We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for Africa is scary for Westerners”
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
Ranked #28 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Average for Africa is scary for Westerners”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had no air conditioning for much of the time and regular power failures and the hotel generator is not powerful to run anything other than the lifts and the lights but it gets really hot fast. I think that for Kenya this is as good as it gets but that is what you should expect in the third world. Nothing was above average but at least it was safe. That is important to consider

Room Tip: Don't go to Nairobi if you are looking for a good hotel room. Get serious it is Africa
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. As our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet your expectations.

Unfortunately, we regret to note that during your stay with us, our property experienced power cuts due to a city wide shortage. Please accept my sincere apology for the discomfort and inconvenience caused to you. As our promise is to ‘make it right’ to all our guests and to ensure customer satisfaction, kindly call me directly as this will to give us an opportunity to rectify the situation.

We appreciate your honest feedback and I do hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi in the not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    412
    323
    162
    79
See reviews for
96
171
148
694
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MUMBAI, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Run down rooms, terrible housekeeping who leave used spoons in the room, rusted bathroom fittings in bathroom, temperature control is terrible, cramped and inconvenient rooms. Except for location nothing is good. Staff is nice, they try their best but can't help as they can't change anything to make you feel better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Subramani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us and greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests as we constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Regretfully the physical state of our facility and fixtures did not meet your expectation, as you indicated in your trip advisor review. My sincerest apologies for this, and I am pleased to advice that we are indeed in the planning process of a master plan renovation that will enhance the overall hotel facilities and appearance; the nearly completed lift replacement is the first part of this project.

Meanwhile, I have shared your comment with our executive housekeeper to address the issue of cleanliness and clearance with her team to ensure proper housekeeping.

Nevertheless, we appreciate your nice compliments about our team members hospitality and service.

Thank you for your constructive feedback as this will go a long way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests. I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to the Hilton Nairobi again.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Slovenia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Old and tired hotel with poor housekeeping but well secured from outside. Average buffet breakfast at restaurant. I might give them another chance after refurbishment. Service at the Executive lounge is very good but it can be crowded sometimes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petrisic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us, it is indeed a great pleasure to serve you.

We have noted your comment that the physical state of our facility did not meet your expectation. My sincerest apologies for this, and I am pleased to advice that we are indeed in the planning process of a master plan renovation that will enhance the overall hotel facilities and appearance; the nearly completed lift replacement is the first part of this project.

In regards to our housekeeping service, we have ensured to maintain international housekeeping guidelines and Hilton brand standards on cleanliness.I regret to read about your dissatisfaction and our executive housekeeper has put corrective measures in place.

Our esteemed guest, although we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay, I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests staying with us and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Excelent historic Hilton Nairobi offers you the opportunity to experiance central Nairobi within walking distance. Near the busstations ar a lot of nice small local shops/restaurants and in the business distric a lot of good restaurants and other places. Ask around and you will not be bored. We4nsday evenning live music at Tamacha Haricum will suprise you from 20.00.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Maarten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your stay at the Hilton Nairobi. We are glad to note that you were very satisfied with your overall experience and happy to see that you liked the central location of our hotel as you enjoyed walking and shopping around the central business district.

Believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all our efforts, at Hilton Nairobi, truly worthwhile.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Was in Hilton from 2nd June to 7th June 2014. Check in was a bit lousy. Although one of the receptionist was free but acted as if busy with sumthing on PC. Security is very good and i never felt any issues. Room was a bit small considering the price but the view was good. Do ask for High Level Rooms, i was on 12th Floor. Food was delicious. Swimming pool was clean and heated. Rest all staff was superb.

Room Tip: Select high level Rooms for city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your stay at the Hilton Nairobi. We are delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the compliments you make about our security, facilities and our team members hospitality.
We appreciate your honest feedback as this will go a long way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The highlight for me at this hotel is that they have the best priced gift shops of all hotels. It is located within the Arcade and are independently owned but there are two to choose from. One is Indian owned and you will know which one because you will be greeted with strong incense. If negotiating on the open market is stressful for you, come here for posted pricing that are very reasonable or at the very least, get your bearings on what the baseline price is for negotiating. I was able to purchase several bracelets to give to coworkers for just 80 schillings! The best bargain of the trip.

The food at poolside was just okay. I was very disappointed with my "fresh squeezed" juice that came out of a box. The girl taking orders needs to have some of the food so she can better explain the menu. She had no opinion of any item on the menu as if it was her first time dining outside of her home.

The business center charges 800 schillings for one hour of internet use, 1700 schillings for 24 hours. Printing service is 50 cents USD per page! Although prices were high, service was reliable. They do not sell postcard stamps but the business center staff offered to do it on her own time which was much appreciated. Gave her 30 schillings tip.

The location of the hotel is extremely convenient to all. The hotel staff recommended Ranalo Foods for authentic African food which was also much appreciated.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank KIMNGUYEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home.

We are sincerely sorry that we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us, please accept my sincere apologies for this. We regret to see that you did not like the juice served to you at the pool restaurant. I have shared your comment with our executive chef i/c of food and beverage for review and retrain the menu knowledge to all team members at the Pool restaurant.

As of internet charges and other service costs at the business centre, we appreciate your feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

Nevertheless, we are happy to see that you liked the location of our facility and enjoyed shopping within the arcade.

Dear guest, we do hope to get another opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great Value for money with good facilities.... The staff are very friendly and accomodating. The gym has a lot of equipment with aerobic classes. The pool was been renovated at the time but that will be another great plus once reopened. The bar had good entertainment at night so need need to go out into the city. Breakfast was very good with a massive selection of foods. For the price paid compared to other hotels i have stayed in in Nairobi it is the best value for money in Nairobi in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Glen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent feedback regarding your stay at the Hilton Nairobi.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with your overall experience and sincerely appreciate your compliments about team members hospitality and facilities. Believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

We take great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi soon.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
InterContinental Nairobi
#22 of 164 in Nairobi
971 reviews
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
467 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#19 of 164 in Nairobi
744 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Property: Hilton Nairobi
Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Kenya from the Hilton Nairobi hotel, situated in the city's central business district, one block away from the Kenyatta International Convention Centre and only 25 minutes from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel enjoys proximity to several major banking institutions, universities and government offices, including the Parliament and the High Court of Kenya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing