We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like you are Nairobi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Ranked #10 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Actually I stayed only 2 nights in Holiday Inn,the name the hotelused to have,therefore I can only say that the location is a little bit far for a business traveller, when you consider the heavy traffic in Nairobi.And if you are there for leisure or your schedule is a little bit loose,than it is great to sleep and wake up in a garden with full of tropical plantation and birds. Building styles are fantastic if you are interested in the colonial architecture.Than you may have your breakfast just in the middle of this festival by the pool.I frequently stay in Southern Sun and I hope that they have given their golden touch to this beautiful location.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed at the Southern Sun for one night before our safari in the Masai Mara. We found the quality of the rooms to be bad (frayed carpet, old furniture etc.), and they are extremely small - we needed to put an extra bed in one of them (cost a lot extra) and they had to search the hotel to find a room big enough to fit a stretcher next to the other bed! The pool would have been the nicest area, however they were doing renovations throughout the hotel and the pool area seemed to be the worst affected. Also there were workmen everywhere and it was very noisy. The drinks and food are well priced, we had breakfast included and that was fine. The beds are extremely hard and not very comfortable. It took about an hour to check in. There is a funfair right next door to the hotel which is very noisy and is still open late at night, The water feature outside our room was so noisy it woke us up during the night. There is room service but it is only available during daylight hours! All in all, a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 00-em-00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

stayed one night at end of tour - poor quality rooms, need improvement. Breakfast cold - poor service and not as expected

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VHMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We were staying for one night at this hotel on our way back to Kuwait after excellent Masai Mara experience. To get to the hotel from domestic Airport and back to International Airport is real hell. Traffic in Nairobi really puts you off. Hopefully in next 2-3 yrs things should change as lot of Chinese constructions going on along the roadside. More then the receptionist you will find bell boys very helpful. Hotel has two pools, climate is cool so room didn't have any A/C. Hotel is well maintained and clean.
We had been for buffet breakfast nice big choice, but found that milk was curdled, probably some orange juice drops must have dropped before serving. Saloon is way costly a rip off just 10 mins from hotel is Westgate shopping mall buy what ever stuff you want from there. Try out the restaurant which serves grilled stuff..nice stuff...feasted on Ribs and steaks. You will enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcferns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Stayed as first night on the wonderful Kuoni Leopard Safari.
Clean comfortable safe with the best food we had in Kenya.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jujohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 1 day. I paid 215USD ( company negotiated rates) for a small room. its built like a resort. breakfast is good. My room didn't have AC. location is good. staff is friendly. They have gym, pool, saloon and casino in house. they also have some children park but I was not able to check that. Internet speed is fine. overall good hotel but I found it overpriced.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
Thank eabhshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Negative first : Bit of a trek from the airport and in a scruffy area(a lot of Nairobi is scruffy). Some rooms can hear the funfair at the rear and traffic noise at the side, as we experienced both having stayed twice within a week. However, very comfortable rooms with tea and coffee making facilities toiletries and a hairdryer in the drawer. Nice beds but did have a stain on the sheet. Grounds well kept and pretty. Pool cold. Lovely breakfast and evening buffet (18,500 Ksh) at the poolside restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sankara Nairobi
#8 of 169 in Nairobi
939 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#12 of 169 in Nairobi
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,303 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
969 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: £135 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Mayfair Is One Of Nairobi's Best Known Landmarks That First Enjoyed Its Heyday In 1940's Colonial Kenya. It Has Been Extensively Refurbished To Provide Modern Facilities, Yet Retains The Understated Charm And Elegance Of Yesteryear. The Hotel Is Situated Close To The City Centre And Only 20km From Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. We Welcome Guests To Experience The Traditional Warmth And Hospitality For Which Both Kenya And Southern Sun Are Renowned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing