We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the 3 hour ride from the airport”
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
Ranked #30 of 166 Hotels in Nairobi
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worth the 3 hour ride from the airport”
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Nairobi traffic is gridlock at best. It took us 3 hours to travel the 12 miles from the airport to the Hilton. According to the shuttle driver this traffic is common and to be expected. Once we arrived they told us they were overbooked so our pre-paid Junior
Queen Suite was not available so would we accept a Standard Room with free dinner? What a joke. Best Advice - stay as close to the airport as possible for flight connections and to preserve your sanity.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonnairobi, Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guest's expectations.

We have noted your comment regarding heavy traffic experiences on arrival and we sincerely would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. Since we are located in the center of Nairobi and as like any other big city, we suffer from traffic jams during peak hours. Unfortunately especially in the morning and early evening hours transportation becomes challenging.

We have also noted your comment that upon check-in that we were over booked and therefore your prepaid junior queen suite was not available. We sincerely apologize as this should never have been the case and rest assured that your experience was shared with all departments involved immediately in order to prevent a reoccurrence of such situations again.

Though your experience was not up to your expectations, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi KleineMoeller
Director of Operations
Email: Heidi.KleineMoeller@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    418
    331
    164
    84
See reviews for
102
175
149
712
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

I stayed at Hilton Nairobi for three days in July last week. It was a nice experience with friendly staff and clean rooms and excellent breakfast. Since it is centrally located we didn't find any difficulty in getting to places. They even helped us by arranging tour operators for Masai Mara safari. Only issue I could say is that the internet is not complimentary.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharat_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonnairobi, Owner at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guest's expectations.

We have noted your comment that you had a nice experience, with friendly staff, clean rooms and excellent breakfast. We are glad to note that you were satisfied with your overall experience. Believe me, it is ratings such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

Heidi Kleine-Möller
Director of Operations
Email: heidi.kleinemoeller@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level 6 Contributor
867 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,426 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Run down, service not as good as one would expect from 4 stars, rooms not quite ergonomic and small. There's much better in Nairobi.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apalmero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonnairobi, Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your comments as we constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guest’s expectations.

We have noted your comment regarding our hotel room condition and room size, please note that a master plan is underway to fully renovate our hotel. Regarding our services we sincerely apologize we did not meet your expectation, however we appreciate your feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi Kleine-Moeller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

After a two week safari we were looking forward to a great place for a day room. Our room smelled musty as the air conditioner did not work. The floor under the carpet felt like it was about to disintegrate! I did tell the hotel and was informed that they are under renovation. That being the case they should have never taken our reservation. I had a miserable day waiting until we were picked up for transfer to the airport. We should have paid the full overnight rate and gone back to the Fairview where we started our trip. It is delightfulo, but didn't have a day room rate.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndybLewes_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonnairobi, Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
Thank you very much for choosing the Hilton Nairobi during your recent visit to Nairobi and for taking the time to write and share our feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your comments as we always strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guest’s expectations.

We have noted your comment with concern on the air conditioner and hope you accept our sincere apologies for this should not be the case. I have followed up the matter with our Chief Engineer to undertake immediate corrective measures and to ensure all facilities in our guestrooms are well maintained in order to avoid this from happening again.

Regarding the floor, please note that a master plan is underway to fully renovate our hotel. However we appreciate your feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

We look forward to having another opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future and showing you that we can do better to re-establish your faith in the hotel.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards.

Heidi Kleine-Moeller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alingsas, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Excelent service and nice rooms in CBD Nairobi. Breakfast buffet esceeded our expectations.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Goran1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonnairobi, Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton during your recent visit to Nairobi and for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve highest quality standards possible.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guest’s expectations.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with your overall experience and that our breakfast exceeded your expectation. Believe me, it is ratings such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future again

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

Heidi Kleine-Moeller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

This was a pretty good hotel, the service of the day staff was excellent, but the night shift wasnt as good (It seemed that i was distracting the attendant at the business center from her text messaging when i asked for help). The room was nice but the sofa bed and tv were from the 80s. I was really disappointed that there was no wifi in the rooms- i had to go to the lobby or lounge to get online (and it wasnt free). The airport shuttle was fast and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lthammari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonnairobi, Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 10 September 2010
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guest’s expectations.

We have noted your comment on the quality of our furnishings and old TVs, and your disappointment that there was no Wifi in the room. We sincerely apologize for this as it did not meet your expectation. Please note that a master plan is underway to fully renovate our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

Regarding your comment on internet not free, I would like to advise that our internet service is provided by Docomo, a 3rd party internet service provider, making it rather difficult for us to lower it or even provide it for free. We do however have a 'Business Plus Package', where unlimited internet access is included in the room rate with a small surcharge. Likewise as of 1st September, 2010 for our Hilton HHonors Gold and Diamond members internet will be complimentary.

We have noted your comment on our business centre team member attitude. I have personally forwarded your comments to our Business Centre Manager to take up corrective measures and ensure that this does not happen again.

Nevertheless, we are glad to note that you were satisfied with your overall experience.
Believe me, it is ratings such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

Heidi KleineMoeller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Beautiful hotel that is in the center of Nairobi city and nice place to meet people.

Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JaneS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonnairobi, Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 10 September 2010
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guest’s expectations.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with your overall experience. Believe me, it is ratings such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi Kleine-Moeller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
InterContinental Nairobi
#22 of 166 in Nairobi
995 reviews
The Heron Portico
#5 of 166 in Nairobi
486 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 166 in Nairobi
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Property: Hilton Nairobi
Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#28 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Kenya from the Hilton Nairobi hotel, situated in the city's central business district, one block away from the Kenyatta International Convention Centre and only 25 minutes from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel enjoys proximity to several major banking institutions, universities and government offices, including the Parliament and the High Court of Kenya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing