We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Spot, Decent food, and unbelievably slow internet.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #20 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed 30 July 2011

stayed here for work, just for a couple days. we got a great corporate rate, which was a nice touch. The Fairmont down the road , doesnt have corporate rates..so we came to the Intercon. good business hotel, but the internet is deadly slow..be warned. breakfast is sorta ok..dated...hotel could use a refurb. would stay here again though. Choices are limited in Africa...you take what you can get.

Room Tip: Smile when checking in. ;)
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thecameradude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

820 - 826 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Though hotel gets the job done, in dire need of a spruce up. It seems stuck decades ago. Hotel rooms are OK. Picture a IC hotel room circa 1990 and you get the idea.

We had dinner at the Italian restaurant - took an hour for the appetizers to arrive, another 45 mins for the main course; even though there were only two tables (including ours). Food was good though.

Hotel is in the middle of the central area, looks like lots of government buildings around the hotel. There´s a craft market on Saturdays about 3 blocks away which is an adventure in itself.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I hadn't been to Nairobi for almost 10 years and was actually supposed to be booked into a different hotel. But they were full and I found myself being taken to the Interconti. This hotel is not cheap but does provide a good service. There is a "coffee shop" in the lobby with a light menu, Italian restaurant (which was used for a conference), Indian restuarant and then the buffet setup. Plenty of options! I ate at the coffee shop and buffet and both were great. This hotel also has plenty of tv channels but the picture was not great. There was a short power outage just after midnight and some of the channels jammed and were not reset. Other than that, good business hotel.

Room Tip: There are sometimes functions in the pool area so it's quieter to have a street facing room
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CraigL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I stayed here for a few days in July 2011. I usually stay at the Serena but had meetings here this time. The location is great, the service perfectly adequate, the Indian restaurant on site is excellent and the poolside bar is wonderful. The only complaint, if you want to call it that, is that the Hotel hardly feels "Kenyan" at all. It could be anywhere. Given that hotels like the Serena or the Fairmont actually feel like they are in Africa this is a bit of a let down. But for a nuts and bolts well run hotel where the internet actually works as promised, this is excellent.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
2  Thank mpk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Stayed at the InterContinental before, during and after our safari. The first two stays, in different rooms, were horrible. The drapes, shears, and lamp shades were coated with dust, One room had greasy handprints on the bathroom door. The toilet in our first room had to be flushed five or six times before it got the job done. Our final two nights we paid extra to upgrade and finally got a clean room. The rooms at this hotel most certainly do not meet InterContinental standards. Rooms definitely need a major upgrade.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade, it also gets you access to the p.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judytraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHG Care at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments and suggestions as the InterContinental Nairobi is geared towards providing the highest level of hospitality to our guests. IHG Care ^bj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We stayed here for a night before embarking on a safari. It was a pleasant stay. Our flight arrived at 6 am but the check in was smooth. The rooms were large and clean. Service was a little slow but it was not a big problem. The staff was smiling, helpful with directions and information and could communicate in good English.The swimming pool was supposed to be heated but we did not have the time to try it out. The Italian restaurant was good, so was the one that served buffet dinner and breakfast,(I forgot its name), did not try not the Indian one. The gift shop was expensive, the highway curio shops were a better bargain. There was a supermarket at a walking distance where we stacked up on snacks, water as well as buying a local sim card and internet connection.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isaacban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Effecient and friendly check in process. For a hotel in this part of the world the security is a little light. It is there, its gated, there are security folks around, but it would be pretty easy to poke a hole in their security perimeter - if you could call it that.

Room was clean, if a little tired, furniture relatevely modern, TV and electronics are up to date. Bed was good quality, comfortable and the linens were nice. Not sure the threadcount:)

Intenet connectivity in the room was quite good. No problem with streaming video or downloading large files.

Gym was mediocre. Half a dozen modern treadmills, tightly packed together. Very basic set of weight machines. Enough to get a basic workout, but no more...and does not take many people to become full.

Pool area - outdoors. Utilitarian, not particularly inviting or exciting.

Restaurants - Good breakfast at the casual dining one and quite a nice Indian restaurant onsite. There was also an Italian one, but I never ate there.

Location is good in the central business district, close to the other big hotels and a short walk to the main conference centre and many government office buildings. Safe neighbourhood - but of course take suitable precautions given the city.

Staff was a mix. Everyone was friendly, but lets just say that some were more effective than others.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cira001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,162 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#31 of 167 in Nairobi
1,269 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 167 in Nairobi
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,285 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: £106 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven in the city, this Nairobi hotel is ideally located for business, next to the Parliament building,walking distance to Kenyatta International Convention Centre and the government hub.This hotel is the ideal choice for discerning business travelers boasting an award winning Indian restaurant - Bhandini, a dine by the pool restaurant, coffee shop and bars.Explore attractions close to our hotel whether it is handmade African artifacts at Maasai market or the beautiful Nairobi National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing