We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and 5 star service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Ranked #4 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great hotel and 5 star service”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We spent two nights at the Nairobi Serena hotel and i can point out this indeed one of the best places we ever stayed whilst in Kenya. Although not so spacious, the rooms are very well kept and very clean all the time. The decor inside the rooms and around the hotel is meticulously done. The hotel has big garden areas which are dotted with beautiful flowers and trees.

A nice cold drink awaits you when you arrive. Meal was buffet style on Friday and it was of the highest standard, freshly cooked and plenty of of variety. There are several restaurants serving local and international cuisine, again meals there are good.

The hotel has a wonderful gym and a swimming to keep you fit and fresh.There are also a number of souvenir shops offering quite a number of Kenyan stuff for for those who like shopping.

To crown it all are the ever friendly and pleasant staff, they make up for the entire success of this lovely hotel.

The hotel is centrally located within Nairobi making it very easy to move and shop around the streets of Nairobi.

We took a day trip to the Daphne Sheldrick elephant sanctuary and the Nairobi national park, just a few minutes drive from the hotel. We had arranged this prior to our weekend stop-over to Nairobi through Plan Safari ltd, a good and trustworthy safari company. They made our day.
Peter is a great man and arranged all this. Should you wish to travel in and around Nairobi, then you better contact peter; info@plansafari.com

We also visited the Nairobi Museum which is a walking distance from the Serena Hotel.

Great place and would highly recommend you to stay there if you happen to be in Nairobi.

Asaph Junior

Room Tip: Top floor rooms gives you spectacular views of Ngong hills and the streets around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asaph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    322
    49
    14
    13
See reviews for
102
231
52
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California Central Coast
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed at the Nairobi Serena at the end of a two-week safari in Tanzania and Kenya. After being in the Serengeti and Maasai Mara, Nairobi was a large bustling city, and the Serena Hotel was a wonderful oasis. The property was very attractive, a little dated but comfortable and very well kept. We only were in our room for about 8 hours, since we had an early am flight, but thought it was nicely appointed. We had lunch and dinner in the restaurant and enjoyed the food and the service. We found interesting items in the gift shop that we had not seen in other hotels. We actually managed to take a nap before leaving for the airport. Fortunately, we had a travel alarm since the desk was very late calling us. Overall, we were impressed with the quality of the property and the service we received.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmSpringsVisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The decor is a bit dated but the rooms are comfortable (albeit small) and the service is great.

It is very centrally located in downtown Nairobi. Excellent gym and pool so definitely take your sneakers and swim suit!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gauri83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

An oasis in Nairobi. Fantastic place, great service, clean rooms, fabulous breakfast what more can you ask for when you arrive around 11:30 pm. When you walk into the restaurant for breakfast, the first thing asked is if you would like detox juice concoction.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackheath2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I arrived in the evening during dinner time but I was more interested in exploring the hotel. The room was exceptional with the bed already turned down for the evening with slippers at the bedside along with a remote for the air control & other buttons on the nightstand for other amenities. The bed was firm but I had a comfortable nights rest. I toured the outer grounds before breakfast. Everything on the grounds were very nice. I wish I had more time at this hotel or at least a stay here at the beginning & ending of my safari. I felt the grounds were safe & secure. There is a gated entrance along with a security area for check-in. Everyone I encountered remembered my name, smiled, and were quite attentive. The breakfast was delicious & provided a variety of different fresh juices, poached eggs with caviar, different meats, pastries, fruits, pancakes, & cakes. I would recommend this hotel for business & pleasure. I toured the pool area & it looked great. Wish I had time to swim. The shower was excellent. The towels were extra thick & nice comfy bathrobes were provided. I did not use the minibar. The internet connection was good. I used it for about 2 hours & it was free.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Only stayed one night; arrived at 4 in the morning...was happy to check into a room, and slept comfortably for a bit; took off during the day to visit the Giraffe Center...walked the gardens; had dinner at an Indian restaurant in town; slept easily that night, and left early the next morning. No complaints. Look forward to another visit to Kenya, and a longer stay at Nairobi Serena.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinanorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast of Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The Nairobi Serena Hotel was a wonderful welcome to Kenya. After completing the first half of our safari (in Tanzania) we arrived in Kenya after a short flight and were delighted with the accommodations and restaurant in the hotel. The buffet was terrific, both for breakfast and dinner, and if anyone went away hungry it was definitely their own fault.

Too bad we didn't get to stay longer and enjoy the beautiful pool. The sleeping room was lovely. The gift shop had many interesting items at what seemed to be reasonable prices.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelightsInTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,142 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#21 of 164 in Nairobi
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Property: Nairobi Serena Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing