We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel, Wonderful Staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
Ranked #28 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel, Wonderful Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Decent enough Hotel. There are signs of ageing across the hotel - rusted faucets, dusty covers etc. Some areas, like the Lifts, are getting renovated. The Staff is wonderful and very polite. The saving grace was the excellent sleep quality. Internet speed is decent, although if you dont have it included as part of your room, you will have to shell out USD 22 more. A better option would be to pay and upgrade to the Executive Lounge. You can strike a deal with the manager, pay for the upgrade, and get internet free as part of the upgrade.

Always try to get rooms on the higher floors. These are the executive floors and have better rooms. Try to work your charms on the front office staff and get a room overlooking the Pool :). It is worth every penny paid, specially during summer.

Room Tip: Always pick the rooms on the higher floors. They give you access to the lounge, as well as free drin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijayraghavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amos M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice feedback regarding your stay at Hilton Nairobi.

We are delighted to read, that you were satisfied with your overall experience and thank you for the fine compliments you make about the hospitality of our team and service.

With regards of the physical state of the facility, sorry for we have not been able to meet your expectation; however, we are in the planning process of a master plan renovation that will enhance the overall hotel facilities and appearance. Meanwhile I have shared your comment about dusty covers with our asst. housekeeper to ensure frequent dusting is done, as this is due to the ongoing lift construction.

We do take great pride in offering our guests inspiring services, and we looking forward to welcoming you back soon again.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely
AMOS MWORIA I Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    387
    307
    160
    77
See reviews for
86
163
135
653
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv, Israel
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Horrible service, sink with no hot water, construction on the living floor up to 7 pm, old and uncomfortable room, room service that takes 55 minutes for a pizza, total disgrace!!! stay away for your own well being

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nadav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amos M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your stay at the Hilton Nairobi.
Unfortunately we have not been able to fully meet your expectation. We do appreciate your critical yet constructive feedback and this will assist us in improving our standards and service delivery to our guests.

I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests staying with us and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

AMOS MWORIA I Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed 5 nights in Hilton Nairobi.
I never had such a bad stay in such 150$/nt hotel.
No hot water at the sink, construction at same floor up to 7pm, poor room service, shameless and disrespect stuff

Room Tip: For your own good, avoid this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amos M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your stay at the Hilton Nairobi.
Unfortunately we have not been able to fully meet your expectation. We do appreciate your critical yet constructive feedback and this will assist us in improving our standards and service delivery to our guests.

I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests staying with us and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

AMOS MWORIA I Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

In the Heart of Nairobi with easy access to any location around, it is situated undoubtedly at the best location. Had prebooked the Standard Rooms through a Agent in India, being Hilton did not think of the need of looking it up on TripAdvisor and boy, was I disappointed. The standard rooms have no standard and are one of the worst I hv seen in any 5 star property.

After a lot of discussions and arguments with the Management me and my friend were upgraded to the Executive Rooms on the higher floors, which were bigger in size and better than the Standard Rooms but no way close to an international 5 star category.

Excellent staff, quick Service and a beautiful pool were the only plus points of this Hotel.

It's time Hilton got their act together and make this look like one of their clan.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Khatwani_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amos M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We have noted your comment with regards of the physical state of our facility, and I am sorry for we have not been able to meet your expectation; However, I am pleased to advice that we are indeed in the planning process of a master plan renovation that will enhance the overall hotel facilities and appearance; the nearly completed lift replacement is the first part of this project.

I am also delighted to inform you that currently we are replacing the existing beds with serenity beds, which I believe will very much improve the comfort and experience during your future stays.

Thank you for the fine compliments you make about the hospitality of our team and service. We are also happy to see that you enjoyed our pool.

It was truly a pleasure to serve you, and I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Nairobi.


With kind regards,

Yours sincerely


AMOS MWORIA I Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The good about this hotel:
This Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of business district of Nairobi.
Safety is good and in general hotel is priced ok compering the regular price in Nairobi center.
Breakfast was good with large choice and types of food.
Lobby is spacious and the Pub inside the hotel is very good one.
Gym is good and even has classes like Zumba to ones who love it.

The best point is the hotel staff, which are very professional and helpful. As example the requested breakfast on the last day which requested to be served by 4:30 AM with special requirements such as double espresso, was perfectly served at the right time.

The bad about it:
Regular rooms, at least on the first floor are very outdated, rust on the faucet, old carpets, and very basic sleep quality.
Windows are old that cannot be opened.
Prices of food in restaurants and pubs are very high comparing to the prices in town.

in general, when there is a promotional rate like this summer it worth to stay at Hilton Nairobi.

Room Tip: Room on the first floor was very old and in bad condition. understood that on Executive floors 13-1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaifaMiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amos M, Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Nairobi and I am very glad that you enjoyed our great hospitality.

We appreciate your compliments about the breakfast, health club, prompt/accurate in-room service and security within the hotel. We are also very happy to read that you enjoyed our facilities and location.

I concur with you that the physical outlook is dated, but I am pleased to advice that we are indeed in the planning process of a master plan renovation that will enhance the overall hotel facilities and appearance; the nearly completed lift replacement is the first part of this project. However, open-able windows are not part of this I am afraid.

With regards of quality sleep, I am happy to mention to you that beginning next month, July, we will commence a project to replace the existing beds with serenity beds, and I believe this will surely improve the comfort of your future stay. I am sorry for the discomfort experienced.

As of the food prices, only at independent, small local properties are they indeed a lot less, but at comparable, safe international restaurants one pays a similar amount as you were charged at our hotel.

It was truly a pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi.

Kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

Amos Mworia
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Only had a day visit here, with family and friends. My husband said the gym was really well equipped and the personal trainers were knowledgeable and friendly. The swimming pool is lovely with a magnificent view. You forget you're in the middle of a busy capital city. Service was really good, waiters were polite and we had good banter. I will definitely return when I'm next in Nairobi.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemima89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amos M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your stay at the Hilton Nairobi.

We are glad to note that you were very satisfied with your overall experience.

We truly appreciate your nice compliments about our team members hospitality and service. We are also happy to note that you really enjoyed our swimming pool and gym facilities. I have had the pleasure to share your kind words with our health club manager. Believe me, it is comment such as yours that make all efforts, at Hilton Nairobi, truly worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi soon.


Best regards,


AMOS MWORIA I Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
616 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I am a long time Hilton Honours member and stay at many Hilton hotels around the world. This is probably the worst Hilton I have ever stayed at. As many other reviewers say, it is old. But it is also cheap. In terms of rooms, the linen and the towels are old and thin. The bathrooms are very old and the showers horrible. All I ask for is a nice bed and good hot shower, and I got neither. To top it off, there was constant jack-hammering my entire two day stay. It was absolutely impossible to get anything done. They also rip you off in terms of Internet fees. The only redeeming quality for the hotel is the food at the Jockey Pub. The staff are okay and security is good, but I am probably going to try the Intercon next trip up to Nairobi as I cannot bear the Hilton.

Room Tip: Go high or go home
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelOften1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amos M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We sincerely appreciate your compliments on our food and security. Believe me, it is ratings such as yours that make all efforts, at Hilton Nairobi, truly worthwhile.

Unfortunately we have not been able to meet your expectation on a number of areas for which I sincerely apologize; I am pleased to advice you that we are indeed in the planning process of a master plan renovation that will enhance the overall hotel facilities and appearance; the nearly completed lift replacement is the first part of this project. We sincerely apologise for the hammering noise experienced, due to lift construction, for future stays we will allocate to you a quiet room located on the Pool level.

We place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton. I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests staying with us and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.


With kind regards,

Yours sincerely


AMOS MWORIA I Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#21 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#34 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Property: Hilton Nairobi
Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Kenya from the Hilton Nairobi hotel, situated in the city's central business district, one block away from the Kenyatta International Convention Centre and only 25 minutes from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel enjoys proximity to several major banking institutions, universities and government offices, including the Parliament and the High Court of Kenya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing