We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid business class hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #21 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Solid business class hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Effecient and friendly check in process. For a hotel in this part of the world the security is a little light. It is there, its gated, there are security folks around, but it would be pretty easy to poke a hole in their security perimeter - if you could call it that.

Room was clean, if a little tired, furniture relatevely modern, TV and electronics are up to date. Bed was good quality, comfortable and the linens were nice. Not sure the threadcount:)

Intenet connectivity in the room was quite good. No problem with streaming video or downloading large files.

Gym was mediocre. Half a dozen modern treadmills, tightly packed together. Very basic set of weight machines. Enough to get a basic workout, but no more...and does not take many people to become full.

Pool area - outdoors. Utilitarian, not particularly inviting or exciting.

Restaurants - Good breakfast at the casual dining one and quite a nice Indian restaurant onsite. There was also an Italian one, but I never ate there.

Location is good in the central business district, close to the other big hotels and a short walk to the main conference centre and many government office buildings. Safe neighbourhood - but of course take suitable precautions given the city.

Staff was a mix. Everyone was friendly, but lets just say that some were more effective than others.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cira001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    395
    205
    70
    41
See reviews for
113
144
68
503
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Comfortably located in the heart of Nairobi's Central Business District...
Spartan rooms.......
but well mannered and patient service.......

They have a great breakfast spread and a lovely little Indian restaurant....
Most of the city center is within walking distance from this small 5 star......
I've heard that this is the better of the lot among Nairobi's finest !!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aakashshirodkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
108 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed here in June 2011 while attending a conference at a nearby venue. Walking distance to the convention centre which was the main plus point. The rooms are very old school and need an upgrade soon. The bathrooms were also in poor shape - taps missing knobs, paitn peeling, etc. but the amenities were good. Housekeeping always forgot to replace the towels so invariably had to call for new set of hand or face towels. But their service was prompt and always with a smile. Check in was painless.

The breakfast - only meal I ate at the hotel - was adequate. Live egg counter, meats, fruits, bread bar, etc. was on offer along with a fresh fruit station which was a nice addition.

The healthclub/gym was small but well stocked with all the latest equipment which was nice. I used the treadmill which was perfectly fine and modern.

The wifi was not free and wasn't the fastest either. Just about adequate.

It seemed to be a popular chouice for tourists too as the hotel was quite full. I would only stay there as it's walking distance to the main city centre and also the closes five star (by local standards) to the airport. Not worth the sticker price of US$200+ per night but since I was being hosted by the event organisers, I really couldn't complain.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Conveniently located for business travellers, quite representative in the looby, rather poor in the rooms.

Out of three restaurants I've tried two were bad and one was average (the Italian one).

Hotel seems heavy guarded, but eventually you can bring whatever you want from the street.

Reception staff is helpful but rather slow and English could be better. And you're paying a lot for it.

Room service was very slow. After first room cleaning there were no new towels left in the room. I've requested new ones and eventually got them after 2 hours, asking three times.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7dust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
140 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

A sudden trip to NBO saw me staying at the Intercon for one night. Location is in the middle of downtown, in the heart of the government district. The hotel is low rise and the lobby area and lobby bar presentable.

I ate lunch in the lobby bar and the food was tasty. Like most big name hotels, the food was expensive for what it was. Breakfast the folllowing morning was buffet style and very again expensive - and not as good quality in my view as the food I had eaten in the lobby bar.

The room was on the face of it very nice, although walking in to find a welcome letter and a spare key for someone other than myself was a bit perturbing. That resolved with reception, I could settle in. The bed linen was crisp, and the rooms had all the expected amenities. The only problem was the air conditioning, or lack thereof. There was a unit in the room, but it steadfastly refused to go any lower than 24.5'. Too hot. Despite a complaint to reception, when I came back from dinner at L'Osteria (recommended by the way), it was still 24.5'.

I hardly slept as a result. I only started to doze when I opened the window in the middle of the night, but that had the undesired effect of letting the mosquitoes in, and they proceded to feast upon me.

I've stayed here before and the stays have been fine, so I have not marked as low as I may have done as a result, but this stay was, unfortunately, disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

When paying in excess of $200/night, I expect a room that has been updated sometime in the last 20 years. The room at the Intercontinental has stained carpet, coming up at the seams, two lamps with burnt out bulbs, a tv that doesn't work, chipped furniture, and a bathroom i'd expect to see in a 1960's non-updated house...

On the flip side - fantastic Indian restaurant, nice poolside atmosphere, great breakfast buffet, certainly secure... If I was willing to pay in excess of $300/night I would have been in one of their few updated rooms (the ones in the pics)... So I guess it's all about what you're willing to pay. Of course... I'm switching to a hotel for $120/night with updated rooms just a couple kilometers from here so...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjharmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I've stayed at the InterContinental Nairobi twice - once in an upgraded room that was beautifully appointed, once in a standard room that was clean and comfortable but somewhat Golden Girls living roomesque. The staff are fantastic - especially the concierge, the gift shop is pricey but full of beautiful things. The fancy Italian restaurant is a tad silly, but the Indian place is good, the breakfast is excellent and there's a pool bar. I've walked through the HIlton and the InterCon is much nicer. It's an easy walk to the Convention Center.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pixiehermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#28 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#18 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Property: InterContinental Nairobi
Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven in the city, this Nairobi hotel is ideally located for business, next to the Parliament building,walking distance to Kenyatta International Convention Centre and the government hub.This hotel is the ideal choice for discerning business travelers boasting an award winning Indian restaurant - Bhandini, a dine by the pool restaurant, coffee shop and bars.Explore attractions close to our hotel whether it is handmade African artifacts at Maasai market or the beautiful Nairobi National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing