We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Ranked #3 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
shropshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

Serena Hotel Nairobi is a nice hotel if a little dated. The rooms are on the small side although adequate for a short stay. The hotel is clean and the service is both friendly and efficient.

Sitting beside the pool, surrounded by trees and bushes, with a drink was an ideal way to recover from a long flight and to forget that we were near the centre of a busy city.

The food and drinks in the restaurant was reasonably priced and of good quality. We were also able to get an early breakfast in our room prior to leaving to go on Safari.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reded46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    312
    48
    12
    11
See reviews for
100
223
50
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level Contributor
141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

We had a 2 night stay in this hotel after visitign Rwanda, and before a vist to the Massai Mara. We found the hotel to be plush, but at the same time was very friendly. The food was very good and varied, and the swimming pool was delightful.
We would definiteley recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manfromguernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

Pros
Felt Safe (had plenty of security); clean, alot of service, food was pretty good; nice pool (can swim laps but more made for relaxing); Laundry and pressing service was reasonable priced and quick

Con:
Collegues camera was stolen from hotel room; not many places to walk to around the hotel; Some blackouts (but had generator and this is an issued everywhere);

Tips:
Two resturants in the hotel, the one on the lower level is buffet and alacarte and is more casual (can eat outside), the one on the second floor has great food and is more formal (no shorts, no tanktops, no sandals); no iron in the room and took forever to get one delivered.
Hotel can arrange day trips but the trips are 50% to 100% more expensive than arranging it directly with the company. Cabs can be arranged by hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lookingglass101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

We only stayed here for one night (before we began our safari) but thought it was a great base. It's a fairly large (for Africa) hotel. Our booking was handled well; we got the adjoining room for the kids we had asked for (as well as the 3rd bed). The buffet dinner and breakfast were outstanding. Lovely grounds and a great view of the city.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriselda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
470 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

We stayed for a total of 3 nights at the Nairobi Serena hotel during our 2 week holiday in Kenya. This is a great hotel in Nairobi city center, and almost looks like a museum with all the decoration you find everywhere on the walls.
Rooms are very good, food quality both at breakfast buffet and for lunch/dinner is great.
In the bar during the evening it would be nice if it weren't always UK football league on the TV screens (and at least at lower volume), yet you can also site elsewhere.
Pool looks very nice, and during day you can sit and have a drink around the pool.
From the hotel it's just a 10 min walk to the city market.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

I stayed here for work, and it was a very pleasant stay generally. The pool and Spa facilities are great, and the gym has a good amount of up to date kit. The only problem being that the air-con is little hotter than I would be used to in the UK! There is a good choice of restaurants, but the food can be expensive - the breakfast for example is about 20pounds but it does have a great selection of American, and Continental styles. The only other point that I would mention is beware of the mosquitoes in the bar!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blyth76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2009

We stayed at the hotel for one night before going on a six night Safari. We arrived at the hotel about 8.30 in the morning and had to wait for aprox. 45 minutes before our room was available, which was understandable at this time of day as check out is 11.00. The room was a good size and comfortable. The bed was large but was a little hard. The bathroom was a little bit on the small side but had everything that we needed, the towels were changed around 7pm. There was a TV in the room which had a choice of channels.
We used the pool for the day and it was really nice, the sunloungers were the cumfiest that we have ever been on and towels were provided. The pool area was very quiet and nice for relaxing after the overnight flight.
There is a restaurant and bar around the pool which is also open at night. This is where we ate and it was fine and was quite reasonably priced. There is also a bar inside with a little entertainment i.e piano player and singer again it was ok for the one night we spent here.
We had breakfast included in the price we had paid. Again this was good with a good choice of hot or cold food, fruit, yogurts, pastries and juice. It was a good start for the long journey to Samburu National Park.
We did not leav the hotel so I can't really coment on the location of the hotel apart from it was aprox. a 30 minute drive from the airport. I can't comment if the hotel was good value for money or not as it was included as a package for our Safari.
I would recomend this hotel for a safari stopover or a few days in Nairobi.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Property: Nairobi Serena Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing