We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Ranked #9 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 11 September 2010

This was a pretty good hotel. Everything you would expect from a 4* hotel. Excellent breakfast and good staff. Only downsides were that the pool was very very cold!, the bar closed at 11pm and the business centre was very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon100001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    379
    102
    34
    6
See reviews for
118
177
57
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Holiday Inn - recently rebranded as the Southern Sun Nairobi - is very similar in facilities and style to some of its contemporary Nairobi hotels - ie. the Fairview. The public areas and restaurants have been modernized, service and food is good, but the rooms haven't been updated in some time. There's nothing wrong with the Sun, but paying $70 more per night than its competitors can't really be justified. Wi-fi internet is not included in the room rate.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyv27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

what a price to pay for such a hotel.. it is WAY TOO expensive as a place, though generally this is my experiance with hotels in africa (insane high prices for normal hotels). i have stayed in much better Holiday Inn hotels with almost half the price of the one in Nairobi.

the hotel environment was beautiful and relaxing, rooms were clean and neat, the staff was quite helpfull, the gym facilities and the staff there were exceptionally nice, the breakfast satisfacotry enough (though there were too many options for a cooked meal for breakfast, however if you are not a breakfast-person and all you want is some bread with something then there was very little). Very disappointing to see there was no fridge at the rooms..

although my staying was paid by the company i work for, however next time i go i will check what are the other hotel options in Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My boyfriend and I have spent the last 4 months backpacking on a budget. We just finished a 6 day budget safari with MICS tours (amazing) and decided to treat ourselves with 2 days at te holiday in. I have stayed at many holiday inns and was able to pay with my prestige card points. We booked in advance a non smoking room which was 200$ more than a smoking room so a significant amount of points more. Previously we had left an Ipod at another hotel and asked for it to be delivered to the holiday inn and even had told reception about this. When we arrived and checked in we asked about the Ipod and the women had no idea what we were talking about. When we explained that we called someone she was boderline rude and clearly didn't want to help us out.
During check in and according to our advance reservation We again specified a non smoking room. When we got to our room we were exhausted a dirty so didn't take much notice.
The next morning housekeeping came to our room at 7:30am to tidy our room. We of course were sleeping and unsure why they would be coming this early. We also noticed an ash tray in the bathroom and our room did not have a no smoking sign on it. I asked housekeeping if our room was smoking or not and they said it was smoking. Later I saw a manager on the floor and again asked and he confirmed it was a smoking room. We had already unpacked and didn't want te inconvience of moving and tere wasn't really a smell so we decided to stay. That night the people in te connecting room started to smoke and we had to roll up a blanket to stuff under the door.
We had paid for wireless in order to make international calls and at best the wireless was spotty but mostly just didn't work. When we asked the business centre about it they offered no help and definitly no money back.
Our last morning again we were awaken by housekeeping this time at 7:40 am.
When we checked out I told the reception about our issues wig the room. The man at reception argued with me as to whether or not our room was smoking even after I told him about asking people including a manager. He then looked and saw the room beside us had purchased packs of cigarettes. We next told about houskeeping and he argued again that they have a report they look at to see and they wouldn't come that early.
After all this he offered us no monetary refund for our room ( we ended up paying for a non smoking room) and told us to call the booking office.
Over all this hotels service was painfully bad and all because of reception. The price of anything extra is inflated beyond belief and the our room was not worth what we paid. Give me budget hotels any day at least you pay for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acdharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

You could expect something more for the price we payed. The hotel was nothing of another world, but for Nairobi it was fine. The room was not very big, and the shower was not very good. But at least, everything was clean and there was hot water and a good breakfast. The reception was very efficient for check-in and check-out. It is not so far from UNEP headquarters, but you can get nearer (The Tribe and Gigiri Homestead).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biancabis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, TN
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

I have stayed in Nairobi several times, but this was my first at the Holiday Inn. I was with a group of eleven on a missions trip - heading over to the western province after a couple days rest in Nairobi. We loved the Holiday Inn! There was no A./C, but we were there in Kenya's winter time, so it was no problem. In summer, it might have been a different story. The breakfast buffet was included, and was fabulous - they had someone cooking omelets and someone else making fresh crepes and pancakes and all kinds of baked goods. We had lots of extra luggage and they happily stored it for us in a secure location until we were ready to head west. The Spur restaurant is very good - everyone's food was excellent. The courtyard area is beautiful - it reminds me a lot of the Norfolk. The only drawback for me was that I had a room by myself, and it was at the very end of a dark corridor outside behind the courtyard. It was a little intimidating to walk back there alone at night, but I never encountered any problems. The porters and front desk people were very helpful. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, if I could get a good deal.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltjchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel twice, just before and just after our safari. The first stay was okay, but the second stay was a much worse experience.
The hotel itself is really nice for a Holiday Inn, the grounds and pools are nice and the building itself doesn't look like a typical Holiday Inn.
Although the hotel was half empty we still got designated a room at the front with no view (despite them being told we were on honeymoon). Still, we were only there for one night so were not that fussed. We had lovely meal at the Spur steak ranch which is an on-site restaurant and slept well. The rooms have no air-con, just a fan, but it wasn't that warm while we were there so a the fan was suffice.
The second time we arrived we had higher hopes as being honeymooners we were given a rose and a bottle of wine. However, we were again allocated a room right at the front next to the main road. As we had been given the wine we requested a corkscrew at reception and were told one would be brought to the room - it never appeared and so we ended up pushing the cork into the wine - which was hideous anyway. After another delicious dinner at Spur, we returned to the room to discover that the fan didn't work at all. Again only being there for one night we didn't bother to complain. Then after being asleep for a couple of hours, we were woken up by the people in the next room. We had been given an adjoining room with a door directly through to the next room so it just sounded like they we right in there with us! This was especailly annoying as we had to be up at 4.45am the next morning for our flight to Zanzibar.
We were then told that we were able to have breakfast at 5am in the restaurant, but that actually meant you could have a bowl of cereal.
Overall this hotel is not bad, but if you are staying for a longer period make sure you have a good room.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thenewmrsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 164 in Nairobi
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
1,007 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,142 reviews
0.5 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 164 in Nairobi
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Property: Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Jovago.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing