We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Distinction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #18 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed at the ICH Nairobi for a couple of nights at the end of July 2012 and was impressed by it's convenient location, keen attention to distinction and above all the professionalism and excellent service provided by the staff. The hotel is indeed one of the older properties in Nairobi - I visited the hotel several times as a young lad in the 80s and 90s and returned as an adult and in my opinion it's stood the test of time.

The rooms are big (in comparison to IC hotels in Europe), very clean and well provisioned. I used the priority club check in facility in the lobby area and that was fast, efficient and they were expecting me. My experience of the service was therefore exceptionally good right from the start.

Being balanced and also rooting for this hotel to achieve even greater heights - think some aspects of the rooms (e.g. The TVs and bathroom are due an upgrade). Otherwise can't fault the hotel.

Overall I think you'd enjoy a Nairobi stopover here - and don't think the trip advisor rating at 22 in Nairobi fairly reflects the hotel's standards (having stayed at some of the higher rated properties as well...).

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonTraveller05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear LondonTraveller05,

We truly appreciate your comments on Trip advisor and there is no better motivator than the praise of a happy guest. It is great to hear that you value us as your pick of best hotel in Nairobi.

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your opinions with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at InterContinental Nairobi, Kenya’s Best City Hotel

Warm regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

Very high price point for this hotel, especially the breakfast which is average but very expensive. The room was well appointed, clean and spacious, but the bathroom felt dated. Staff are friendly and they try hard but service at front desk is extremely slow (and several colleagues had errors on their bills). The slowness of the service at the restaurant at lunch was really unacceptable considering that it was quite empty. The bar area isn't very atmospheric as it's effectively part of the lobby. I think that there are better hotels to stay at for this price in Nairobi.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepidgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear intrepidgirlLondon

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent experience at the InterContinental Nairobi.

I am very pleased to know your wonderful comment about our well appointed, clean and spacious rooms.

I would also like to thank you for your feedback regarding the bathroom as well as your review on our front desk, restaurant and bar. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated, as we rely on you, our valued guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Your comments will be shared with our entire team to help us improve and make InterContinental Nairobi a leader in excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

everything was perfect,the bed was too soft and comfy, the pillows were great,the service was first class,the food was too good.i would definately visit again,the employees do a great job in welcoming the guests and make u feel at home.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belzo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlHala, Regional General Hala, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear belzo8,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor from your recent stay with us at InterContinental Nairobi. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I sincerely appreciate you complimenting our facilities.

I do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed at the Intercon in Nairobi while there for 10 days.

The hotel is not modern - it seems like an older one but it is very well kept up. The decor is old fashioned (dark woods, etc).

I stayed on the club floor and they had all the amenities that make that worthwhile - private reception and concierge, private lounge on the club floor, cocktail hour and breakfast served there, etc. Everything was basically up to the Intercon standard, so I had no reason to find fault with anything.

Room service was fine - expensive but good and prompt. Service was fine and also fully up to the intercon standard.

The location is excellent if need to be downtown by the city hall - I was working in Upper Hill so it was about five minutes to my office in a hotel car.

Recommend this without any reservation

Room Tip: get a room on the club floor with lounge access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markie_Mark115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Markie_Mark115,

Thank you for taking the time to write a most complimentary review about your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi.

I greatly appreciate your kind words of recommendation for our hotel. I am also happy to know that you enjoyed the added benefits that are available at the Club InterContinental lounge.

We do look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Best Regards,

Karl Hala,
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

the hotel is well done equipped , the service is good and the food is excellent

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaac K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Isaac K,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience at the InterContinental Nairobi, and thank you for choosing our fine Hotel for your stay.

We are glad that you have had a wonderful experience here with us. We are committed as usual to put all our efforts to extend best services to our dear clients.

Hope to see you again here at the InterContinental Nairobi

Best regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I write this review on behalf of my husband who stayed in this hotel twice : one night on his way to a safari and another night coming back. In one word, both his stays were excellent, he was granted a marvellous suite with access to the Club Lounge where food and drinks were plentiful and so tasteful. The service was more than perfect, he received such a warm welcome that he insists to name the staff who was exceptionally courteous, pleasant and so helpful : Miss Christine Njeremani, the Front Office Manager and Alex Konde. He noticed how efficient and kind was the whole staff, attentive to his needs.
The only one backdraw is the elevators, they are slow , they should be renewed,
After his positive comments, I am willing to try this Intercontinental with him on our next trip to Kenya.
Special thanks and compliments to the Management !

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boutondargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Boutondargent,

It is great to see that your husband spent an enjoyable time here at InterContinental Nairobi and our team members’ service exceeded his high expectations.

Of course your husband’s observations about the staff especially Alex and Christine have been conveyed to them and they are so delighted to know that their efforts met his entire satisfaction and has encouraged them to continuously strive for excellence.

His valued comment that the elevators are slow has retained my full attention. We are working with the Lift Maintenance team to make it better.

We look forward to your next visit which we hope to be in the near future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

All the staffs are very friendly and shows their smile for customers and are very supportive. I hope I will prefer to use this hotel and get the best service for my money if I come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mestire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Mestire D,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience at the InterContinental Nairobi, and thank you for choosing our fine Hotel for your stay.

We are glad that you have had a wonderful experience here with us and we are committed as usual to put all our efforts to extend best services to our dear clients.

Hope to see you again here at the InterContinental Nairobi.

Best regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
1,181 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 169 in Nairobi
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,300 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: £109 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven in the city, this Nairobi hotel is ideally located for business, next to the Parliament building,walking distance to Kenyatta International Convention Centre and the government hub.This hotel is the ideal choice for discerning business travelers boasting an award winning Indian restaurant - Bhandini, a dine by the pool restaurant, coffee shop and bars.Explore attractions close to our hotel whether it is handmade African artifacts at Maasai market or the beautiful Nairobi National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing