We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Ranked #10 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, TN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

I have stayed in Nairobi several times, but this was my first at the Holiday Inn. I was with a group of eleven on a missions trip - heading over to the western province after a couple days rest in Nairobi. We loved the Holiday Inn! There was no A./C, but we were there in Kenya's winter time, so it was no problem. In summer, it might have been a different story. The breakfast buffet was included, and was fabulous - they had someone cooking omelets and someone else making fresh crepes and pancakes and all kinds of baked goods. We had lots of extra luggage and they happily stored it for us in a secure location until we were ready to head west. The Spur restaurant is very good - everyone's food was excellent. The courtyard area is beautiful - it reminds me a lot of the Norfolk. The only drawback for me was that I had a room by myself, and it was at the very end of a dark corridor outside behind the courtyard. It was a little intimidating to walk back there alone at night, but I never encountered any problems. The porters and front desk people were very helpful. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, if I could get a good deal.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltjchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    366
    95
    34
    6
See reviews for
114
174
55
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel twice, just before and just after our safari. The first stay was okay, but the second stay was a much worse experience.
The hotel itself is really nice for a Holiday Inn, the grounds and pools are nice and the building itself doesn't look like a typical Holiday Inn.
Although the hotel was half empty we still got designated a room at the front with no view (despite them being told we were on honeymoon). Still, we were only there for one night so were not that fussed. We had lovely meal at the Spur steak ranch which is an on-site restaurant and slept well. The rooms have no air-con, just a fan, but it wasn't that warm while we were there so a the fan was suffice.
The second time we arrived we had higher hopes as being honeymooners we were given a rose and a bottle of wine. However, we were again allocated a room right at the front next to the main road. As we had been given the wine we requested a corkscrew at reception and were told one would be brought to the room - it never appeared and so we ended up pushing the cork into the wine - which was hideous anyway. After another delicious dinner at Spur, we returned to the room to discover that the fan didn't work at all. Again only being there for one night we didn't bother to complain. Then after being asleep for a couple of hours, we were woken up by the people in the next room. We had been given an adjoining room with a door directly through to the next room so it just sounded like they we right in there with us! This was especailly annoying as we had to be up at 4.45am the next morning for our flight to Zanzibar.
We were then told that we were able to have breakfast at 5am in the restaurant, but that actually meant you could have a bowl of cereal.
Overall this hotel is not bad, but if you are staying for a longer period make sure you have a good room.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thenewmrsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
164 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

You quickly loose the feeling of being in a busy suburb when entering this hotel. It feels more like something set in the countryside 50 years ago. That feeling is strengthened by the lack of air conditioning but also from the nice garden and laid-back but efficient service of the place. The cooking is good so both the dinner and breakfast buffets can be recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottersSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

Traveling outside Europe, was uncertain what to expect. My usual attitude is as long as the bed sheets are clean and the water is hot, Im happy...

well this place ticked the first 2 boxes!!..

On arrival we were greeted at the airport by the Hotel minibus, and as we arrived at the hotel, the doorman escorted us past the security guards an to reception, ensuring our cases were also transported into the hotel.

Check-in was efficient and we were shown to our rooms. on entering the room, the first thing to notice was the heavily varnished wooden parkay floor and the metal single glazed windows. The bed was firm but comfortable and the sheets were crisp and clean. Bathrooms also very clean.
There is no aircon in the hotel rooms, but you do get a huge ceiling fan. this can be annoying during the night.

The breakfast is good, with a selection of cereals, pastries & hot "English" offerings. Juices and Tea / Coffee are also free flowing.

The Gardens are very well presented with a small army of workers sweeping and cleaning, ensuring the pools are presentable and even picking dead leaves that have fallen in the night from the floor around the trees.
There are some huge examples of trees / cactus / palms in the grounds too.

Evening meals at the "Public" bar and restaurant were ok ... nothing to shout about really. The food at the pool bar was far better.
The Local Beers (Tuskar) are all reasonable and for a hotel quite cheap.
Local Taxis are cheap, but the condition of the roads is very poor. (as is the quality of the vehicles used as Taxi's). Its very much a free for all when traveling around the city, and walking around is not really recommended because of the appalling driving standard.

The hotel ambiance still has an air of colonialism about it and it is this that gives it its charm.
The locals speak very good English and general communication isn't an issue.
Lots of tourists and overnight travelers seem to use the hotel, so there is always a mixing pot of accents and nationalities around the breakfast table.

Was there a total of 10 days

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cerbera69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

Great service but got attacked by Tons of bed bugs. Just make sure to check signs of bed bugs when u get to your room

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookmans Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Nairobi for three nights and loved everything about it.
We had a room facing the garden and swimming pool (they have two pools, one in the garden and another one near the restaurant) which was spacious, clean, quiet and very comfortable.
The breakfast buffet had plenty of choices and at dinner time they had a buffet or a la carte menu, food was good and reasonably priced. There is also a steak house attached to the hotel.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the ladies at the reception went out of their way to assist us with a small problem we had, which had nothing to do with the hotel. Very much appreciated.
The location is not in the city centre but it is very easy to get around by taxi and the Sarit shopping centre (Banana Box on the ground floor excellent for fair trade souvenirs!) and a small curio market are within easy walking distance.
Overall we had an excellent stay and will definitely use the Holiday Inn Nairobi again on our next stopover.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susapf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

Hotel is located in the suburb some distance from the city centre. The style is colonial, with attractive gardens and two pools. Rooms and bathroooms are smallish, with big comfortable beds. Surprisingly for the price rooms have no airconditioning.This obliges one to use a high speed ceiling fan which is irritating as windows have to kept closed to avoid mosquitoes at night. Internet requires walking to the business centre for a voucher, not convenient when you arrive late at night. At this price, one expects it to be free. Food is standard Holiday Inn buffet style. Quality is OK, but not inspiring. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BibendumCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.2 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.5 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Property: Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Jovago.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing