We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for business stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Ranked #9 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for business stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We only had a day room as we were enroute to London from The Mara Safari. The food was excellent and so was the helpfulness and politeness of the staff. Rooms were clean but simple. However, I found this hotel is more catered for business or very short stay than long term. Nevertheless, I would choice this hotel again as a resting place enroute.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    362
    95
    34
    6
See reviews for
114
173
55
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stopped here for one night on our way to the Masaai Mara in August 2013. We have arranged to stay here again on our next safari adventure, August 2015. It is very nice and comfortable, the people are very friendly and courteous and the atmosphere was very pleasant. We ordered room service when we arrived, and had breakfast the following morning, and the food was good and the service excellent. I would highly recommend a night or two at the Southern Sun Mayfair, Nairobi! Thanks, and see you soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nairobi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I love it, Great hospitality and good food. Reception wait of about ten minutes...that's good but why not make it even 5 minutes if you can. Thanks. I am sure I will come over next time and also recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: South facing rooms - View of the city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Langat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We started and ended our safari holiday here and loved this hotel. You cannot really compare city hotels with safari lodges as a city hotel is bound to lack the atmosphere of a safari lodge but has the potential for better facilities. That said, this was possibly our favourite hotel of the holiday.

Rooms were good- spacious with comfy beds, a bath, fast wi fi and even had a TV (although we never switched this on). You wouldn’t know from being in the hotel that there was a bustling city outside. The grounds were tastefully landscaped with lots of greenery complete with an evening frog chorus, friendly cats and a small carp pond. There were two restaurants, one with a standard buffet, although the best choice and quality of anywhere during our stay in Kenya and had especially good vegetarian options. The other restaurant (where we chose to have our evening meal both nights) was more westernised with a typical fast food restaurant menu but with a much higher quality to it. It certainly didn’t feel like you were in a fast food place and the cooking was excellent and unique- we especially liked the onion rings which were a million miles away from your standard fast food fare.

The hotel has two pools which we didn’t get time to use. One sits right outside the dining area which is a bit odd but we understand the other is more in keeping with a secluded pool setting. As ever in Kenya the staff were great and efficient with all the extra touches that a Western hotel misses such as face towels and a welcome drink on arrival. Maybe it was just through booking through a tour operator but they were very helpful with early check in and late check out to coincide with plane arrivals and departures. There was a big business element to the hotel and plenty of business and conference facilities. We didn’t really notice many tourists but we certainly recommend it as a start and end to a safari holiday as it offers a high level of comfort before/after a tiring flight but with an ambience that allows you to retain the memories of the safari style settings of your holiday.

One downside, which is inevitable if staying in Nairobi, is the trip to and from the airport- it took us well over an hour in both directions because of traffic and we had a similar thing arriving back from safari. If you are visiting Kenya purely for safari you should consider a hotel out of Nairobi and on the way to one of the game lodges. This cuts down travel time and long days significantly, something which we found tiring throughout our trip. You can get a long way in an hour without heavy city centre traffic especially considering you do the traffic jam 4 times if you are staying at the start and end of your holiday. If you are in Nairobi we very much recommend you go to the Karen Blixen giraffe centre (where you get to feed, cuddle and kiss semi domesticated Giraffes) and there are plenty of carving places and other attractions on the way. It goes without saying you should be very cautious about going out into Nairobi on your own without having done the research on the area you are visiting and certainly avoid taking expensive jewellery or other such stuff with you. We were told that generally it is safe during the day and we visited a shopping centre with our guide with no problems but just be cautious and do not assume you can just wonder out the hotel without any issues.

Whatever you decide to do, if staying in Nairobi we recommend this hotel 100% and would be happy to come back if we ever get to Kenya again. It is exactly the comfort and ease you need after a tiring flight.

Room Tip: Ground floor is good and you probably get a patio to sit out on. They do have smoking rooms as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach_and_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

From the moment we pulled up to the front doors of this place we knew it was going to be great. The building itself is beautiful and the staff are very warm and friendly. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the food is delicious. We took our meals out by the pool in the centre of the property and we found it very relaxing.

My one complaint is the bathtub did not appear very clean; my fiancee and I showered in our sandals. But for that one issue, it would get a 5-star rating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pemba Mozambique
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I received first class service and will be in a position to recommend the Hotel to my colleagues. The Hotel environment was very welcoming and one felt like he/she was in the country side full of fresh air, thanks to the natural trees that the Hotel management has maintained.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank alloys_omolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Southern Sun Mayfair is located in Westlands which is a good choice for business travellers due to its location. Plan a 1.5-2hrs trip to airport though during peak hours , Check-in/checkout services are very efficient and staff friendly. Rooms are average but overall good value for money..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jonty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.2 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.5 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Property: Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing