We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and Serene”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #11 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Nairobi Norfolk is a hidden jewel in the city of Nairobi. It is designed in an old english style. The environment is calm and serene. Very ideal for business meetings and business stays.

The food is good with a wide variety of drinks. I would recommend it for any business traveller.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hjkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Hjkenya,

Thank you for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk and we highly appreciate your kind feedback.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Beautiful grounds, wonderful, historical setting. Great food and excellent service. Hard to work hot water in the shower, especially with cold water streaming down from the rainfall shower head. The heated pool is heated and in a lovely setting. We had at least one meal in all of the venues, and enjoyed them all. Wifi worked well. Very quiet in the garden, especially when you consider you are in the centre of Nairobi. If I ever get to return to Nairobi, I will stay. Here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willing292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear willing292,

Thank you for your valuable review. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your overall stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best regards
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

this place is an Oasis in Nairobi, especially if you have a busy biz in Nairobi.
it is quite and has excellent service.
rooms are very nice , food is good and the breakfast buffet is amazing.
a little too healthy for my taste, they could add some cold cuts and more cheese choices.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Amal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel has a wonderful Victorian charm.
The rooms aren't very big, but what they lack in size, they make up for with warmth and clean comfort. Check in was a bit slow, however, waiting at their al fresco restaurant made it a bit less tiresome.

The staff is friendly and polite and the food is good. The breakfast although sumptuous, is not as wide in variety, as what you would expect from a hotel at this price.

The main hotel building, although more than a century old, has been maintained very well. Its well located and the nearest shopping plaza is barely a 10 minute walk away.

I stayed here for 3 nights while on a business trip and I would recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaydeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Hosted a customer workshop conference. Service around the organizational aspects was not great. Staff friendly but unorganized and we had to arrange for management to quickly arrange for snacks, tea and finger breakfast. The restaurant did however serve good lunches. This happened over two days so no excuses. Both days we had the same problem as mentioned above.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank MAquiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hotel is very central for Nairobi, an older establishment that's been burnt down and rebuilt several times in its 100+ year history.
It is not cheap, prices are around USD $200 a night for a double room, facilities are pretty much as you would expect and service is pretty good night and day.
Food is adequate though certainly not quite as good as one might expect given the prices, breakfast was a disappointment each day, though the freshly made omelettes are always a good plan.
This does seem a hotel for the safari industry in particular, however it does offer some very good meeting rooms, ideal for business purposes.
Wi-Fi is dreadful, it is supposed to be free when you become a member of the 'presidents club', otherwise you need to pay for each 24hrs, I found it patchy, slow and unreliable, the only helpline is an international call away. All staff were polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the main courtyard or your view may be that of a brick wall and back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreboGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear GreboGuru,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We highly appreciate your great comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our outstanding service and good meeting rooms.

We have noted your comments on our breakfast and slow Wi-Fi connection which I have addressed with the Chef and IT Manager respectively.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and assure you of a memorable experience.


Best Regards,

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed at The Norfolk for 3 nights on our safari trip to Kenya. The room was comfortable, the pool great (& uncrowded) and the food good. It is a quiet and safe oasis in the middle of this diverse and hectic city.
At the end of out trip, we came back one more time - a mere 4 hour stop to await our airport transfer. Even though the restaurant was closed (between lunch and dinner), they opened just for the eight of us and served a great lunch.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandyRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear RandyRoss,

Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

It is always a great pleasure to read that we are able to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best Regards,

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,302 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
1,182 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
963 reviews
Sankara Nairobi
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: £139 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing