We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #6 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsbury Wiltshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxed comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I just hate going to well healed hotels where one feels it necessary to behave because the staff appear critical and stuffy. This is a well healed hotel where the staff are professional, respectful, courteous and efficient but appear to enjoy the presence of the guests and are friendly and helpful.Their time seems just for you and the welcome is of an old friend. The food and rooms are exemplary. A lovely stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterPageGoldsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear PeterPageGolds,

Thank you for your valuable review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We are pleased that you were impressed with our rooms, professionalism, courtesy, friendly and helpful colleagues.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you once again in the near future.

Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    306
    79
    43
    17
See reviews for
134
235
57
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Whilst travelling to Nairobi on business, I had the luxury of staying at the Fairmont Norfolk hotel.

We had to apply a fair bit of negotiation to receive a fair rate as this is one of the most exclusive and historical hotels in the city. The stay was very comfortable, with great dining and shopping experiences which added much flavour to my stay.

They were rather quick to resolve any problems I encountered. I had some challenges with hot water in my shower that was resolved swiftly and with a smile.

I was particularly enamoured by their amazing courtyard's expansive greenery.

I am certainly returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arcan0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Arcan0m,

Thank you for your great feedback.

We are grateful for your compliments. We will keep up the spirit and momentum to ensure that our guests always feel at home when they are in Nairobi.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I agree with some of the other reviewers that this hotel has seen better days. The decor is very 80s. The plumbing is very colonial....at least it's indoor. Also, the "colonial flavor' one person refers to is only relevant to part of the hotel; a large section of the hotel is actually from the 70s or 80s and not that special at all. However, the food was great and breakfast buffet was terrific. I probably wouldn't choose to stay there again, but it's perfectly fine if you adjust your expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lajavaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have been to Africa several times and almost always end up in Nairobi. I have always stayed at The Norfolk but have not been there for several years. it still is an amazing place. Surrounded as it is by the hectic Nairobi traffic it is an oasis in the bedlam. The rooms are quiet and beds welcoming. The pool, work-out room and spa are world class. They are on par with any US hotel. The courtyard is much like a Zen garden and evokes images of British Kenya. The staff is always welcoming and always guest friendly and oriented. When in Nairobi this is the only hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the first courtyard are my favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I just went in for a quick snack, I had to wait 10 minutes and then went to search for a waitress to be served, had coffee and a croissant for 991 Kenya Shillings = more than $10! And was told there was no change, problem with coins! Needless to say I didn't leave a tip but give them one now, you're in Nairobi not London, charge more reasonable prices!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
182 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Years ago, I was fortunate to spend a few days there on business. A flash-back of illustrious times of Kenya and his hectic past. Great service, excellent food, special atmosphere, devoted staff... The Olde Kenya with modern comfort.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean-Paul88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Jean-Paul88,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am happy that you enjoyed the food, atmosphere and the warm and engaging service from our colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Great place to stay. I began my stay in Kenya here and truly a wonderful hotel.
This Fairmont hotel had all the comforts of the United States, the staff aim to please and the room service was delish!
Five stars!!

Room Tip: Join the Fairmont President's Club. You get lots of perks!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Jenny L,

Thank you for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk and we highly appreciate your kind feedback.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Property: Fairmont The Norfolk
Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Jovago.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing