We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Ranked #10 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
W. Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great oasis”
Reviewed 28 March 2010

I spent two weeks in Nairobi and area in March 2009. I stayed at budget hotels most of the time, of course to save money. 5 star hotels in Nairobi tend to be very expensive and there aren't many 4 star hotels. On my last night I decided to upgrade and after some research, decided on the Holiday Inn, Nairobi. What a great choice and a great oasis from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi. The location is great, not downtown and near to Sarit Centre Mall. Great restaurants and perhaps most important, great ambiance. It had that outdoor Africa safari feel to it. And the price was reasonable. I would definitely recommend it. It is in the class of the Norfolk but half the price. Try it!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truescot-Cdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    375
    98
    34
    6
See reviews for
115
176
55
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Low rise hotel built in two sections; I stayed in a room facing the main pool and restaurant. My sleep was disturbed by the pump going on and off all night - extremely irritating. Problem stopped after I had talked to the reception. No air con, but roof fan. Bath room quite simple but OK. Pool quite cold and the sun disappears quite early (but stays longer in the area by the other pool). Breakfast very good, and I liked the Texas style restaurant just by the hotel entrance. You can walk (10-15 min) to a small shopping center with a big grocery store and a few other shops, and on the way you'll pass handicraft stalls. I stayed at this hotel because it was near another hotel where I attended a conference, and a couple of offices I also visited.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Good standard of hotel located close to the city centre and airport. Pool, gym, sauna and steam room plus wi-fi. Friendly staff, great breakfasts and nice size rooms. Great location to go exploring and amenities. Would definitlely recommend.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Avalon_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
509 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

This hotel is far from both the city center and the airport, so I'm not sure why our package landed us here for an overnight stop between safaris. It's in a leafy upmarket area but surrounded by busy roads and nightlife. Our room was a very long way down a lot of corridors and no-one offered to help with our luggage. The room was tiny but clean and modern. The shower was great and the bed wonderfully comfortable. The only ventilation options were a ceiling fan, which hung scarily close to one's head from the low ceiling, or the window. The rooms all overlook either very busy and noisy roads or the gardens where there were no less then two seperate weddings going on (we were there on a Saturday) with loud music into the small hours. I think it would probably be quieter here during the week with no parties around you but if I ever have a stop-over in Nairobi again I would prefer to stay somewhere more central to the downtown area.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BadgerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Noise from outside traffic prevented me from sleeping. The restaurant was ok. The gym equipment is plentiful but placed in a very small room. I originally booked a three night stay but left after two, as I couldn't bear the noise.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HopAlot9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

Stayed at the Holiday Inn in the Parklands area of Nairobi on two seperate occasions at the beginning and end of a safari trip.
As aa quick overnight stop the hotel is fine....clean comfortable and reasonably close to the city centre but it has one huge drawback NOISE !!
Both rooms that we stayed in were totally ill equipped to deal with the noise of traffic outside and the constant honking of horns at all hours of the day
The rooms do not have double glazing and given the fact that the this may be difficult to fit to the buiding without spoiling it I feel that secondary glazing inside should be fitted to all rooms as a matter of priority

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevBains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Located in a safe area of Nairobi, lots of history (used to be called Mayfair), visited it a lot during my six months stay in Nairobi in 2007. Great sun downers too!

Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BellaR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
1.2 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
882 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 164 in Nairobi
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Property: Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing