We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #6 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Proctorville, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night during the month of April. The Norfolk is a nice hotel: clean, comfortable, and cozy.

The security checks and uniformed armed guards at the entrance were at first intimidating (given that we hadn't experienced this before) but with recent terrorist attacks in Kenya, this was understandable and reassuring.

The dining experience was mixed. For dinner, my wife ordered gluten free but the quality was well below our expectations. However, when we mentioned this to the manager, we were impressed by his willingness to listen and make amends. The kitchen staff went out of their way to listen to our concerns. They took down notes of our suggestions, and promised to address our concerns. We were highly impressed by the hotels willingness to listen and make amends to customer complaints. None of the people we spoke to (the manager and the kitchen staff) were defensive about our complaints. Instead, we felt like they genuinely listened to us and were determined to fix this. For this reason, we plan on staying at the Norfolk on our next visit to Kenya.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Richard A,

Thank you for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk.

We appreciate the great feedback and we are happy our team made your stay memorable.

We look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Nairobi.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    319
    84
    45
    17
See reviews for
137
243
61
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tottenham
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Excellent hotel. Reccommend highly.
Quality of Location, staff , amenities and rooms was impeccable.
Fairmont has acquired hotels with history and character and made them truly their own. Four Seasons or Fairmont - hard to choose.


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Alan W,

We are thrilled to learn your stay surpassed your expectations! Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending Fairmont Hotels Worldwide on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to know you enjoyed our food, rooms, convenient location and outstanding service.

We look forward to continue making your stays in all Fairmont Hotels & Resorts worldwide memorable.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexicali, Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A beautiful classic hotel in Nairobi. The room was very good with a lovely view to the inside patio. The service was excellent. We had dinner and breakfast at the Lord Delamere Terrace and it was delicious, we loved the cesar salad, onion soup and pizzas.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsfel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Marsafel 1,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed our delicious food, excellent service and good rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont The Norfolk in the near future.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

good room; adequate amenities; I got messages from friends and colleagues timely and messages carriers are polite and professional ; I like the coffee and tea in the room, however, I could have done with more milk!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Kagarama J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Historic photos all over, lovely gardens and pool/gym, good meals, helpful staff. Rooms are Fairmont quality- upgrades in the last 10 years excellent.
Easily the classiest hotel to stay at on arrival in NBO!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Takes you back to the bygone years of old East Africa - hotel is steeped in history and olde world charm. Attentive staff, good choice of meals at two fine restaurants. Pool and gym facilities round off a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Alan B,

Thank you for the great feedback and we are happy our colleagues, meals, pool and gym facilities made your stay memorable.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Quite nice hotel with a heritage. Very nice gardens. It's close to the National Museum. (10min walk). There's a local market on every Tue. which is walking distance as well. I've got some really value for money souvenirs there. Staffs are friendly and quite helpful.

Room Tip: Standard room might be small for those who like big spaces. The room reminds me of Kokyo or Hongkong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle_Zu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Michelle _Zu,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

We are glad that you found our Hotel location to be convenient and our staff to be friendly and helpful.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
469 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
467 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#21 of 164 in Nairobi
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Property: Fairmont The Norfolk
Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing