We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #17 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The hotel is one of the best in Nairobi. The location is excellent right in the city centre. Staff are very good and the rooms and facilities are top class. The restaurants are very good and do a good bbq style buffet which changes each night. Whilst there I joined the business club for wifi and breakfast which was good value and in a nice quiet separated room on one of the floors. All in all a very good hotel and I would recommend for very pleasant stay in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Get to know staff as they have good tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamsimsafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

891 - 897 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2011

The IC was a perfect hotel for me, though maybe slightly overpriced. There is a high emphasis on security at the gate and on the main entrance. Staff were friendly and the hotel public areas (lobby/restaurants/bars) were all of a high standard. Check-in was very straight forward. The room was more 4* rather than 5* but still very pleasant and comfortable to stay in. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Need_M0re_H0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I was stayed at the Intercontinental Nairobi for 1 week in early April 2011. I am a Gold Priority Club Member and Intercontinental Ambassador. The staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful as you would expect for the price of the room. The Hotel was typical of the Intercontinental look and feel although the room slightly smallish compared to other rooms I have stayed in elsewhere with the chain. The food is fantastic and should be at those prices. I recommend they Kenyan dishes. Very tasty. Room Service has an extensive menu from Italian, local, Inidan and others. The 24 hour internet will cost you an arm and a leg @ USD $26 for 24 hours which is highway robbery. The wireless was not reliable so cable/LAN was used for the most part.

MY MOST NEGATIVE EXPERIENCE: I have to say I did not appreciate the way the head security man treated my friend who is a local when he came to visit me to say hello and catch up. My friend forgot his ID on the first night so I came down to vouch for him and sign him in. I totally understand the need for security but he almost eye-balled and glared at my guest like he was a piece of crap. My visitor received almost the same treatment every time he came to visit me over the 7 days even when he came with ID. This is UNACCEPTABLE as far as I am concerned. I was extremely annoyed when my visitor came to see me on the first night and I was told I by front desk that I had to pay and extra $50 (maybe more from memory) if my guest wanted to stay the night. He was only coming up for a coca-cola and a chat. I asked Reception if they were implying that my male friend and I were sleeping together as I only had a King size bed in the room. The receptionist and security man back pedalled very quickly when I told them I resented the implication. I wasn't happy at all. It was like being in boarding school and as a 39 year old man it is not welcome nor appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if it is low season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdamL1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I am staying here tonight. What a disapointment. I have stayed at the Tribe, at the Crowne Plaza and the Palacina. All of them much better. This hotel is so old. It smells, its noisy, needing a huge upgrade.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanaPrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Stayed two nights in room #505. The hotel appears to have been grand once, but is now a little shoddy. The staff is great and the food is pretty good. A yummy breakfast buffet and good food by the bar/pool area. The area is safe for Nairobi, but to get around the staff recommend a cab – even for a ten-minute walk in daylight. The traffic to airport on a Friday night was the worst traffic I’ve ever seen – makes Boston and NYC look tame. I didn’t get to have a massage, but one tourmate did and she said it was really good – and cheap, too. Our room keys never worked. The front desk can do currency exchange or get you money back from your credit card.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaineIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Stayed here for business. the check in was a small problem that was due to lots of being trying to check in at the same time. we got free drinks for waiting. that was nice, it made a good impression on me. the room is great, the place is clean and the staff are all friendly and helpful.
good breakfast and nice indian resturant. if your in nairobi for business. this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I was staying at the Intercontinental Nairobi after my trip to Egypt was canceled due to the demonstration.The whole check in experience was excellent n we were received with quite hospitality of the highest magnitude;we were provided with glasses of juices and a warm towel and the actual check in just took 4 minutes.
What amazed me a lot was the experience and knowledge of one of the porters a Mr Abgao Asad who's diverse experience of the facilities in and outside the hotel were amazing.
We had a booking at the Haandi restaurant during our stay so ew had gone to order for a taxi to take us there but to our surprise this guy convinced us to have dinner in their Indian restaurant which to me it was quite an exprience.
We also had a problem with our flight since the flight was a connecting one we wanted to change the flights date since my mum wasn't feeling well.
Mr Abgao went out of his way and decided to go himself to the Airpor to change the flights since the town offices were closed.
If this is ot hospitality at its best i don't know what is.
It was quite a surprise to find a porter who had a diverse concierge knowledge.
Just hope to be back soon.
Asante.
Christy

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hchisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
1,189 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#12 of 169 in Nairobi
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,303 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: £104 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven in the city, this Nairobi hotel is ideally located for business, next to the Parliament building,walking distance to Kenyatta International Convention Centre and the government hub.This hotel is the ideal choice for discerning business travelers boasting an award winning Indian restaurant - Bhandini, a dine by the pool restaurant, coffee shop and bars.Explore attractions close to our hotel whether it is handmade African artifacts at Maasai market or the beautiful Nairobi National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing