionally early and thus was going to miss it. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LukeAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night en route to the Masai Mara. Very pleasant hotel to stay at. The rooms are a good size and very clean. The gardens are beautiful and the grounds are very well kept.
There is a Spur steakhouse in the hotel which makes it very convenient to grab something to eat if you are only saying 1 night.

The breakfast buffet is very good with a large variety of dishes.

Staff at the hotel are very friendly.

Quick transfer time of approx. 15-20 minutes to Wilson airport which is the airport you fly out of if you are flying to the Game areas of East Africa

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the magnificent gardens. Rooms in the Man building close to Reception can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.2 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.5 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Property: Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing