We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming colonial establishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Ranked #10 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Charming colonial establishment”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very quiet and serene compound, decent rooms with comfortable if not a bit dated amenities. The hotel is an old colonial collection of structures in a well maintained compound which is charming, but the rooms deserve a bit of a face-lift. Breakfast was among the best anywhere, with a wide array of super delicious treats. Staff very polite and helpful. Within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Need a taxi to go downtown though.

Internet was not much to sing about, slow and unreliable. TV was small with not many channels for the hotel class.

Verdict: great for a good night sleep & vacation, not so if you need to do a bit of work in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsafiriTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    371
    96
    34
    6
See reviews for
115
175
55
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Arrived late in the evening. A ways from the airport. Time for fine dinner in the Golden Spur. Room was fine and breakfast was excellent. Nice hotel for a layover. Grounds were quite lovely. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David4780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

First time back for ten years having been a regular visitor between 2003-2005. The staff all remembered me and greeted me like a long lost friend. It was lovely to see the warm and wonderful nature of your staff has remained in tact. The hotel retains its lovely boutique lodge ambiance and it is a fantastic place to stay whether on business or holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank kuberawealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a professionally run outfit and ideal for business travellers and tourists. It is clean and well maintained. The atmosphere is conducive to a comfortable stay and I would recommend it any day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jitu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Southern Sun Mayfair is a gorgeous hotel that reminded me of an old remodeled convent. The rooms and setting were beautiful, breakfast was a huge (delicious!) buffet, and grounds welcoming. We felt very safe and wished we had been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberton, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

They are in the process of renevating the Hotel but that has no impact on their service the rooms are clean and very comfortable. Over the 5 days i spend at the hotel the diner for the buffet had a wide variety to select from. The only point where they can improve on is in the desert section.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Elize D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have to travel at times for work and this was my second trip to Kenya. Having stayed in this hotel once before, I knew what to expect. The food is always fantastic, the atmosphere is nice and the staff are amazing here. On this trip, one of the hotel staff was determined to teach me some Swahili - something that I thought was fantastic.

The room that I stayed in wasn't as nice as the first and would suggest that some of the bathrooms could do with refurbishment. That written, my overall experience at this hotel is very, very positive. This place is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoulSinger_ch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.2 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.5 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Property: Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing