We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont The Norfolk
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Palacina Residence & Suites(Nairobi)
US$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
US$252
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$586
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$334
US$272
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$138
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,143)
Filter reviews
1,143 results
Traveller rating
584
380
98
58
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
584
380
98
58
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstatu restaurantlord delamere terracecin cin barcolonial eraold world charman oasisheated poolgift shopbeautiful hotelmasai marabreakfast buffet isbusy cityeast africasafari tripstandard roombusiness tripdowntown nairobi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
662 - 667 of 1,143 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We only had a very short stay at this hotel (10 hours). The food and the atmosphere were fabulous. Our room was very nice and comfortable. We were welcomed and treated very well. The included breakfast was one of the best that I have ever had. Many choices all of which were outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcooper1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear El Dorado Hills,

We are happy you have great memories from your 10 hours stay with us and we will be delighted to host you when you are back in Kenya.

We look forward to host you during your next visit.

Best regards,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Fairmont Norfolk is a beautiful hotel in a good section of Nairobi. The gardens are magnificent and the decore of old historical pictures every where make it even greater. The staff are very friendly and helpful and everything is kept very clean. I would definately stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jkmueller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Jkmuller4,

Thank you for your great feedback and we are glad you chose us. We look forward to continue making your stays in Nairobi memorable.

Best regards,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I travel extensively, and spend half of my year staying in hotels. I didn't really expect much from a hotel in the heart of Nairobi, but boy was I wrong. The Norfolk is probably one of the best hotels I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. The atmosphere is wonderful, with a hint of colonial times, the gardens and decor well maintained, simply a beautiful property.

The rooms are fantastic, very well appointed, and the services associated with your room are consistent and unobtrusive. The room was magically restored to it's former state during the day, and the turn down service happened everyday while I stepped out of the room. The room itself is very well appointed, with a very modern bathroom - rain shower and all - and this hotel has some of the best pillows around!

The breakfast is hands down the best I've had in a hotel! Excellent selection, and everyone gets their own freshly brewed press coffee.

The only negative is that service around the pool is slow, and closes at 6pm, which is far too early.

Give it a try, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms with private garden are wonderful!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Wayne S,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We highly appreciate your great comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our excellent service, good food and lovely rooms.

Please contact us on kenya.reservations@fairmont.com and we shall enroll you to our Fairmont President’s Club which allows you access to a host of exclusive benefits and privileges including free internet connection in all Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Worldwide!
We have noted your concern about our security search procedures which we are reviewing with our Security Team.

We look forward to hosting you at Fairmont The Norfolk and making your stay exceptional, once again.

Best regards,

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Norfolk is a good place to stay when visiting Nairobi for business (this of course is depending on where one has to be). The hotel is clean, comfortable, and the staff is friendly and helpful. In the evening the bar & terrace is good for winding down. So overall, one will not go wrong when choosing the Norfolk

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dora_Boots_Swiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Dora_Boots_Swiper,

Thank you for your positive feedback and we are glad you chose us. We look forward to continue making your stays in Nairobi memorable.

Best regards
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Although this property is situated in Nairobi, once you step inside the doors it is as if you have stepped into a world of days gone by. The colonial feel, beatiful gardens and stunning rooms enable you to forget about the ustle and bustle outside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Karen,

It was a pleasure hosting you at Fairmont The Norfolk and we appreciate your positive comments regarding our stunning rooms, nice bar and beautiful gardens.

We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Nairobi.

Best regards
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews