We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont The Norfolk
Nearby Hotels
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$586
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,146)
Filter reviews
1,146 results
Traveller rating
585
381
99
58
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
585
381
99
58
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstatu restaurantlord delamere terracecin cin barcolonial eraold world charman oasisheated poolgift shopbeautiful hotelmasai marabreakfast buffet isbusy cityeast africasafari tripstandard roombusiness tripdowntown nairobi
Filter
Updating list...
644 - 649 of 1,146 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It is situated on the edge of the CBD so close for shopping etc. We began and ended our safari holiday from here, but you can actually book in-house if you haven't pre-booked.
Our room overlooked the beautifully landscaped gardens, was clean, very comfortable with a well-stocked bathroom (loads of fluffy white towels). The staff are friendly (genuinely!) and very helpful.
Buffet breakfast was one of the best I've seen with plenty of choices. A la carte dinner was wonderfully presented, freshly prepared and delicious. Reasonably priced for a hotel of this standard.
Would not hesitate to stay here again

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden or pool
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacki_PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Jacki_PerthWA,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We are delighted that you found our hotel facilities, breakfast, dinner and services to be exceptional.

We look forward to continue making your stays in Nairobi memorable.

Best Regards,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is in a nice setting and the staff is exceptional in making one feel at home and seeking ways to make one's stay the best way possible. The rooms are spacious and very clean. One can open windows and enjoy the cool weather without hearing noise. Would definitly stay at this hotel if in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Gerald B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We sincerely appreciate your comments and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Regards,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here two nights (Aug. 1 & 2) before heading out on safari. In the middle of the night on Aug. 2 I woke up as someone on the staff was using a key card to enter the room! Later I discovered that someone stole $150 from my backpack which was in the room. It is hard to say something nice about a hotel where that happens.

The hotel was otherwise fine. Nice gym. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear G.W,
Thank you for taking the time to review Fairmont The Norfolk.

During your check out, you mentioned to our Duty Manager regarding the attempted late night door access and loss of money from your room. A thorough security investigation was then carried out by our Security Team and the key interrogation report showed no one had accessed your room at all that night.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed at the Norfolk for 4 weeks during a business trip and can highly recommend this hotel:

SERVICE:
Truly friendly, very mindful

ACCOMODATION:
Very comfortable, didn't miss a thing

FOOD:
- Great breakfast with a lot of choice
- Tasty snacks available at the bar
- Dinner at the restaurant tatu was just delicious!

SURROUNDINGS:
- Lovely garden, small pool and a gym + sauna + massage, etc.
- Very close to the city center
- Only drawback: noisy construction site across from the entrance, can be heard in the garden (not necessarily in the room, depending on the location of the room)

Room Tip: I'd prefer a room facing the garden, rather in the rear part (farer away from the construction site, close to the little fountains)
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JuSaMa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear JuSaMa2014,

Thank you for your valuable review.

We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your overall stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.
We are pleased to learn that you were happy with our quality of services, our comfortable rooms, lovely garden, great pool and quality of food.

We apologize regarding the noisy construction site ongoing at our neighboring Nairobi University. The issue has since been resolved as the contractor has revised the construction hours to strictly 0900hrs –1700hrs.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Nairobi.

Best Regards,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here a few times it is very centrally located to all the main offices. The restaurants and bar is great for entertainment. Watch out for the rooms. The ones in the back are not as good as the ones in the front of the property. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Rupaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Rupaks,

Thank you for recommending Fairmont The Norfolk on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews